"Information: The specified search backend doesn't exist."

Get help with installation and running phpBB 3.1.x here. Please do not post bug reports, feature requests, or extension related questions here.
Get Involved
Forum rules
READ: phpBB.com Board-Wide Rules and Regulations

NOTE: phpBB 3.1.x is at its End of Life stage and support will NOT be provided after July 1st, 2018.
Vicente1988
Registered User
Posts: 27
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2015 1:00 am

"Information: The specified search backend doesn't exist."

Post by Vicente1988 » Sat Jan 10, 2015 1:16 am

Support Request Template
What version of phpBB are you using? phpBB 3.1.2
What is your board's URL? http://foro.tatunews.net
Who do you host your board with? No answer given
How did you install your board? I used the download package from phpBB.com
What is the most recent action performed on your board? Update from a previous version of phpBB3
Is registration required to reproduce this issue? No
Do you have any MODs installed? No
What version of phpBB3 did you update from? phpBB 3.0.0
What styles do you currently have installed? prosilver
What language(s) is your board currently using? spanish
Which database type/version are you using? I Don't Know
What is your level of experience? New to PHP but not phpBB
When did your problem begin? When I updated the version of my forum.
Please describe your problem. I updated the version of my forum, so all MODs were deleted because of the new characteristics of the new version. Everything went perfect, but I got a problem when I post a new topic or message. I can post it, but when I submit the post the forum says "Information: The specified search backend doesn't exist.". It's an error, but the post were published correctly. The same goes when you want to edit and delete a message/post. Also, this problem is connected with the latest messages that I have active in the board index. If I delete a post, I still can see the post's title.
Generated by SRT Generator

User avatar
Oyabun1
Former Team Member
Posts: 23162
Joined: Sun May 17, 2009 1:05 pm
Location: Australia
Name: Bill

Re: "Information: The specified search backend doesn't exist."

Post by Oyabun1 » Sat Jan 10, 2015 3:19 am

Which search backend is set for the board?
                      Support Request Template
3.0.x: Knowledge Base Styles Support MOD Requests
3.1.x: Knowledge BaseStyles SupportExtension Requests

Vicente1988
Registered User
Posts: 27
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2015 1:00 am

Re: "Information: The specified search backend doesn't exist."

Post by Vicente1988 » Sat Jan 10, 2015 5:04 am

Thanks for your answer, but I don't understand your question very well. If I submit, edit or delete a new topic or message, the forum should show me up a successful message, right? I didn't touch anything about configuration.

User avatar
Oyabun1
Former Team Member
Posts: 23162
Joined: Sun May 17, 2009 1:05 pm
Location: Australia
Name: Bill

Re: "Information: The specified search backend doesn't exist."

Post by Oyabun1 » Sat Jan 10, 2015 7:25 am

Sorry, since you had installed a pile of MODs I just assumed you would have some knowledge of basic board settings.

What is this setting?
ACP > GENERAL > Server Configuration Search settings > Search backend
                      Support Request Template
3.0.x: Knowledge Base Styles Support MOD Requests
3.1.x: Knowledge BaseStyles SupportExtension Requests

Vicente1988
Registered User
Posts: 27
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2015 1:00 am

Re: "Information: The specified search backend doesn't exist."

Post by Vicente1988 » Sat Jan 10, 2015 3:17 pm

No problem ;)

It says "MySQL Fulltext".

User avatar
Oyabun1
Former Team Member
Posts: 23162
Joined: Sun May 17, 2009 1:05 pm
Location: Australia
Name: Bill

Re: "Information: The specified search backend doesn't exist."

Post by Oyabun1 » Sat Jan 10, 2015 8:47 pm

What is?
ACP > GENERAL > Board Statistics > Database server
                      Support Request Template
3.0.x: Knowledge Base Styles Support MOD Requests
3.1.x: Knowledge BaseStyles SupportExtension Requests

Vicente1988
Registered User
Posts: 27
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2015 1:00 am

Re: "Information: The specified search backend doesn't exist."

Post by Vicente1988 » Sun Jan 11, 2015 2:48 am

It says "MySQL 5.5.40-cll".

Vicente1988
Registered User
Posts: 27
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2015 1:00 am

Re: "Information: The specified search backend doesn't exist."

Post by Vicente1988 » Mon Jan 12, 2015 3:21 am

Please, I need help with this.

