Version 3.12 install error

Get help with installation and running phpBB 3.1.x here. Please do not post bug reports, feature requests, or extension related questions here.
Ideas Centre
Forum rules
READ: phpBB.com Board-Wide Rules and Regulations

NOTE: phpBB 3.1.x is at its End of Life stage and support will NOT be provided after July 1st, 2018.
User avatar
Andrew Clarkson
Registered User
Posts: 244
Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2003 6:05 pm
Location: Morecambe, England, UK
Contact:

Version 3.12 install error

Post by Andrew Clarkson »

All,

My old forum table prefix began with a number, which it wouldn't let me use, so I chose another, and the board has now been installed, but with no content.

Any ideas?

Thanks. ;)
Andrew Clarkson

Titanic Titanic
User avatar
Oyabun1
Former Team Member
Posts: 23162
Joined: Sun May 17, 2009 1:05 pm
Location: Australia
Name: Bill

Re: Version 3.12 install error

Post by Oyabun1 »

3.12 isn't a phpBB version, are you talking about 3.0.12 or 3.1.2?

If you are upgrading why are you installing a new board?
                      Support Request Template
3.0.x: Knowledge Base Styles Support MOD Requests
3.1.x: Knowledge BaseStyles SupportExtension Requests
User avatar
Andrew Clarkson
Registered User
Posts: 244
Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2003 6:05 pm
Location: Morecambe, England, UK
Contact:

Re: Version 3.12 install error

Post by Andrew Clarkson »

Don't know, perhaps read docs wrong, sorry!
Andrew Clarkson

Titanic Titanic
User avatar
5hocK
Registered User
Posts: 3011
Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2011 7:00 pm
Location: England

Re: Version 3.12 install error

Post by 5hocK »

If you mean the board that can be got to through your signature then it's 3.1.2
Andrew Clarkson wrote:..now been installed, but with no content.
if you mean you're seeing
Information

Sorry but this board is currently unavailable.
Then you need to delete/rename the folder called install via ftp
A thread is pretty much a topic. Stop with the pedantics will ya.
User avatar
Andrew Clarkson
Registered User
Posts: 244
Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2003 6:05 pm
Location: Morecambe, England, UK
Contact:

Re: Version 3.12 install error

Post by Andrew Clarkson »

no, that's not the issue, I had to use a letter rather than a number for the prefix, my old one begin with a number, so I had to choose something new in order to do the update. :shock:
Andrew Clarkson

Titanic Titanic
User avatar
stevemaury
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 51817
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2006 12:21 am
Location: The U.P.
Name: Steve
Contact:

Re: Version 3.12 install error

Post by stevemaury »

You should not have created a new database, which is what you did. Now, your config.php info on the table prefix does not match that of the old database. You need to point config.php to the database containing data and use that database for the upgrade.
For REALLY good and VERY inexpensive hosting CLICK HERE

I can stop all your spam. I can upgrade or update your Board. PM or email me. (Paid support)
User avatar
david63
Registered User
Posts: 18868
Joined: Thu Dec 19, 2002 8:08 am
Location: Lancashire, UK
Contact:

Re: Version 3.12 install error

Post by david63 »

My guess would be that you have created a new database which is why it is empty - you should still have your "old" database on your server, or you have two sets of tables in the database with different table prefixes. If you can let us know which scenario is relevant then we will be in a better position to help.
David
Remember: You only know what you know and - you don't know what you don't know!
My CDB Contributions | How to install an extension
I will not be accepting translations for any of my extensions in Github - please post any translations in the appropriate topic.
No support requests via PM or email as they will be ignored
User avatar
Andrew Clarkson
Registered User
Posts: 244
Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2003 6:05 pm
Location: Morecambe, England, UK
Contact:

Re: Version 3.12 install error

Post by Andrew Clarkson »

david63 wrote:My guess would be that you have created a new database which is why it is empty - you should still have your "old" database on your server, or you have two sets of tables in the database with different table prefixes. If you can let us know which scenario is relevant then we will be in a better position to help.
I think perhaps when I try to reference the old tables, the following message is dsplayed;

Code: Select all

Fatal error: Uncaught exception 'Twig_Error_Loader' with message 'Unable to find template "message_body.html" (looked into: ).' in /home/titanict/public_html/forum/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Loader/Filesystem.php:202 Stack trace: #0 /home/titanict/public_html/forum/phpbb/template/twig/loader.php(106): Twig_Loader_Filesystem->findTemplate('message_body.ht...') #1 /home/titanict/public_html/forum/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Loader/Filesystem.php(138): phpbb\template\twig\loader->findTemplate('message_body.ht...') #2 /home/titanict/public_html/forum/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Environment.php(265): Twig_Loader_Filesystem->getCacheKey('message_body.ht...') #3 /home/titanict/public_html/forum/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Environment.php(312): Twig_Environment->getTemplateClass('message_body.ht...', NULL) #4 /home/titanict/public_html/forum/phpbb/template/twig/environment.php(151): Twig_Environment->loadTemplate('message_body.ht...', NULL) #5 /home/titanict/public_html/forum/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Environment.php(299): phpbb\templat in /home/titanict/public_html/forum/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Loader/Filesystem.php on line 202
Andrew Clarkson

