Page 1 of 2

version check error from ACP

Posted: Fri May 03, 2019 8:21 am
by Meis2M
Hi i have error for checking version:

Code: Select all

Failed to obtain latest version information.
Re-Check version
my code in composer json is:

Code: Select all

		"version-check": {
			"host": "github.com",
			"directory": "/phpbb-seo/versioncheck",
			"filename": "usu.json"
		}
where is my wrong?

Re: version check error from ACP

Posted: Fri May 03, 2019 8:53 am
by HiFiKabin
You forgot the leading slash on the filemane. EG

Code: Select all

	"version-check": {
		"host": "versioncheck.hifikabin.me.uk",
		"directory": "/310",
		"filename": "/aprilfalls__versions.json"
		}
	}
}

Re: version check error from ACP

Posted: Fri May 03, 2019 9:17 am
by AbaddonOrmuz
If I remember correctly, it doen't work if you use the GitHub repository directly, or at least it didn't work for me back then.

I think it's because it's served as text not as JSON, it works however, using GitHub Pages.

https://pages.github.com/

Re: version check error from ACP

Posted: Fri May 03, 2019 10:07 am
by Meis2M
HiFiKabin wrote:
Fri May 03, 2019 8:53 am
You forgot the leading slash on the filemane. EG

Code: Select all

	"version-check": {
		"host": "versioncheck.hifikabin.me.uk",
		"directory": "/310",
		"filename": "/aprilfalls__versions.json"
		}
	}
}
not working :(

Re: version check error from ACP

Posted: Fri May 03, 2019 10:14 am
by HiFiKabin
in that case its probably what AbaddonOrmuz has said above (I have never used git so I have no experience) but that syntax works perfectly for my extensions

Re: version check error from ACP

Posted: Fri May 03, 2019 10:46 am
by Meis2M
AbaddonOrmuz wrote:
Fri May 03, 2019 9:17 am
If I remember correctly, it doen't work if you use the GitHub repository directly, or at least it didn't work for me back then.

I think it's because it's served as text not as JSON, it works however, using GitHub Pages.

https://pages.github.com/
i created a page and put my json on it...this is my new code and still not working

Code: Select all

		"version-check": {
			"host": "phpbb-seo.github.io",
			"directory": "/",
			"filename": "usu.json"
		}

Re: version check error from ACP

Posted: Fri May 03, 2019 10:49 am
by HiFiKabin
wheres the leading slash?

Re: version check error from ACP

Posted: Sat May 04, 2019 3:54 pm
by VSE
His version-check is fine. The problem is probably the usu.json file:

https://phpbb-seo.github.io/usu.json

404 Not found

Also when I looked at the other one he linked to, the stable branch version is wrong. Should be 1.0:

Code: Select all

{
    "stable": {
        "0.0": {
            "current": "1.0.0-RC2",
            "announcement": "https://phpbb.hifikabin.me.uk/viewtopic.php?p=645#p645",
            "download": "https://phpbb.hifikabin.me.uk/download/file.php?id=986",
            "eol": null,
            "security": false
        }
    }
}

Re: version check error from ACP

Posted: Sat May 04, 2019 5:11 pm
by MarkDHamill
Are you using tab characters in the file? JSON files should not have them.

Re: version check error from ACP

Posted: Sat May 04, 2019 5:14 pm
by 3Di
MarkDHamill wrote:
Sat May 04, 2019 5:11 pm
Are you using tab characters in the file? JSON files should not have them.
YAML files, tabs are ok for the JSON ones instead.

Re: version check error from ACP

Posted: Sat May 04, 2019 7:01 pm
by Meis2M
VSE wrote:
Sat May 04, 2019 3:54 pm
His version-check is fine. The problem is probably the usu.json file:

https://phpbb-seo.github.io/usu.json

404 Not found

Also when I looked at the other one he linked to, the stable branch version is wrong. Should be 1.0:

Code: Select all

{
    "stable": {
        "0.0": {
            "current": "1.0.0-RC2",
            "announcement": "https://phpbb.hifikabin.me.uk/viewtopic.php?p=645#p645",
            "download": "https://phpbb.hifikabin.me.uk/download/file.php?id=986",
            "eol": null,
            "security": false
        }
    }
}
i changed it but still not working

https://phpbb-seo.github.io/versions/usu.json

Re: version check error from ACP

Posted: Sun May 05, 2019 12:46 am
by VSE
Meis2M wrote:
Sat May 04, 2019 7:01 pm
VSE wrote:
Sat May 04, 2019 3:54 pm
His version-check is fine. The problem is probably the usu.json file:

https://phpbb-seo.github.io/usu.json

404 Not found

Also when I looked at the other one he linked to, the stable branch version is wrong. Should be 1.0:

