User Authorization through HTTPS

Discussion forum for Extension Writers regarding Extension Development.
Jur_

User Authorization through HTTPS

Post by Jur_ »

Hello! I'm new to development in phpBB as we're about to start using a phpBB forum. In case I've missed any documentation or otherwise, please don't hesitate to tell me. (I've had some experience as a user though)

My purpose is to authorize users through an external website/userbase using HTTPS (SSL/TLS). We have a central webserver with CA certificates where the login credentials can be checked before the user logs in (or ideally is created automatically when he doesn't exist yet).

The feature highlights for 3.1 mentions OAuth and the alternative to create your own external checking mechanisms through extensions.
When looking for information I found the following (probably outdated?) description from phpBB itself: https://wiki.phpbb.com/Authentication_plugins

Some questions:
I was wondering if there is a similar explanation using the new extensions and the alternatives to the OAuth extension?
Do the same methods still apply as in the plugin description or in which way can I otherwise hook on to the login methods/replace the validation mechanism?

Thank you for your time ;)

edit: for clarity: Authentication would be the first step for now, later possibly deriving special forum rights through authorization using a (our) REST service behind the HTTPS connection
Jur_

Re: User Authorization through HTTPS

Post by Jur_ »

a little bump and some more information: I've been able to authenticate from Mediawiki through this extension plugin. I had to adjust the code a little to get it to work, but it runs on both IIS and Apache servers.

I'm looking to do the same with our phpBB forum. Any idea where I can hook such an authentication method to the phpBB forum? :-)
Khaos-Rage

Post by Khaos-Rage »