version check error from ACP

Discussion forum for Extension Writers regarding Extension Development.
User avatar
Meis2M
Translator
Posts: 869
Joined: Wed Mar 03, 2010 11:32 am
Location: IR.Damghan
Name: میثم نوبری
Contact:

version check error from ACP

Post by Meis2M » Fri May 03, 2019 8:21 am

Hi i have error for checking version:

Code: Select all

Failed to obtain latest version information.
Re-Check version
my code in composer json is:

Code: Select all

		"version-check": {
			"host": "github.com",
			"directory": "/phpbb-seo/versioncheck",
			"filename": "usu.json"
		}
where is my wrong?
phpBB persian international support
Ultimate SEO Friendly URL - Extension
Follow us in Instagram
Free upgrade and install extensions on your forum - drop me PM

User avatar
HiFiKabin
Community Team Member
Community Team Member
Posts: 3980
Joined: Wed May 14, 2014 9:10 am
Location: Swearing at the PC, UK
Name: James
Contact:

Re: version check error from ACP

Post by HiFiKabin » Fri May 03, 2019 8:53 am

You forgot the leading slash on the filemane. EG

Code: Select all

	"version-check": {
		"host": "versioncheck.hifikabin.me.uk",
		"directory": "/310",
		"filename": "/aprilfalls__versions.json"
		}
	}
}

User avatar
AbaddonOrmuz
Registered User
Posts: 601
Joined: Wed Dec 25, 2013 9:06 pm
Location: /dev/null
Name: Alfredo Ramos
Contact:

Re: version check error from ACP

Post by AbaddonOrmuz » Fri May 03, 2019 9:17 am

If I remember correctly, it doen't work if you use the GitHub repository directly, or at least it didn't work for me back then.

I think it's because it's served as text not as JSON, it works however, using GitHub Pages.

https://pages.github.com/
A proudly user of Arch Linux :: /r/sddm_themes

User avatar
Meis2M
Translator
Posts: 869
Joined: Wed Mar 03, 2010 11:32 am
Location: IR.Damghan
Name: میثم نوبری
Contact:

Re: version check error from ACP

Post by Meis2M » Fri May 03, 2019 10:07 am

HiFiKabin wrote:
Fri May 03, 2019 8:53 am
You forgot the leading slash on the filemane. EG

Code: Select all

	"version-check": {
		"host": "versioncheck.hifikabin.me.uk",
		"directory": "/310",
		"filename": "/aprilfalls__versions.json"
		}
	}
}
not working :(
phpBB persian international support
Ultimate SEO Friendly URL - Extension
Follow us in Instagram
Free upgrade and install extensions on your forum - drop me PM

User avatar
HiFiKabin
Community Team Member
Community Team Member
Posts: 3980
Joined: Wed May 14, 2014 9:10 am
Location: Swearing at the PC, UK
Name: James
Contact:

Re: version check error from ACP

Post by HiFiKabin » Fri May 03, 2019 10:14 am

in that case its probably what AbaddonOrmuz has said above (I have never used git so I have no experience) but that syntax works perfectly for my extensions

User avatar
Meis2M
Translator
Posts: 869
Joined: Wed Mar 03, 2010 11:32 am
Location: IR.Damghan
Name: میثم نوبری
Contact:

Re: version check error from ACP

Post by Meis2M » Fri May 03, 2019 10:46 am

AbaddonOrmuz wrote:
Fri May 03, 2019 9:17 am
If I remember correctly, it doen't work if you use the GitHub repository directly, or at least it didn't work for me back then.

I think it's because it's served as text not as JSON, it works however, using GitHub Pages.

https://pages.github.com/
i created a page and put my json on it...this is my new code and still not working

Code: Select all

		"version-check": {
			"host": "phpbb-seo.github.io",
			"directory": "/",
			"filename": "usu.json"
		}
phpBB persian international support
Ultimate SEO Friendly URL - Extension
Follow us in Instagram
Free upgrade and install extensions on your forum - drop me PM

User avatar
HiFiKabin
Community Team Member
Community Team Member
Posts: 3980
Joined: Wed May 14, 2014 9:10 am
Location: Swearing at the PC, UK
Name: James
Contact:

Re: version check error from ACP

Post by HiFiKabin » Fri May 03, 2019 10:49 am

wheres the leading slash?