Code: Select all

{
    "stable": {
        "0.0": {
            "current": "1.0.0-RC2",
            "announcement": "https://phpbb.hifikabin.me.uk/viewtopic.php?p=645#p645",
            "download": "https://phpbb.hifikabin.me.uk/download/file.php?id=986",
            "eol": null,
            "security": false
        }
    }
}
i changed it but still not working

https://phpbb-seo.github.io/versions/usu.json
Because many things are still wrong. Just do this:

Code: Select all

{
    "unstable": {
        "2.0": {
            "current": "2.0.0-b3",
            "announcement": "http://www.phpbb-seo.org/community/announcements-f2",
            "download": "https://github.com/phpbb-seo/usu/archive/beta-3.zip",
            "eol": null,
            "security": false
        }
    }
}

Code: Select all

	"version-check": {
	"host": "phpbb-seo.github.io",
	"directory": "/versions",
	"filename": "usu.json"
}
Also the tabs and spacing on all your JSON files is a mess. you need to get that sorted and under control.

Re: version check error from ACP

Posted: Sun May 05, 2019 6:12 am
by Meis2M
VSE wrote:
Sun May 05, 2019 12:46 am
Meis2M wrote:
Sat May 04, 2019 7:01 pm
VSE wrote:
Sat May 04, 2019 3:54 pm
His version-check is fine. The problem is probably the usu.json file:

https://phpbb-seo.github.io/usu.json

404 Not found

Also when I looked at the other one he linked to, the stable branch version is wrong. Should be 1.0:

Code: Select all

{
    "stable": {
        "0.0": {
            "current": "1.0.0-RC2",
            "announcement": "https://phpbb.hifikabin.me.uk/viewtopic.php?p=645#p645",
            "download": "https://phpbb.hifikabin.me.uk/download/file.php?id=986",
            "eol": null,
            "security": false
        }
    }
}
i changed it but still not working

https://phpbb-seo.github.io/versions/usu.json
Because many things are still wrong. Just do this:

Code: Select all

{
    "unstable": {
        "2.0": {
            "current": "2.0.0-b3",
            "announcement": "http://www.phpbb-seo.org/community/announcements-f2",
            "download": "https://github.com/phpbb-seo/usu/archive/beta-3.zip",
            "eol": null,
            "security": false
        }
    }
}

Code: Select all

	"version-check": {
	"host": "phpbb-seo.github.io",
	"directory": "/versions",
	"filename": "usu.json"
}
Also the tabs and spacing on all your JSON files is a mess. you need to get that sorted and under control.
i'm still error :( :?:

this is my composer

Code: Select all

{
    "name": "phpbbseo/usu",
    "type": "phpbb-extension",
    "description": "This Extension will URL rewrite phpBB URLs in various manners, injecting, or not, forums and topic titles in their URLS, each URL being rewritten once, no matter the number of links using it on the page.",
    "homepage": "http://www.phpbb-seo.org",
    "version": "2.0.0-b1",
	"keywords": ["phpbbSEO", "extension", "seo", "Friendly User"],
    "time": "2017-12-20",
    "license": "GPL-2.0",
    "authors": [
        {
 			"name": "Meis@M",
			"email": "info@phpbb-seo.org",
			"homepage": "http://www.phpbb-seo.org/",
			"role": "Lead Developer"
        },
        {
			"name": "dcz",
            "role": "Previous Developer"
        },
        {
			"name": "Carlo",
			"email": "carlo@phpbbitalia.net",
			"homepage": "http://www.phpbbitalia.net/",
            "role": "Previous Developer"
        }
    ],
    "require": {
        "php": ">=5.4.2"
    },
    "require-dev": {
        "phpbb/epv": "dev-master"
    },
    "extra": {
        "display-name": "Ultimate phpBB SEO Friendly URL",
        "soft-require": {
           "phpbb/phpbb": "3.2.*@dev"
        },
	"version-check": {
	"host": "phpbb-seo.github.io",
	"directory": "/versions",
	"filename": "usu.json"
                     }
    }
}

Re: version check error from ACP

Posted: Sun May 05, 2019 7:57 am
by VSE
Meis2M wrote:
Sun May 05, 2019 6:12 am

i'm still error :( :?:
Nope. Your thing is working just fine.
Screen Shot 2019-05-05 at 12.57.36 AM.png

Re: version check error from ACP

Posted: Sun May 05, 2019 4:50 pm
by LukeWCS
Hi
AbaddonOrmuz wrote:
Fri May 03, 2019 9:17 am
If I remember correctly, it doen't work if you use the GitHub repository directly, or at least it didn't work for me back then.
It works, if you use the subdomain raw. and with a small change in the URL. My LFWWH ext demonstrates how this works.

@Meis2M

Your file is on a server with SSL, so you need the parameter "ssl": true in your composer.json:

Code: Select all

	"version-check": {
	"host": "phpbb-seo.github.io",
	"directory": "/versions",
	"filename": "usu.json",
	"ssl": true
FYI: you have indentation in your composer.json with tabs and spaces. ;)