Logo change not showing - cached version shown

Get help with installation and running phpBB 3.1.x here. Please do not post bug reports, feature requests, or extension related questions here.
Anti-Spam Guide
Forum rules
READ: phpBB.com Board-Wide Rules and Regulations

NOTE: phpBB 3.1.x is at an End of Life stage, and support will NOT be provided anymore after the date of July 1st, 2018.
Post Reply
skybound
Registered User
Posts: 99
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 7:11 am
Location: Port Elizabeth - South Africa
Contact:

Logo change not showing - cached version shown

Post by skybound » Mon Dec 18, 2017 6:51 am

This time of year I have replaced our site logo with a Christmas one. I have replaced it in the correct spot and purged the site cache in ACP.
A new visitor to the site is shown the updated logo. A previous visitor will see the old logo until such time they manually refresh their browser with Ctrl-F5 or whatever is the correct keys for that browser flavour cache refresh.

So question is, how do I force a refresh of the users caches or force their browsers to pull the update logo? And no, not using any CDNs. However do have a feeling that also some ISPs may be caching too.

User avatar
_Vinny_
Style Customisations
Style Customisations
Posts: 7363
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 12:45 am
Location: Brazil
Name: Marcus Vinicius
Contact:

Re: Logo change not showing - cached version shown

Post by _Vinny_ » Mon Dec 18, 2017 7:15 am

What style do you use?? Could you provide your code? Is CSS or HTML?

skybound
Registered User
Posts: 99
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 7:11 am
Location: Port Elizabeth - South Africa
Contact:

Re: Logo change not showing - cached version shown

Post by skybound » Mon Dec 18, 2017 10:17 am

Am using elegance_softblue by Artodia. ( https://www.phpbb.com/customise/db/styl ... elegance2/ ) As far as can tell uses CSS and is based on prosilver
URL of site is http://avcom.co.za
Logo should have 'happy holidays' on it

User avatar
Mannix_
Registered User
Posts: 174
Joined: Sun Oct 25, 2015 2:56 pm
Contact:

Re: Logo change not showing - cached version shown

Post by Mannix_ » Mon Dec 18, 2017 11:56 am

skybound wrote:
Mon Dec 18, 2017 10:17 am
Am using elegance_softblue by Artodia. ( https://www.phpbb.com/customise/db/styl ... elegance2/ ) As far as can tell uses CSS and is based on prosilver
URL of site is http://avcom.co.za
Logo should have 'happy holidays' on it
It does have it :)
-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
My CDB contributions . Like my work? Want me to do make a style just for you? PM here or on twitter.
-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
Need some graphics? PM here or on twitter.

skybound
Registered User
Posts: 99
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 7:11 am
Location: Port Elizabeth - South Africa
Contact:

Re: Logo change not showing - cached version shown

Post by skybound » Mon Dec 18, 2017 3:39 pm

Mannix_ wrote:
Mon Dec 18, 2017 11:56 am
skybound wrote:
Mon Dec 18, 2017 10:17 am
Am using elegance_softblue by Artodia. ( https://www.phpbb.com/customise/db/styl ... elegance2/ ) As far as can tell uses CSS and is based on prosilver
URL of site is http://avcom.co.za
Logo should have 'happy holidays' on it
It does have it :)
Correct, but for any returning visitor it still has old logo.

User avatar
Mannix_
Registered User
Posts: 174
Joined: Sun Oct 25, 2015 2:56 pm
Contact:

Re: Logo change not showing - cached version shown

Post by Mannix_ » Mon Dec 18, 2017 4:01 pm

skybound wrote:
Mon Dec 18, 2017 3:39 pm
Mannix_ wrote:
Mon Dec 18, 2017 11:56 am
skybound wrote:
Mon Dec 18, 2017 10:17 am
Am using elegance_softblue by Artodia. ( https://www.phpbb.com/customise/db/styl ... elegance2/ ) As far as can tell uses CSS and is based on prosilver
URL of site is http://avcom.co.za
Logo should have 'happy holidays' on it
It does have it :)
Correct, but for any returning visitor it still has old logo.
Tell them to clear their browser cache
-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
My CDB contributions . Like my work? Want me to do make a style just for you? PM here or on twitter.
-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
Need some graphics? PM here or on twitter.

janus_zonstraal
Registered User
Posts: 1932
Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2014 1:30 pm

Re: Logo change not showing - cached version shown

Post by janus_zonstraal » Mon Dec 18, 2017 4:21 pm

Best way is to use the extension, modern browsers cached sometimes to much.
viewtopic.php?f=456&t=2276426
Sorry! My English is bat ;) !!!

Post Reply

Return to “[3.1.x] Support Forum”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: jjive, vrushali and 35 guests