Extensions for writing core files

Discussion forum for Extension Writers regarding Extension Development.
bryan23

Extensions for writing core files

Post by bryan23 »

Hi all, I am not a developer nor I am very good at coding. In other words I am totally new to writing extensions.

Currently I am making core files edit to my board (basic editing of .css and .html files), which I know it is not recommended since phpbb wants us to work with extensions. And of course, I would like to make one specially for my board too, so I won't have to edit the core files..

So I have some questions here:
1) As I already have the edited code in my core files, how difficult is it to write an extension inserting the edited code of mine to the files I want?
E.g:
Inserting this code <meta name="how to write an extension" content="how? please help me"/> to overall_header.html

Can anyone show me an example? if possible.

2) I see there is a skeleton extension, do I start with that to write my own personal extension?

thank you for your time!
david63

Re: Extensions for writing core files

Post by david63 »

From what you have posted it appears that currently you are only making changes to your style files. If that is the case then to avoid having to reapply those changes whenever there is an update the recommended way is to create a "child" style of prosilver (or whatever style you are using). This means that you create a new style (with whatever name you want to give it) and within that style you have only the files that you have changed. Going this way means that you do not need, at this moment in time, to use any extensions.

For more information on creating a child style see https://www.phpbb.com/styles/create/
David
Remember: You only know what you know and - you don't know what you don't know!

I now no longer support any of my extensions but they will start to become available here
bryan23

Post by bryan23 »

Hi david, thanks for the infomation I will read up on it.