Backing up forum is this correct?

Get help with installation and running phpBB 3.1.x here. Please do not post bug reports, feature requests, or extension related questions here.
Scam Warning
Post Reply
timeforhelp1
Registered User
Posts: 198
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2009 5:34 pm

Backing up forum is this correct?

Post by timeforhelp1 » Tue Jun 13, 2017 10:56 am

Once again phpmyadmin has changed,my one is different from the knowledge base one, is the below correct?
1.PNG
2.PNG
EDIT:On the above, I think I forgot to click the 'If not exists' button, yes?
3.PNG

timeforhelp1
Registered User
Posts: 198
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2009 5:34 pm

Re: Backing up forum is this correct?

Post by timeforhelp1 » Tue Jun 13, 2017 6:57 pm

Any Ideas? This backing up always throws me.
My php version is 5.3.29

User avatar
Mick
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 17824
Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2008 9:49 am
Location: Cardiff

Re: Backing up forum is this correct?

Post by Mick » Tue Jun 13, 2017 7:05 pm

As far as I'm aware the KB article Knowledge Base - Transferring Your Board to a New Host or Domain section "Using phpMyAdmin to Back Up the Database" is correct taking in to account the notice:

"IMPORTANT: If you are using phpMyAdmin 3.4.3.2 or higher, please follow the instructions in this quote box to backup your database."
"The more connected we get the more alone we become" - Kyle Broflovski

There are no ‘threads’ in phpBB, they are topics.
Forza Garibaldi

timeforhelp1
Registered User
Posts: 198
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2009 5:34 pm

Re: Backing up forum is this correct?

Post by timeforhelp1 » Tue Jun 13, 2017 9:33 pm

I know that link, that is what I am taking about.
The 'Object creation options' part is different, see pic 2.
This one...
Image

The pic below is from the knowledge base pic, it is different to the one above.
Apart from adding If not exists' button, do I need to untick the Add CREATE TRIGGER statement which is not in the second pic?
5.PNG

timeforhelp1
Registered User
Posts: 198
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2009 5:34 pm

Re: Backing up forum is this correct?

Post by timeforhelp1 » Wed Jun 14, 2017 11:37 am

Anyone?Am I doing it right?

Also I'm having a time out issue...
“”your export is incomplete due to low execution time limit at the php level””

My host has changed max_execution_time in php.ini and it still happens.
He suggests using cpanel to backup, would that be ok?

And one last thing, I'm using the backup in Admin panel is this ok to use.

Just wondering what to do!

janus_zonstraal
Registered User
Posts: 1639
Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2014 1:30 pm

Re: Backing up forum is this correct?

Post by janus_zonstraal » Wed Jun 14, 2017 1:23 pm

He suggests using cpanel to backup, would that be ok?
yes
And one last thing, I'm using the backup in Admin panel is this ok to use.
Yes

and remember you only backup the database with this method, not the files or images!!
Sorry! My English is bat ;) !!!

timeforhelp1
Registered User
Posts: 198
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2009 5:34 pm

Re: Backing up forum is this correct?

Post by timeforhelp1 » Fri Jun 16, 2017 12:28 pm

Thanks for your reply mate.

Curious though how would the cPanel back up be used to restore the forum?

janus_zonstraal
Registered User
Posts: 1639
Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2014 1:30 pm

Re: Backing up forum is this correct?

Post by janus_zonstraal » Fri Jun 16, 2017 12:41 pm

timeforhelp1 wrote:
Fri Jun 16, 2017 12:28 pm
Thanks for your reply mate.

Curious though how would the cPanel back up be used to restore the forum?
By using the cPanel restore function, or what do you mean?
Sorry! My English is bat ;) !!!

timeforhelp1
Registered User
Posts: 198
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2009 5:34 pm

Re: Backing up forum is this correct?

Post by timeforhelp1 » Fri Jun 16, 2017 10:45 pm

janus_zonstraal wrote:
Fri Jun 16, 2017 12:41 pm
timeforhelp1 wrote:
Fri Jun 16, 2017 12:28 pm
Thanks for your reply mate.

Curious though how would the cPanel back up be used to restore the forum?
By using the cPanel restore function, or what do you mean?
So it's ok to backup and restore a phpbb forum, data and everything using cPanel?
I have never seen it mentioned on here before that's all.

janus_zonstraal
Registered User
Posts: 1639
Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2014 1:30 pm

Re: Backing up forum is this correct?

Post by janus_zonstraal » Sat Jun 17, 2017 7:25 am

You have to test the backups you make.

Best way is to set up a test board local on your pc or in a other directory from your server.
Write everything what you do down, so if you ever really need to restore a backup you know what to do and are comfortable with the procedure
Sorry! My English is bat ;) !!!

User avatar
Froddelaar
Registered User
Posts: 483
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2016 3:45 am
Location: Aalst (Belgium)
Name: Andy Dm
Contact:

Re: Backing up forum is this correct?

Post by Froddelaar » Mon Jun 19, 2017 2:28 pm

timeforhelp1 wrote:
Fri Jun 16, 2017 10:45 pm
janus_zonstraal wrote:
Fri Jun 16, 2017 12:41 pm
timeforhelp1 wrote:
Fri Jun 16, 2017 12:28 pm
Thanks for your reply mate.

Curious though how would the cPanel back up be used to restore the forum?
By using the cPanel restore function, or what do you mean?
So it's ok to backup and restore a phpbb forum, data and everything using cPanel?
I have never seen it mentioned on here before that's all.
Yes it's ok, I done that a few times.
Full restore with 1 click. never had problems with it.
I'm A Stupid F*ck.. And Proud Of it!
Download +34.000 arcade extension games @ ~ https://www.froddelpower.be ~

Dutch Extension Translations @ https://github.com/Solidjeuh
Donations are always welcome @ https://www.froddelpower.be/donation

Post Reply

Return to “[3.1.x] Support Forum”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: matt13_37, oBot and 12 guests

cron