Setting up a development environment

Discussion forum for Extension Writers regarding Extension Development.
Post Reply
User avatar
Flerex
Registered User
Posts: 134
Joined: Sun Oct 14, 2012 8:35 pm
Location: Galicia, Spain
Name: Flerex
Contact:

Setting up a development environment

Post by Flerex »

Hello all,

I wanted to ask the community how you setup your development environments when coding extensions for phpBB. I assume most people here use Phpstorm, so I want to ask some questions regarding the configuration.

I checked the official Phpstorm documentation and already configured the code style and inspections files but I still find some non ideal issues. For example, dependencies from the main package that are not directly included in the extension's composer.json file are not found by the IDE.

How do you guys deal with this? Is there anything else you configure in your environments?
User avatar
Kailey
Community Team Leader
Community Team Leader
Posts: 3738
Joined: Mon Sep 01, 2014 1:00 am
Location: sudo rm -rf /
Name: Kailey Snay
Contact:

Re: Setting up a development environment

Post by Kailey »

This might be helpful - although it doesn't answer your question about Phpstorm.
Knowledge Base - Installing and Setting Up Your Own Web Server
Kailey Snay - Community Team Leader
Knowledge Base | Documentation | Community rules

If you have any questions about the rules/customs of this website, feel free to send me a PM.
My little corner of the world, where I sometimes post things documented from my job.
User avatar
Flerex
Registered User
Posts: 134
Joined: Sun Oct 14, 2012 8:35 pm
Location: Galicia, Spain
Name: Flerex
Contact:

Re: Setting up a development environment

Post by Flerex »

Yeah I knew about XAMMP but, to be honest, I prefer Laravel Valet for local development. I find it more handy.
User avatar
mrgoldy
Former Team Member
Posts: 1394
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2009 7:34 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Name: Gijs
Contact:

Re: Setting up a development environment

Post by mrgoldy »

Did you try installing the dependencies from the composer.json?
php ../composer.phar install (from root directory).

I also use phpBB Quick Install to generate boards for me.

And make sure you have debug enabled in your config.php.
phpBB Studio / Member of the Studio

Contributing: You can do it too! Including testing Pull Requests (PR).
phpBB Development and Testing made easy.
User avatar
Flerex
Registered User
Posts: 134
Joined: Sun Oct 14, 2012 8:35 pm
Location: Galicia, Spain
Name: Flerex
Contact:

Re: Setting up a development environment

Post by Flerex »

Mmmm I don't have the extension in a phpBB installation. I have a software/ directory in my home folder with my extension's repo and a phpBB installation that was a symlink to the extension's repository. Is it really necessary to have it inside a phpBB installation?
User avatar
mrgoldy
Former Team Member
Posts: 1394
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2009 7:34 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Name: Gijs
Contact:

Re: Setting up a development environment

Post by mrgoldy »

well since you are using PhpStorm, it is "nice" to develop the extension within the phpBB directory (the root./ext/vendor/extension), as it will be able to resolve the classes, functions, etc. That should probably solve most of your issues then.
phpBB Studio / Member of the Studio

Contributing: You can do it too! Including testing Pull Requests (PR).
phpBB Development and Testing made easy.
User avatar
canonknipser
Registered User
Posts: 2096
Joined: Thu Sep 08, 2011 4:16 am
Location: Germany
Name: Frank Jakobs
Contact:

Re: Setting up a development environment

Post by canonknipser »

I just use a standard local web setup on my linux PC (Apache with Mysql/MariaDB), the phpBB quickinstall tool and as development environment a eclipse IDE with php support. Linking the local copy of phpBB (inside quickinstall alternative source folder), it also resolves all classes.
Greetings, Frank
phpbb.de support team member
English is not my native language - no support via PM or mail
New arrival - Extensions and scripts for phpBB
User avatar
Flerex
Registered User
Posts: 134
Joined: Sun Oct 14, 2012 8:35 pm
Location: Galicia, Spain
Name: Flerex
Contact:

Re: Setting up a development environment

Post by Flerex »

I'm sorry but what is quickinstall?
User avatar
3Di
I've Been Banned!
Posts: 17538
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2005 11:09 pm
Location: I'm with Ukraine 🇺🇦
Name: Marco
Contact:

Re: Setting up a development environment

Post by 3Di »

Flerex wrote: Mon Dec 17, 2018 8:23 pm I'm sorry but what is quickinstall?
mrgoldy wrote: Mon Dec 17, 2018 11:59 am I also use phpBB Quick Install to generate boards for me.
And so do I.
🆓 Free support for our extensions also provided here: phpBB Studio
🚀 Looking for a specific feature or alternative option? We will rock you!
Please PM me only to request paid works. Thx. Buy me a coffee -> Image
My development's activity º PhpStorm's proud user º Extensions, Scripts, MOD porting, Update/Upgrades
User avatar
Flerex
Registered User
Posts: 134
Joined: Sun Oct 14, 2012 8:35 pm
Location: Galicia, Spain
Name: Flerex
Contact:

Re: Setting up a development environment

Post by Flerex »

I'm going to check it out. Thank you 💙
User avatar
apollodriver
Registered User
Posts: 134
Joined: Tue Jan 21, 2020 11:35 am

Re: Setting up a development environment

Post by apollodriver »

hello dear Flexrex, canonknipser, 3di, MrGoldi, kinerty,
hello dear fellows

first of all - i hope you are well and all goes okay. How is the situation in your locality - how is your town dealing with the covit19 thing?


i am pretty new to phpBB. i am on Linux (MX-Linux) and i look for a cool development environment.

i have some experience with ATOM - but since VSCode has got approx 19 000 developer at Github /(it is the most vibrant
project on Github) i think i switch to VSCode.

it runs in MX too cf-. https://forum.mxlinux.org/viewtopic.php ... 49#p566049

as Codium - or
as VSCode

which editor / or which IDE do you run?


look forward to hear from you

regards
apollo
for Wordpress-development - i use the Toolset: http://wpgear.org/
User avatar
3Di
I've Been Banned!
Posts: 17538
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2005 11:09 pm
Location: I'm with Ukraine 🇺🇦
Name: Marco
Contact:

Re: Setting up a development environment

Post by 3Di »

apollodriver wrote: Sun Mar 22, 2020 11:47 am hello dear ... 3di, MrGoldi....
...
which editor / or which IDE do you run?
...
We do use

https://phpbbstudio.com/about (see at the bottom of the page)
and this
https://phpbbstudio.com/tools
🆓 Free support for our extensions also provided here: phpBB Studio
🚀 Looking for a specific feature or alternative option? We will rock you!
Please PM me only to request paid works. Thx. Buy me a coffee -> Image
My development's activity º PhpStorm's proud user º Extensions, Scripts, MOD porting, Update/Upgrades
Post Reply

Return to “Extension Writers Discussion”