(Solved) install of 3.1 and have my first error (Lucky me)

Get help with installation and running phpBB 3.1.x here. Please do not post bug reports, feature requests, or extension related questions here.
Get Involved
Forum rules
READ: phpBB.com Board-Wide Rules and Regulations

NOTE: phpBB 3.1.x is at its End of Life stage and support will NOT be provided after July 1st, 2018.
Survival Bill
Registered User
Posts: 248
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2007 3:03 am
Contact:

(Solved) install of 3.1 and have my first error (Lucky me)

Post by Survival Bill » Fri Oct 31, 2014 4:24 am

1
Last edited by Survival Bill on Sat Oct 10, 2015 6:01 pm, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
Oyabun1
Former Team Member
Posts: 23162
Joined: Sun May 17, 2009 1:05 pm
Location: Australia
Name: Bill

Re: install of 3.1 and have my first error (Lucky me)

Post by Oyabun1 » Fri Oct 31, 2014 5:44 am

What are you entering in those fields?
                      Support Request Template
3.0.x: Knowledge Base Styles Support MOD Requests
3.1.x: Knowledge BaseStyles SupportExtension Requests

cally6008
Registered User
Posts: 286
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2008 10:18 pm

Re: install of 3.1 and have my first error (Lucky me)

Post by cally6008 » Fri Oct 31, 2014 9:17 am

I know this one because I tried it out as well :D

In the profile field, remove the http://www.facebook.com/ from what you are entering, same with the other fields

The forum automatically adds the start URL in for you so you only need to add the end bits, your username etc

Survival Bill
Registered User
Posts: 248
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2007 3:03 am
Contact:

Re: install of 3.1 and have my first error (Lucky me)

Post by Survival Bill » Fri Oct 31, 2014 7:12 pm

1
Last edited by Survival Bill on Sat Oct 10, 2015 6:02 pm, edited 1 time in total.

cally6008
Registered User
Posts: 286
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2008 10:18 pm

Re: install of 3.1 and have my first error (Lucky me)

Post by cally6008 » Fri Oct 31, 2014 9:28 pm

Thanks for the reminder, I need to edit that page and put a note on it for my users

Google+ .. it is just the numbers for your profile
https:// plus.google. com/u/0/ 102289689431726761654/posts

Youtube .. just the username
https:// http://www.youtube. com/user/ tracingequines

With a space in your username would the %20 work ?

I've just looked at the admin cp > custom profile fields and its asking for http://youtube.com/user/%s
I don't know if it would work if you changed that to https://www.youtube.com/channel/%s/
and then add your /UCXPQh5ZV8H2tt2LzRkX1bDA in your profile
(this might screw it up for other members on your forum)

User avatar
KevC
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 68867
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2004 10:44 am
Location: Oxford, UK
Contact:

Re: install of 3.1 and have my first error (Lucky me)

Post by KevC » Fri Oct 31, 2014 9:39 pm

You can always suggest a language file wording change in the bug tracker for 3.1.1
-:|:- Support Request Template -:|:-
Image
Cheap UK Hosting
"In the land of the blind the little green bloke with no pupils is king - init!"

Survival Bill
Registered User
Posts: 248
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2007 3:03 am
Contact:

Re: install of 3.1 and have my first error (Lucky me)

Post by Survival Bill » Fri Oct 31, 2014 10:36 pm

1
Last edited by Survival Bill on Sat Oct 10, 2015 6:02 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Survival Bill
Registered User
Posts: 248
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2007 3:03 am
Contact:

Re: install of 3.1 and have my first error (Lucky me)

Post by Survival Bill » Fri Oct 31, 2014 10:38 pm

1
Last edited by Survival Bill on Sat Oct 10, 2015 6:02 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
KevC
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 68867
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2004 10:44 am
Location: Oxford, UK
Contact:

Re: install of 3.1 and have my first error (Lucky me)

Post by KevC » Fri Oct 31, 2014 10:49 pm

Survival Bill wrote:can not leave a space in my name in edit profile for for youtube or google I can not use: survival bill I get this error: The field ???YouTube??? has invalid characters,
Youtube usernames do not have spaces in them.

eg this guy's channel is called Simon's Cat.
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCH6vXj ... l0KnfL-7RQ

But if you mouse over that screen name, you'll see the youtube name is actually simonscat
https://www.youtube.com/user/simonscat
-:|:- Support Request Template -:|:-
Image
Cheap UK Hosting
"In the land of the blind the little green bloke with no pupils is king - init!"

User avatar
Lumpy Burgertushie
Registered User
Posts: 66034
Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 3:11 am
Contact:

Re: install of 3.1 and have my first error (Lucky me)

Post by Lumpy Burgertushie » Fri Oct 31, 2014 10:54 pm

if a username is ever going to be a part of a url or filename/foldername then a space is not a valid character and should never be used.

save yourself some trouble and never use spaces. use a _ instead.


robert
I am available for custom work on a donation basis. Please send me a PM with your needs.

Premium phpBB 3.2 Styles by PlanetStyles.net

OK, so what's the speed of dark?

Survival Bill
Registered User
Posts: 248
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2007 3:03 am
Contact:

Re: install of 3.1 and have my first error (Lucky me)

Post by Survival Bill » Fri Oct 31, 2014 11:09 pm

1
Last edited by Survival Bill on Sat Oct 10, 2015 6:02 pm, edited 1 time in total.

cally6008
Registered User
Posts: 286
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2008 10:18 pm

Re: install of 3.1 and have my first error (Lucky me)

Post by cally6008 » Sat Nov 01, 2014 1:20 pm

Have you tried these options ?

1 - go to current "custom profile field" options for youtube, click on "profile type specific options" and change that to include spaces

2 - create a new custom profile field and select "url (link)" for the field type

Survival Bill
Registered User
Posts: 248
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2007 3:03 am
Contact:

Re: install of 3.1 and have my first error (Lucky me)

Post by Survival Bill » Sun Nov 02, 2014 2:17 am

1
Last edited by Survival Bill on Sat Oct 10, 2015 6:03 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Survival Bill
Registered User
Posts: 248
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2007 3:03 am
Contact:

Re: install of 3.1 and have my first error (Lucky me)

Post by Survival Bill » Sun Nov 02, 2014 2:35 am

1
Last edited by Survival Bill on Sat Oct 10, 2015 6:03 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
KevC
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 68867
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2004 10:44 am
Location: Oxford, UK
Contact:

Re: install of 3.1 and have my first error (Lucky me)

Post by KevC » Sun Nov 02, 2014 9:35 am

Post it in the bug tracker.
It may be that the nature of their links changed (as is often the case) since the original code for those fields was added.
-:|:- Support Request Template -:|:-
Image
Cheap UK Hosting
"In the land of the blind the little green bloke with no pupils is king - init!"

Locked

Return to “[3.1.x] Support Forum”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests