Changes to Travis Accounts

Discussion forum for Extension Writers regarding Extension Development.
User avatar
david63
Registered User
Posts: 18840
Joined: Thu Dec 19, 2002 8:08 am
Location: Lancashire, UK
Contact:

Changes to Travis Accounts

Post by david63 »

Anybody understand what is happening with Travis?

The way that I read it is that sooner or later we are going to have to start paying to use it.

There seems to be some confusion in that if you read the blog (https://blog.travis-ci.com/2020-11-02-t ... ew-billing) once your "credits" are used then you have to have a paid account but an email that I received says that you get 1,000 per month.
David
Remember: You only know what you know and - you don't know what you don't know!
My CDB Contributions | How to install an extension
I will not be accepting translations for any of my extensions in Github - please post any translations in the appropriate topic.
No support requests via PM or email as they will be ignored
User avatar
RMcGirr83
Former Team Member
Posts: 21826
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2005 4:33 pm
Location: Your display
Name: Rich McGirr

Re: Changes to Travis Accounts

Post by RMcGirr83 »

The pricing change will take effect on https://travis-ci.com.
Seems it doesn't effect .org usage.
Former Modifications/Extensions Team Member | My extensions | github | All requests for support via PM will be ignored
Appreciate the extensions/mods/support then buy me a beerImage
User avatar
david63
Registered User
Posts: 18840
Joined: Thu Dec 19, 2002 8:08 am
Location: Lancashire, UK
Contact:

Re: Changes to Travis Accounts

Post by david63 »

But .org is supposed to being discontinued and wound down.

It was only last year that they were telling us to move to .com
David
Remember: You only know what you know and - you don't know what you don't know!
My CDB Contributions | How to install an extension
I will not be accepting translations for any of my extensions in Github - please post any translations in the appropriate topic.
No support requests via PM or email as they will be ignored
User avatar
RMcGirr83
Former Team Member
Posts: 21826
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2005 4:33 pm
Location: Your display
Name: Rich McGirr

Re: Changes to Travis Accounts

Post by RMcGirr83 »

If that happens then bye-bye travis.
Former Modifications/Extensions Team Member | My extensions | github | All requests for support via PM will be ignored
Appreciate the extensions/mods/support then buy me a beerImage
User avatar
Sajaki
Registered User
Posts: 1378
Joined: Mon Mar 02, 2009 1:41 pm
Location: Amsterdam
Contact:

Re: Changes to Travis Accounts

Post by Sajaki »

hi,

i found this https://mailchi.mp/3d439eeb1098/travis- ... avis-cicom

so travis-ci.org is closing end of this year and they want us to migrate to .com.
In an effort to ensure that all of our users - whether you build open-source, public or private repositories - receive regular feature updates, security patches and UX/UI enhancements, we are announcing that travis-ci.org will be officially closed down completely on December 31st, 2020, allowing us to focus all our efforts on bringing new features and fixes to travis-ci.com and all of our awesome users like yourself on the travis-ci.com domain.
it's quite a difficult procedure it seems.
https://docs.travis-ci.com/user/migrate ... -migration
User avatar
RMcGirr83
Former Team Member
Posts: 21826
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2005 4:33 pm
Location: Your display
Name: Rich McGirr

Re: Changes to Travis Accounts

Post by RMcGirr83 »

Just migrated one of mine that previously passed on .org and now
The "ocramius/package-versions" plugin was skipped because it requires a Plugin API version ("^1.0.0") that does not match your Composer installation ("2.0.0"). You may need to run composer update with the "--no-plugins" option.

You are using the deprecated option "update-with-dependencies". This is now default behaviour. The --no-update-with-dependencies option can be used to remove a package without its dependencies.

sami/sami is not required in your composer.json and has not been removed

./composer.json has been updated

Running composer update sami/sami

Loading composer repositories with package information

Updating dependencies

Package "sami/sami" listed for update is not locked.

Your requirements could not be resolved to an installable set of packages
It magically fails. :rolleyes:
Former Modifications/Extensions Team Member | My extensions | github | All requests for support via PM will be ignored
Appreciate the extensions/mods/support then buy me a beerImage
User avatar
david63
Registered User
Posts: 18840
Joined: Thu Dec 19, 2002 8:08 am
Location: Lancashire, UK
Contact:

Re: Changes to Travis Accounts

Post by david63 »

RMcGirr83 wrote:
Tue Nov 03, 2020 12:44 pm
Just migrated one of mine that previously passed on .org and now
I had that the other day - you need to edit prepare-epv.sh and remove the reference tosami
David
Remember: You only know what you know and - you don't know what you don't know!
My CDB Contributions | How to install an extension
I will not be accepting translations for any of my extensions in Github - please post any translations in the appropriate topic.
No support requests via PM or email as they will be ignored
User avatar
RMcGirr83
Former Team Member
Posts: 21826
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2005 4:33 pm
Location: Your display
Name: Rich McGirr

Re: Changes to Travis Accounts

Post by RMcGirr83 »

Did you have to do anything with this?
The "ocramius/package-versions" plugin was skipped because it requires a Plugin API version ("^1.0.0") that does not match your Composer installation ("2.0.0").
Seems composer 2.0.0 just came out a few days/weeks ago IIRC reading something from Naderman about it.
composer --no-update-with-dependencies --dev --no-interaction

The "ocramius/package-versions" plugin was skipped because it requires a Plugin API version ("^1.0.0") that does not match your Composer installation ("2.0.0"). You may need to run composer update with the "--no-plugins" option.
Farken painful as usual with ZERO input (a notice would have been good seeing as they want extension writers to utilize travis) or extension writer assistance from the phpBB team (typical really).
Former Modifications/Extensions Team Member | My extensions | github | All requests for support via PM will be ignored
Appreciate the extensions/mods/support then buy me a beerImage
User avatar
david63
Registered User
Posts: 18840
Joined: Thu Dec 19, 2002 8:08 am
Location: Lancashire, UK
Contact:

Re: Changes to Travis Accounts

Post by david63 »

I don't remember needing to change anything else
David
Remember: You only know what you know and - you don't know what you don't know!
My CDB Contributions | How to install an extension
I will not be accepting translations for any of my extensions in Github - please post any translations in the appropriate topic.
No support requests via PM or email as they will be ignored
User avatar
RMcGirr83
Former Team Member
Posts: 21826
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2005 4:33 pm
Location: Your display
Name: Rich McGirr

Re: Changes to Travis Accounts

Post by RMcGirr83 »

The other phpBB travis file has to be changed as well but Travis is just crap right now.
Capture.PNG
build failing with nothing but green check marks. :roll:
Former Modifications/Extensions Team Member | My extensions | github | All requests for support via PM will be ignored
Appreciate the extensions/mods/support then buy me a beerImage
User avatar
RMcGirr83
Former Team Member
Posts: 21826
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2005 4:33 pm
Location: Your display
Name: Rich McGirr

Re: Changes to Travis Accounts

Post by RMcGirr83 »

I wonder if github actions would be a good replacement. David have you tried to implement that?
Former Modifications/Extensions Team Member | My extensions | github | All requests for support via PM will be ignored
Appreciate the extensions/mods/support then buy me a beerImage
User avatar
david63
Registered User
Posts: 18840
Joined: Thu Dec 19, 2002 8:08 am
Location: Lancashire, UK
Contact:

Re: Changes to Travis Accounts

Post by david63 »

RMcGirr83 wrote:
Wed Nov 04, 2020 10:48 am
David have you tried to implement that?
Nope - have you????
David
Remember: You only know what you know and - you don't know what you don't know!
My CDB Contributions | How to install an extension
I will not be accepting translations for any of my extensions in Github - please post any translations in the appropriate topic.
No support requests via PM or email as they will be ignored
User avatar
RMcGirr83
Former Team Member
Posts: 21826
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2005 4:33 pm
Location: Your display
Name: Rich McGirr

Re: Changes to Travis Accounts

Post by RMcGirr83 »

Was just reading up on it. Never even crossed my mind and not really completely sure on how it would work (or even if it's doable).
Former Modifications/Extensions Team Member | My extensions | github | All requests for support via PM will be ignored
Appreciate the extensions/mods/support then buy me a beerImage
User avatar
david63
Registered User
Posts: 18840
Joined: Thu Dec 19, 2002 8:08 am
Location: Lancashire, UK
Contact:

Re: Changes to Travis Accounts

Post by david63 »

Just had a look and I'm sure it would do something but it would not have the integration with phpBB that Travis has - unless someone more knowledgeable that I knows how to do it
David
Remember: You only know what you know and - you don't know what you don't know!
My CDB Contributions | How to install an extension
I will not be accepting translations for any of my extensions in Github - please post any translations in the appropriate topic.
No support requests via PM or email as they will be ignored
User avatar
Dark❶
Registered User
Posts: 266
Joined: Mon Jan 15, 2018 1:22 pm
Location: D@rK V0id
Name: Dark❶ [dark1]
Contact:

Re: Changes to Travis Accounts

Post by Dark❶ »

david63 wrote:
Wed Nov 04, 2020 11:49 am
Just had a look and I'm sure it would do something but it would not have the integration with phpBB that Travis has - unless someone more knowledgeable that I knows how to do it
I have kind of done it, with "Trial & Err0r" here : https://github.com/dark-1/memberavatars ... ctions.yml
Only problem comes for EPV where even if it returns an Err0r, it displays as "Success".
But I am NOT knowledgeable either...
So you can give it a try...

I hope somebody can figure out something for EPV...

Best regards :+1:
Dark❶ [dark1]
Post Reply

Return to “Extension Writers Discussion”