User avatar
Oyabun1
Former Team Member
Posts: 23162
Joined: Sun May 17, 2009 1:05 pm
Location: Australia
Name: Bill

Re: "Information: The specified search backend doesn't exist."

Post by Oyabun1 » Mon Jan 12, 2015 8:21 am

If it's showing a search backend it's strange it says one doesn't exist.

Run this SQL query and post the result

Code: Select all

SELECT config_value FROM phpbb_config WHERE config_name = 'search_type'
Change phpbb_ if that is not your table prefix.

See Executing SQL Queries in phpMyAdmin if you are unfamiliar with running queries.
                      Support Request Template
3.0.x: Knowledge Base Styles Support MOD Requests
3.1.x: Knowledge BaseStyles SupportExtension Requests

Vicente1988
Registered User
Posts: 27
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2015 1:00 am

Re: "Information: The specified search backend doesn't exist."

Post by Vicente1988 » Tue Jan 13, 2015 12:04 am

Ok, I think I did it well.

This table does not contain a unique column. Grid edit, checkbox, Edit, Copy and Delete features are not available.

SELECT config_value
FROM phpbb_config
WHERE config_name = 'search_type'
LIMIT 0 , 30

+ Options
config_value
phpbb_search_fulltext_native

User avatar
Oyabun1
Former Team Member
Posts: 23162
Joined: Sun May 17, 2009 1:05 pm
Location: Australia
Name: Bill

Re: "Information: The specified search backend doesn't exist."

Post by Oyabun1 » Tue Jan 13, 2015 7:03 am

Using FTP or SSH open the board’s /cache folder on the server and delete everything except index.htm and .htaccess.

Then check this again:
Oyabun1 wrote:ACP > GENERAL > Board Statistics > Database server
                      Support Request Template
3.0.x: Knowledge Base Styles Support MOD Requests
3.1.x: Knowledge BaseStyles SupportExtension Requests

Vicente1988
Registered User
Posts: 27
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2015 1:00 am

Re: "Information: The specified search backend doesn't exist."

Post by Vicente1988 » Tue Jan 13, 2015 10:29 pm

Oh I think I deleted the index.php file, but the forum is still working so I think there is not a problem with that. The database server says MySQL 5.5.40-cll and the problem is still there. Also, on cache file is a folder which I can't delete. Well... It appears againe when I deleted the folder.

User avatar
Oyabun1
Former Team Member
Posts: 23162
Joined: Sun May 17, 2009 1:05 pm
Location: Australia
Name: Bill

Re: "Information: The specified search backend doesn't exist."

Post by Oyabun1 » Wed Jan 14, 2015 1:20 am

Vicente1988 wrote:Oh I think I deleted the index.php file, but the forum is still working so I think there is not a problem with that.
Which index.php file and why? If you delete the board's index.php the board will not work correctly.
Vicente1988 wrote:It appears againe when I deleted the folder.
That is what is supposed to happen. The cache is a temporary store of frequently accessed files and database queries. Deleting the contents ensures it is rebuilt with the current data.
                      Support Request Template
3.0.x: Knowledge Base Styles Support MOD Requests
3.1.x: Knowledge BaseStyles SupportExtension Requests

Vicente1988
Registered User
Posts: 27
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2015 1:00 am

Re: "Information: The specified search backend doesn't exist."

Post by Vicente1988 » Wed Jan 14, 2015 3:15 am

Yes, index.php file and I made a mistake reading your comment, but the forum is working as always. I only have the .htaccese file in the "cache" folder.

User avatar
Lumpy Burgertushie
Registered User
Posts: 66561
Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 3:11 am
Contact:

Re: "Information: The specified search backend doesn't exist."

Post by Lumpy Burgertushie » Wed Jan 14, 2015 4:22 am

ok, just for clarity. there is no index.php file in the cache folder. there is a index.htm file that is blank.

there is a .htaccess file.

if you have accidentally deleted either or both of them, you should replace them from the cache folder in the copy of phpbb that you should still have on your computer after you installed phpbb at the beginning.


robert
I'm baaaaaccckkkk. still doing work on donation basis. PM your needs.

Premium phpBB 3.2 Styles by PlanetStyles.net

If a tree falls in the forest and nobody is there, does it make a sound?

Locked

Return to “[3.1.x] Support Forum”