how do you add favicon to browser tab in 3.1.2?

Get help with installation and running phpBB 3.1.x here. Please do not post bug reports, feature requests, or extension related questions here.
Scam Warning
Forum rules
READ: phpBB.com Board-Wide Rules and Regulations

NOTE: phpBB 3.1.x is at its End of Life stage and support will NOT be provided after July 1st, 2018.
User avatar
peteetongman
Registered User
Posts: 395
Joined: Wed Jul 17, 2013 4:29 am
Location: Atlanta GA USA

how do you add favicon to browser tab in 3.1.2?

Post by peteetongman »

I see a topic on how to do it in previous versions. just wondering if it's the same procedure

thanks

User avatar
Cryo
Registered User
Posts: 455
Joined: Tue Oct 21, 2003 5:28 pm
Location: Canada
Name: Chris
Contact:

Re: how do you add favicon to browser tab in 3.1.2?

Post by Cryo »

I just tested this on my forum (3.1.2) and seems to work fine.
https://www.phpbb.com/support/docs/en/3 ... a-favicon/

User avatar
david63
Registered User
Posts: 17256
Joined: Thu Dec 19, 2002 8:08 am
Location: Lancashire, UK
Name: David Wood
Contact:

Re: how do you add favicon to browser tab in 3.1.2?

Post by david63 »

I believe that with modern browsers you need do nothing more than put a favicon in the root of your forum
David
Remember: You only know what you know and - you don't know what you don't know!
My CDB Contributions | How to install an extension
I will not be accepting translations for any of my extensions in Github - please post any translations in the appropriate topic.
No support requests via PM or email as they will be ignored

User avatar
Dragosvr92
Registered User
Posts: 1450
Joined: Sat Sep 12, 2009 7:27 am
Location: Romania
Name: Dragos Valentin Rădulescu
Contact:

Re: how do you add favicon to browser tab in 3.1.2?

Post by Dragosvr92 »

As David said, you can just place the favicon.ico in the root of your domain and it will be loaded automatically. No need for any html edits. But i prefer to do them anyway. If you want to have a normal icon and an animated icon, you can do what i did here....

Code: Select all

<link rel="icon" href="/favicon.ico" type="image/x-icon" />
<link rel="shortcut icon" href="/favicon.gif" type="image/gif" />
The first icon will be loaded by default, and if the browser supports animated gifs, it will overwrite it with the second favicon. Only works in Firefox really.... IE11 And Chrome simply load the .ico only....
Formerly known as TheKiller
3.0| Avatar on Memberlist 1.0.3

User avatar
david63
Registered User
Posts: 17256
Joined: Thu Dec 19, 2002 8:08 am
Location: Lancashire, UK
Name: David Wood
Contact:

Re: how do you add favicon to browser tab in 3.1.2?

Post by david63 »

David
Remember: You only know what you know and - you don't know what you don't know!
My CDB Contributions | How to install an extension
I will not be accepting translations for any of my extensions in Github - please post any translations in the appropriate topic.
No support requests via PM or email as they will be ignored

1SG_Duke
Registered User
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun May 10, 2015 1:52 pm

Re: how do you add favicon to browser tab in 3.1.2?

Post by 1SG_Duke »

Hello, sorry to re-up this post but i install your extension david63 on my forum. But how does it work ??

User avatar
Oyabun1
Former Team Member
Posts: 23162
Joined: Sun May 17, 2009 1:05 pm
Location: Australia
Name: Bill

Re: how do you add favicon to browser tab in 3.1.2?

Post by Oyabun1 »

Looks like you place your favicon.ico file in the root of your board installation on the server and install the extension.
                      Support Request Template
3.0.x: Knowledge Base Styles Support MOD Requests
3.1.x: Knowledge BaseStyles SupportExtension Requests

User avatar
Lumpy Burgertushie
Registered User
Posts: 67245
Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 3:11 am
Contact:

Re: how do you add favicon to browser tab in 3.1.2?

Post by Lumpy Burgertushie »

then why do you need the extension? if you put your favicon file in the root of your board it will work anyway.


robert
I'm baaaaaccckkkk. still doing work on donation basis. PM your needs.

Premium phpBB 3.3 Styles by PlanetStyles.net

If nobody is in the forest, does a tree really fall?

User avatar
Oyabun1
Former Team Member
Posts: 23162
Joined: Sun May 17, 2009 1:05 pm
Location: Australia
Name: Bill

Re: how do you add favicon to browser tab in 3.1.2?

Post by Oyabun1 »

Older browser versions may not automatically read the favicon so adding the markup helps with those.
                      Support Request Template
3.0.x: Knowledge Base Styles Support MOD Requests
3.1.x: Knowledge BaseStyles SupportExtension Requests

1SG_Duke
Registered User
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun May 10, 2015 1:52 pm

Re: how do you add favicon to browser tab in 3.1.2?

Post by 1SG_Duke »

Oyabun1 wrote:Looks like you place your favicon.ico file in the root of your board installation on the server and install the extension.
Thx it's works now. ;)

User avatar
nuworld
Registered User
Posts: 339
Joined: Sat Oct 17, 2009 8:28 pm

Re: how do you add favicon to browser tab in 3.1.2?

Post by nuworld »

david63 wrote:Or try this extension
Where are the settings located in the ACP?
I have installed this extension on my test site and see no ACP settings.

User avatar
david63
Registered User
Posts: 17256
Joined: Thu Dec 19, 2002 8:08 am
Location: Lancashire, UK
Name: David Wood
Contact:

Re: how do you add favicon to browser tab in 3.1.2?

Post by david63 »

nuworld wrote:I have installed this extension on my test site and see no ACP settings.
There are no ACP settings - just upload your favicon to your board root
David
Remember: You only know what you know and - you don't know what you don't know!
My CDB Contributions | How to install an extension
I will not be accepting translations for any of my extensions in Github - please post any translations in the appropriate topic.
No support requests via PM or email as they will be ignored

User avatar
nuworld
Registered User
Posts: 339
Joined: Sat Oct 17, 2009 8:28 pm

Re: how do you add favicon to browser tab in 3.1.2?

Post by nuworld »

david63 wrote:
nuworld wrote:I have installed this extension on my test site and see no ACP settings.
There are no ACP settings - just upload your favicon to your board root
Thanks David, It works great now.

User avatar
durangod
Registered User
Posts: 678
Joined: Tue Nov 03, 2009 1:26 pm

Re: how do you add favicon to browser tab in 3.1.2?

Post by durangod »

Hi David,

In github you said you added ACP support for this but i dont see a option in any of the tabs. Is there one or is it sill just activate extension and put icon in root?

Thanks :)

User avatar
david63
Registered User
Posts: 17256
Joined: Thu Dec 19, 2002 8:08 am
Location: Lancashire, UK
Name: David Wood
Contact:

Re: how do you add favicon to browser tab in 3.1.2?

Post by david63 »

[quote="durangod"In github you said you added ACP support for this but i dont see a option in any of the tabs. Is there one or is it sill just activate extension and put icon in root?[/quote]
It's a long time since I looked at this extension and from memory the ACP support is to add the favicon on ACP pages (I think I found some situations where this was not always happening)
David
Remember: You only know what you know and - you don't know what you don't know!
My CDB Contributions | How to install an extension
I will not be accepting translations for any of my extensions in Github - please post any translations in the appropriate topic.
No support requests via PM or email as they will be ignored

Locked

Return to “[3.1.x] Support Forum”