User avatar
VSE
Extensions Development Coordinator
Extensions Development Coordinator
Posts: 4842
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2009 9:37 am
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Name: Matt Friedman
Contact:

Re: version check error from ACP

Post by VSE » Sat May 04, 2019 3:54 pm

His version-check is fine. The problem is probably the usu.json file:

https://phpbb-seo.github.io/usu.json

404 Not found

Also when I looked at the other one he linked to, the stable branch version is wrong. Should be 1.0:

Code: Select all

{
    "stable": {
        "0.0": {
            "current": "1.0.0-RC2",
            "announcement": "https://phpbb.hifikabin.me.uk/viewtopic.php?p=645#p645",
            "download": "https://phpbb.hifikabin.me.uk/download/file.php?id=986",
            "eol": null,
            "security": false
        }
    }
}
Dictated but not read.
Official phpBB Extensions My Extensions & MODs
Please do not PM me for support.

User avatar
MarkDHamill
Registered User
Posts: 3790
Joined: Fri Aug 02, 2002 12:36 am
Location: Florence, MA USA
Contact:

Re: version check error from ACP

Post by MarkDHamill » Sat May 04, 2019 5:11 pm

Are you using tab characters in the file? JSON files should not have them.
Get the latest versions of my Digests and Smartfeed extensions.
Need phpBB services or a phpBB consultant? I offer most phpBB services.

User avatar
3Di
Former Team Member
Posts: 13688
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2005 11:09 pm
Location: Milan (IT) Frankfurt (DE)
Name: Marco
Contact:

Re: version check error from ACP

Post by 3Di » Sat May 04, 2019 5:14 pm

MarkDHamill wrote:
Sat May 04, 2019 5:11 pm
Are you using tab characters in the file? JSON files should not have them.
YAML files, tabs are ok for the JSON ones instead.
Please PM me only to request paid works. Thx.
Want to compensate me for my interest? Donate
My development's activity º PhpStorm's proud user
Extensions, Scripts, MOD porting, Update/Upgrades
👨‍🏫 | Take a tour to | The Studio | 👨‍🏫

User avatar
Meis2M
Translator
Posts: 869
Joined: Wed Mar 03, 2010 11:32 am
Location: IR.Damghan
Name: میثم نوبری
Contact:

Re: version check error from ACP

Post by Meis2M » Sat May 04, 2019 7:01 pm

VSE wrote:
Sat May 04, 2019 3:54 pm
His version-check is fine. The problem is probably the usu.json file:

https://phpbb-seo.github.io/usu.json

404 Not found

Also when I looked at the other one he linked to, the stable branch version is wrong. Should be 1.0:

Code: Select all

{
    "stable": {
        "0.0": {
            "current": "1.0.0-RC2",
            "announcement": "https://phpbb.hifikabin.me.uk/viewtopic.php?p=645#p645",
            "download": "https://phpbb.hifikabin.me.uk/download/file.php?id=986",
            "eol": null,
            "security": false
        }
    }
}
i changed it but still not working

https://phpbb-seo.github.io/versions/usu.json
phpBB persian international support
Ultimate SEO Friendly URL - Extension
Follow us in Instagram
Free upgrade and install extensions on your forum - drop me PM

User avatar
VSE
Extensions Development Coordinator
Extensions Development Coordinator
Posts: 4842
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2009 9:37 am
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Name: Matt Friedman
Contact:

Re: version check error from ACP

Post by VSE » Sun May 05, 2019 12:46 am

Meis2M wrote:
Sat May 04, 2019 7:01 pm
VSE wrote:
Sat May 04, 2019 3:54 pm
His version-check is fine. The problem is probably the usu.json file:

https://phpbb-seo.github.io/usu.json

404 Not found

Also when I looked at the other one he linked to, the stable branch version is wrong. Should be 1.0:

Code: Select all

{
    "stable": {
        "0.0": {
            "current": "1.0.0-RC2",
            "announcement": "https://phpbb.hifikabin.me.uk/viewtopic.php?p=645#p645",
            "download": "https://phpbb.hifikabin.me.uk/download/file.php?id=986",
            "eol": null,
            "security": false
        }
    }
}
i changed it but still not working

https://phpbb-seo.github.io/versions/usu.json
Because many things are still wrong. Just do this:

Code: Select all

{
    "unstable": {
        "2.0": {
            "current": "2.0.0-b3",
            "announcement": "http://www.phpbb-seo.org/community/announcements-f2",
            "download": "https://github.com/phpbb-seo/usu/archive/beta-3.zip",
            "eol": null,
            "security": false
        }
    }
}

Code: Select all

	"version-check": {
	"host": "phpbb-seo.github.io",
	"directory": "/versions",
	"filename": "usu.json"
}
Also the tabs and spacing on all your JSON files is a mess. you need to get that sorted and under control.
Dictated but not read.
Official phpBB Extensions My Extensions & MODs
Please do not PM me for support.

User avatar
Meis2M
Translator
Posts: 869
Joined: Wed Mar 03, 2010 11:32 am
Location: IR.Damghan
Name: میثم نوبری
Contact:

Re: version check error from ACP

Post by Meis2M » Sun May 05, 2019 6:12 am

VSE wrote:
Sun May 05, 2019 12:46 am
Meis2M wrote:
Sat May 04, 2019 7:01 pm
VSE wrote:
Sat May 04, 2019 3:54 pm
His version-check is fine. The problem is probably the usu.json file:

https://phpbb-seo.github.io/usu.json

404 Not found

Also when I looked at the other one he linked to, the stable branch version is wrong. Should be 1.0:

Code: Select all

{
    "stable": {
        "0.0": {
            "current": "1.0.0-RC2",
            "announcement": "https://phpbb.hifikabin.me.uk/viewtopic.php?p=645#p645",
            "download": "https://phpbb.hifikabin.me.uk/download/file.php?id=986",
            "eol": null,
            "security": false
        }
    }
}
i changed it but still not working

https://phpbb-seo.github.io/versions/usu.json
Because many things are still wrong. Just do this:

Code: Select all

{
    "unstable": {
        "2.0": {
            "current": "2.0.0-b3",
            "announcement": "http://www.phpbb-seo.org/community/announcements-f2",
            "download": "https://github.com/phpbb-seo/usu/archive/beta-3.zip",
            "eol": null,
            "security": false
        }
    }
}

Code: Select all

	"version-check": {
	"host": "phpbb-seo.github.io",
	"directory": "/versions",
	"filename": "usu.json"
}
Also the tabs and spacing on all your JSON files is a mess. you need to get that sorted and under control.
i'm still error :( :?:

this is my composer

Code: Select all

{
    "name": "phpbbseo/usu",
    "type": "phpbb-extension",
    "description": "This Extension will URL rewrite phpBB URLs in various manners, injecting, or not, forums and topic titles in their URLS, each URL being rewritten once, no matter the number of links using it on the page.",
    "homepage": "http://www.phpbb-seo.org",
    "version": "2.0.0-b1",
	"keywords": ["phpbbSEO", "extension", "seo", "Friendly User"],
    "time": "2017-12-20",
    "license": "GPL-2.0",
    "authors": [
        {
 			"name": "Meis@M",
			"email": "info@phpbb-seo.org",
			"homepage": "http://www.phpbb-seo.org/",
			"role": "Lead Developer"
        },
        {
			"name": "dcz",
            "role": "Previous Developer"
        },
        {
			"name": "Carlo",
			"email": "carlo@phpbbitalia.net",
			"homepage": "http://www.phpbbitalia.net/",
            "role": "Previous Developer"
        }
    ],
    "require": {
        "php": ">=5.4.2"
    },
    "require-dev": {
        "phpbb/epv": "dev-master"
    },
    "extra": {
        "display-name": "Ultimate phpBB SEO Friendly URL",
        "soft-require": {
           "phpbb/phpbb": "3.2.*@dev"
        },
	"version-check": {
	"host": "phpbb-seo.github.io",
	"directory": "/versions",
	"filename": "usu.json"
                     }
    }
}
phpBB persian international support
Ultimate SEO Friendly URL - Extension
Follow us in Instagram
Free upgrade and install extensions on your forum - drop me PM

User avatar
VSE
Extensions Development Coordinator
Extensions Development Coordinator
Posts: 4842
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2009 9:37 am
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Name: Matt Friedman
Contact:

Re: version check error from ACP

Post by VSE » Sun May 05, 2019 7:57 am

Meis2M wrote:
Sun May 05, 2019 6:12 am

i'm still error :( :?:
Nope. Your thing is working just fine.
Screen Shot 2019-05-05 at 12.57.36 AM.png
Dictated but not read.
Official phpBB Extensions My Extensions & MODs
Please do not PM me for support.

User avatar
LukeWCS
Registered User
Posts: 147
Joined: Mon Dec 08, 2014 12:32 pm
Location: Germany

Re: version check error from ACP

Post by LukeWCS » Sun May 05, 2019 4:50 pm

Hi
AbaddonOrmuz wrote:
Fri May 03, 2019 9:17 am
If I remember correctly, it doen't work if you use the GitHub repository directly, or at least it didn't work for me back then.
It works, if you use the subdomain raw. and with a small change in the URL. My LFWWH ext demonstrates how this works.

@Meis2M

Your file is on a server with SSL, so you need the parameter "ssl": true in your composer.json:

Code: Select all

	"version-check": {
	"host": "phpbb-seo.github.io",
	"directory": "/versions",
	"filename": "usu.json",
	"ssl": true
FYI: you have indentation in your composer.json with tabs and spaces. ;)
May the backup be with you. Always.

My extensions: Monospace font for Posting Editor (phpbb.de)
My extension forks: LF who was here (phpbb.de / phpbb.com), ModBreak eXtended (phpbb.com)

Post Reply

Return to “Extension Writers Discussion”