3.0.0 -> 3.0.1 and "This board has no forums."

Get help with installation and running phpBB 3.0.x here. Please do not post bug reports, feature requests, or MOD-related questions here.
Anti-Spam Guide
Forum rules
END OF SUPPORT: 1 January 2017 (announcement)
ToonArmy
Former Team Member
Posts: 4608
Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2004 5:29 pm
Location: Worcestershire, UK
Name: Chris Smith
Contact:

Re: 3.0.0 -> 3.0.1 and "This board has no forums."

Post by ToonArmy » Thu May 22, 2008 8:01 am

GTechPro wrote:ALSO, when I manually remove the cache files from the back end and then hit Purge Cache on in the ACP, no new cache files appear in their place.

Thoughts?
The cache is not repopulated when you purge it from the ACP its populated on demand.
Chris SmithBlogGitHub
Image
In a foreign field he lay. Lonely soldier unknown grave. On his dying words he prays. Tell the world of Paschendale.

GTechPro
Registered User
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2008 10:45 pm

Re: 3.0.0 -> 3.0.1 and "This board has no forums."

Post by GTechPro » Thu May 22, 2008 9:35 pm

After submitting a bug report I was led to the solution.

Under "Manage Groups" take a look and see if you have any Members listed in the "Guest" group.
ManageGroups.png
ManageGroups.png (129.87 KiB) Viewed 46 times
Click the Members link in the Options column.
You should have "Anonymous" as a member of this group.

If Anonymous is not listed go to "Manage Users"
Check the "Select Anonymous User" box and click Submit
AnonUser.png
AnonUser.png (97.62 KiB) Viewed 40 times
On the far right you will see "Select Form"
Pulldown and choose "Groups", click Go
Groups.png
Groups.png (89.97 KiB) Viewed 36 times
If Anonymous is not already in the Guest group you will need to add them
On the bottom right you will find "Add User to Group", select Guests, click Submit
Confirm that Anonymous has been added to the group guests.

If you have already set up your Permissions you are done and your forums should be viewable.
If not, do the following:

Go to "Groups' forum permissions"
Next to "Look up usergroup" select Guests from the pulldown, click Submit.
Select "All Forums" (or the ones you'd like to make viewable to Guests), click Submit
Confirm that all the permissions are set to "Read Only"

I could have sworn I was able to see the forums without logging in. Then suddenly I could not.
Maybe it's a bug, maybe it's me not being able to remember correctly.

Anyone know the out-of-the-box default setting?

Oh well, it works.
Thanks for everyone's suggestions.

GTechPro
Registered User
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2008 10:45 pm

Re: 3.0.0 -> 3.0.1 and "This board has no forums."

Post by GTechPro » Thu May 22, 2008 9:41 pm

ToonArmy wrote:The cache is not repopulated when you purge it from the ACP its populated on demand.
That's good to know!

Thanks

User avatar
Eelke
QA Team
Posts: 2903
Joined: Thu Dec 20, 2001 8:00 am
Location: NL, Bussum
Name: Eelke Blok
Contact:

Re: 3.0.0 -> 3.0.1 and "This board has no forums."

Post by Eelke » Fri May 23, 2008 6:30 am

That's actually the very nature of any cache (for example, the cache memory on your computer's CPU) :) If results are unavailable in the cache, they are created "the hard way", and the result stored in the cache so that next time, they are available immediately.

GTechPro
Registered User
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2008 10:45 pm

Re: 3.0.0 -> 3.0.1 and "This board has no forums."

Post by GTechPro » Fri May 23, 2008 7:15 am

Eelke wrote:That's actually the very nature of any cache (for example, the cache memory on your computer's CPU) :) If results are unavailable in the cache, they are created "the hard way", and the result stored in the cache so that next time, they are available immediately.
I had assumed the files would re-populate, even if they were empty, as a sort of place holder for what will be there (like an empty database)

But your explain of course makes sense, thanks for the clarity.

Locked

Return to “[3.0.x] Support Forum”