Simple query caching

Discussion forum for Extension Writers regarding Extension Development.
Toxyy

Simple query caching

Post by Toxyy » Wed Oct 24, 2018 6:22 am

I'm not sure where to begin with using caching, but I have a query that I'd like to cache. It's by far the most used query I have.

It's called here: https://github.com/toxyy/anonymousposts ... r.php#L473

This is the query in question: https://github.com/toxyy/anonymousposts ... r.php#L120

It runs on the forum index, viewforum, and anywhere there is a topic rowset.

How would I cache this optimally?
I am a web developer/administrator, specializing in forums. If you have work you need done or are too lazy to do, pm me!

My extensions:
[3.2][BETA] Anonymous Posts || [3.2][RC] Show User Activity

kinerity
Community Team Member
Community Team Member
Name: Kailey Truscott

Re: Simple query caching

Post by kinerity » Wed Oct 24, 2018 12:10 pm

It all depends on how long you want to cache it for.

Code: Select all

$result = $this->db->sql_query($is_anonymous_query, 300); // Cache for 5 minutes
If you ever need to clear the cache before the time runs out, all you need is the table name.

Code: Select all

$this->cache->destroy('sql', POSTS_TABLE);
I'm not sure, but destroying the POSTS_TABLE cache may have unintended consequences. I haven't dug too much into this.
Kailey Truscott - Community Team

Toxyy

Post by Toxyy » Wed Oct 24, 2018 8:30 pm

kinerity wrote:
Wed Oct 24, 2018 12:10 pm
It all depends on how long you want to cache it for.
And that's all I have to do?

As long as the query to get the post row lasts, or maybe not... What if the top topic of the forum gets updated but the post list is the same? Will I receive improper information? I'm not looking at my code and I can't remember if the post lists are the post ids or the topic ids. Assuming they're topic id's I can foresee this problem.