Symfony2 + phpBB

Discussion forum for Extension Writers regarding Extension Development.
nayro

Symfony2 + phpBB

Post by nayro »

Hello,

For a personal website (for a guild in a game), I would like to use Symfony2 framework, integrate a phpBB forum and use the phpBB sessions in my sf2 app to have just one account for the entire website. I have some experiences with Sf2 that's why I really want to use it.

Currently I have successfully installed my Symfony2 application. Regarding the forum, I created a "forum" folder where I put the phpBB, and I put a symbolic link to my forum folder into the Symfony2 web directory.
I have access to my forum at /forum/index.php, I put a line which is supposed to redirect to my forum in the Symfony2 .htaccess, but it doesn't work :( :
RewriteRule ^forum/$ forum/index.php [QSA,L]

But the main reason why I came here is the session sharing between Sf2 and phpBB, I found this bundle :
https://github.com/phpbb/PhpbbSessionsAuthBundle

It seems to be exactly what I want, unfortunately there is no documentation :( once the bundle is installed and configured, I have no idea what I have to do :/
I used to use FOSUserBundle to manage my users in Symfony2 and here I'm lost :/

If someone could give me a hand, maybe someone who have already used this bundle it would be really really great ^^

Thanks in advance
Paul
Infrastructure Team Leader
Name: Paul Sohier

Re: Symfony2 + phpBB

Post by Paul »

The linked sessions bundle is still in development, and hasn't been completed or tested yet.
However, I don't think it will completly work in your case. The bundle will use phpBB as user provided, and as such won't work well together with fos_user.
nayro

Post by nayro »

Hello Paul and thanks for your help,

It's not a problem if I will not use FOSUserBundle, I just want to have access to the connected user (I mean connected with the phpBB forum) in my Symfony2 application.