Titanic Titanic
User avatar
Andrew Clarkson
Registered User
Posts: 244
Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2003 6:05 pm
Location: Morecambe, England, UK
Contact:

Re: Version 3.12 install error

Post by Andrew Clarkson »

Any suggestions or ideas?
Andrew Clarkson

Titanic Titanic
User avatar
david63
Registered User
Posts: 18868
Joined: Thu Dec 19, 2002 8:08 am
Location: Lancashire, UK
Contact:

Re: Version 3.12 install error

Post by david63 »

That error is saying that it cannot find a template file Unable to find template "message_body.html. You could try re-uploading the template files and deleting all the files in the cache folder except .htaccess and index.htm
David
Remember: You only know what you know and - you don't know what you don't know!
My CDB Contributions | How to install an extension
I will not be accepting translations for any of my extensions in Github - please post any translations in the appropriate topic.
No support requests via PM or email as they will be ignored
User avatar
Andrew Clarkson
Registered User
Posts: 244
Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2003 6:05 pm
Location: Morecambe, England, UK
Contact:

Re: Version 3.12 install error

Post by Andrew Clarkson »

Here's the problem.

Old config.php;

Code: Select all

<?php
// phpBB 3.0.x auto-generated configuration file
// Do not change anything in this file!
$dbms = 'mysql';
$dbhost = '46.32.253.241';
$dbport = '3306';
$dbname = '***';
$dbuser = '***';
$dbpasswd = '***';

$table_prefix = '2011_';
$acm_type = 'file';
$load_extensions = '';

@define('PHPBB_INSTALLED', true);
// @define('DEBUG', true);
// @define('DEBUG_EXTRA', true);
?>
New config.php;

Code: Select all

<?php
// phpBB 3.0.x auto-generated configuration file
// Do not change anything in this file!
$dbms = 'mysql';
$dbhost = '46.32.253.241';
$dbport = '3306';
$dbname = '***';
$dbuser = '***';
$dbpasswd = ***';

$table_prefix = 'phpbb2015_';
$acm_type = 'file';
$load_extensions = '';

@define('PHPBB_INSTALLED', true);
// @define('DEBUG', true);
// @define('DEBUG_EXTRA', true);
?>
Andrew Clarkson

Titanic Titanic
User avatar
david63
Registered User
Posts: 18868
Joined: Thu Dec 19, 2002 8:08 am
Location: Lancashire, UK
Contact:

Re: Version 3.12 install error

Post by david63 »

david63 wrote:My guess would be that you have created a new database which is why it is empty - you should still have your "old" database on your server, or you have two sets of tables in the database with different table prefixes. If you can let us know which scenario is relevant then we will be in a better position to help.
David
Remember: You only know what you know and - you don't know what you don't know!
My CDB Contributions | How to install an extension
I will not be accepting translations for any of my extensions in Github - please post any translations in the appropriate topic.
No support requests via PM or email as they will be ignored
User avatar
Andrew Clarkson
Registered User
Posts: 244
Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2003 6:05 pm
Location: Morecambe, England, UK
Contact:

Re: Version 3.12 install error

Post by Andrew Clarkson »

David,

When I went to update the forum, the setup process wouldn't let me use a number as the first letter on the table prefix, which was 2011_, so I had to choose a new prefix for the setup, phpbb2015. This allowed me to install the software, but without any content.
Andrew Clarkson

Titanic Titanic
User avatar
david63
Registered User
Posts: 18868
Joined: Thu Dec 19, 2002 8:08 am
Location: Lancashire, UK
Contact:

Re: Version 3.12 install error

Post by david63 »

What I am trying to establish is whether you still have the old database and if you have is it a separate one, or have the two sets of tables been put into the same database.
David
Remember: You only know what you know and - you don't know what you don't know!
My CDB Contributions | How to install an extension
I will not be accepting translations for any of my extensions in Github - please post any translations in the appropriate topic.
No support requests via PM or email as they will be ignored
User avatar
Lumpy Burgertushie
Registered User
Posts: 68495
Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 3:11 am
Contact:

Re: Version 3.12 install error

Post by Lumpy Burgertushie »

simply change your new config.php file to this: $table_prefix = '2011_';

save it. purge the cache.

done
I'm baaaaaccckkkk. still doing work on donation basis. PM your needs.

Premium phpBB 3.3 Styles by PlanetStyles.net

If nobody is in the forest, does a tree really fall?
Locked

Return to “[3.1.x] Support Forum”