Page 1 of 2

Do you really need an ACP Module?

Posted: Fri Mar 14, 2014 6:16 pm
by nickvergessen
Some MODs/Extensions only have a few config settings. My newspage is one of them.
And today I removed my ACP module to keep things more organized.

I moved the settings into my newspage itself.
The settings are now accessed via a little button at the top of the news page:
Image

When you click on the button, a dropdown is opened and displayes the options:
Image

When submitting the form, an ajax request is send (when JS is enabled):
Image

This brings the settings closer to the page where the admin sees what he needs to change and also removes the size of the ACP. I think it's not neccessary to have an ACP module only to controll your 5-10 config options.

Opinions?

Re: Do you really need an ACP Module?

Posted: Fri Mar 14, 2014 6:23 pm
by wintstar
I think that's a very good idea. :)

Re: Do you really need an ACP Module?

Posted: Fri Mar 14, 2014 6:24 pm
by VSE
That's a great idea for the cases where it would work, such as your news page. The only concerns it brings up for me would be how well the interaction with it is on mobile devices. Not that board admin's would be messing with their settings all the time.

Re: Do you really need an ACP Module?

Posted: Fri Mar 14, 2014 11:15 pm
by Danielx64
^ You make a good point and what about really large mods like the phpBB gallery or arcade (I think that how you spell it) mod?

Also Also there are mods like what I got where there is no frond end (like the bridge that I got)

Re: Do you really need an ACP Module?

Posted: Sat Mar 15, 2014 2:13 am
by nickvergessen
Yeah its only for all those small MODs with 1-10 configs and a small front end part.
If anything does not match just keep your ACP module.

Re: Do you really need an ACP Module?

Posted: Sat Mar 15, 2014 7:14 am
by VOLKERMORD
Very nice idea nickvergessen

Re: Do you really need an ACP Module?

Posted: Sat Mar 15, 2014 6:09 pm
by imkingdavid
The only issue I see is that it might be difficult at first when an admin wants to find the settings. 99.99% of settings for phpBB itself and all other MODs and styles are in the ACP, so suddenly they install an extension and look in the ACP for settings and can't find them. But once they find them it shouldn't be too big of a deal.

Re: Do you really need an ACP Module?

Posted: Sat Mar 15, 2014 6:26 pm
by VSE
Extensions should have an Instructions link in the Extensions management page, which, like the Details link, where admins can get the sort of detailed instructions on what to look for after installing the extension that MOD XML files allowed authors to communicate.

That way, an Admin can easily find out whether their new extensions setup instructions are under the extensions tab on the ACP, or buried in one of the core ACP modules, or on the front page of the newly installed News Page under the setting button :)

Re: Do you really need an ACP Module?

Posted: Sat Mar 15, 2014 7:24 pm
by nickvergessen
That sounds like a nice idea

Re: Do you really need an ACP Module?

Posted: Mon Mar 17, 2014 9:20 am
by Mess
I really like Joas solution.
Also I'm sure we could move many standard phpBB features outside the ACP and MCP.
Actually, I can't think of anything in the MCP which could (and should imo) not be moved out.

Re: Do you really need an ACP Module?

Posted: Thu Mar 27, 2014 12:08 pm
by PayBas
If your board is not using a proSilver 3.1 based style, you're going to have problems with this method, right?

Re: Do you really need an ACP Module?

Posted: Thu Mar 27, 2014 12:27 pm
by Mess
I just realized that by moving things out of the ACP you are at the same time removing a layer of security. Namely the extra ACP login.

So it would probably be a bad idea to move sensitive menus outside the ACP.

Re: Do you really need an ACP Module?

Posted: Thu Mar 27, 2014 12:31 pm
by PayBas
Mess wrote:I just realized that by moving things out of the ACP you are at the same time removing a layer of security. Namely the extra ACP login.

So it would probably be a bad idea to move sensitive menus outside the ACP.
If you wrap it all in a <!-- IF U_ACP -->, does that really matter? Unless of course your extension has some seriously dangerous functionality.

edit: after thinking it through... I guess you are right. I believe it should not be possible to mess up a forum layout when you are on your coffee break and leave your PC alone for 5min (provided you aren't actually logged into the ACP of course).

Re: Do you really need an ACP Module?

Posted: Thu Mar 27, 2014 1:01 pm
by nickvergessen
Well people that do not store their passwords in the browser, also logout from the board.
If you store it in the browser, it doesn't really matter whether the setting is in the ACP or on any other page.

Note: U_ACP is not enough. The settings page which saves the changed settings, should also check for the required permissions. That's why I added something like:

Code: Select all

	if (!$this->auth->acl_get('a_board'))
{
// Redirect non admins back to the newspage
meta_refresh(10, $this->helper->route('newspage_controller'));
trigger_error('NO_AUTH_OPERATION');
}
at the beginning of the page storing the settings.

Re: Do you really need an ACP Module?

Posted: Wed Dec 24, 2014 10:34 pm
by D@ve
I think this is a good idea, if it is an optional thing. Imo configuration issues should be handled in the ACP (as well):
1) it's more consistent
2) normally you need it just once in the beginning, and then never touch it again
3) it's a big problem if you don't use prosilver based themes

Regards, Dave