How do I make the links inside CODE BBCode Clickable?

Get help with installation and running phpBB 3.1.x here. Please do not post bug reports, feature requests, or extension related questions here.
Scam Warning
Forum rules
READ: phpBB.com Board-Wide Rules and Regulations

NOTE: phpBB 3.1.x is at its End of Life stage and support will NOT be provided after July 1st, 2018.
John45
Registered User
Posts: 199
Joined: Sat Jun 08, 2013 2:54 am

How do I make the links inside CODE BBCode Clickable?

Post by John45 » Sun Jul 12, 2015 7:58 am

Is there a way to phrase the links inside the

Code: Select all

 bbcode as hyperlinks?

I disabled the [URL] bbcode because a lot of users and spammers love to advertise and it just looks like spam. 

I just love how a link is isolated in a white box; it looks nice and simple.  :D

User avatar
Oyabun1
Former Team Member
Posts: 23162
Joined: Sun May 17, 2009 1:05 pm
Location: Australia
Name: Bill

Re: How do I make the links inside CODE BBCode Clickable?

Post by Oyabun1 » Sun Jul 12, 2015 9:41 am

Not on a standard board. Would sort of defeat one of the purposes of the BBCode.
                      Support Request Template
3.0.x: Knowledge Base Styles Support MOD Requests
3.1.x: Knowledge BaseStyles SupportExtension Requests

User avatar
John connor
Registered User
Posts: 2330
Joined: Fri Nov 14, 2014 5:14 pm
Location: U S Of A
Name: Aaron
Contact:

Re: How do I make the links inside CODE BBCode Clickable?

Post by John connor » Sun Jul 12, 2015 11:11 am

If you have spam problems consider the sortables captcha extension or the script in my sig which is quit powerful, but you need to know a few things. The sortables captcha would be the best for noobs.

Do you not moderate the first post of new registrations?

User avatar
stevemaury
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 50916
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2006 12:21 am
Location: The U.P.
Name: Steve
Contact:

Re: How do I make the links inside CODE BBCode Clickable?

Post by stevemaury » Sun Jul 12, 2015 3:37 pm

What you are doing will be ineffective. It will not stop linked images or magic urls.

Please visit Preventing Spam in phpBB3 for various options for fighting spam in phpBB.
For REALLY good and VERY inexpensive hosting CLICK HERE

I can stop all your spam. I can upgrade or update your Board. PM or email me. (Paid support)

John45
Registered User
Posts: 199
Joined: Sat Jun 08, 2013 2:54 am

Re: How do I make the links inside CODE BBCode Clickable?

Post by John45 » Sun Jul 12, 2015 6:18 pm

Oyabun1 wrote:Not on a standard board. Would sort of defeat one of the purposes of the BBCode.
I know, but i want to make it easier for mobile users to click links inside the CODE, so could you guys please help me. ;)

User avatar
Lumpy Burgertushie
Registered User
Posts: 66898
Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 3:11 am
Contact:

Re: How do I make the links inside CODE BBCode Clickable?

Post by Lumpy Burgertushie » Mon Jul 13, 2015 12:28 am

that doesn't make sense. the whole point of the "code" bbcode is to NOT parse links or code etc.

if someone posts a link like this: http://whatever.com look, it automatically becomes a link.

even if you disable the "url" bbcode, that does not affect this process.

not sure what you are hoping to achieve with all this.

If spammers is your problem just stop them from registering in the first place and if it is valid members then warn them about it and ban them if needed.


I think you are making this way more difficult than it needs to be.

luck,
robert
I'm baaaaaccckkkk. still doing work on donation basis. PM your needs.

Premium phpBB 3.2 Styles by PlanetStyles.net

If a tree falls in the forest and nobody is there, does it make a sound?

John45
Registered User
Posts: 199
Joined: Sat Jun 08, 2013 2:54 am

Re: How do I make the links inside CODE BBCode Clickable?

Post by John45 » Tue Jul 14, 2015 5:51 am

Lumpy Burgertushie wrote:that doesn't make sense. the whole point of the "code" bbcode is to NOT parse links or code etc.

if someone posts a link like this: http://whatever.com look, it automatically becomes a link.

even if you disable the "url" bbcode, that does not affect this process.

not sure what you are hoping to achieve with all this.

If spammers is your problem just stop them from registering in the first place and if it is valid members then warn them about it and ban them if needed.


I think you are making this way more difficult than it needs to be.

luck,
robert
I'm not sure why you guys are being, so belligerent. Can you guys be nice enough to help me phrase the urls inside CODED links? :D

User avatar
Mick
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 21724
Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2008 9:49 am
Location: Cardiff

Re: How do I make the links inside CODE BBCode Clickable?

Post by Mick » Tue Jul 14, 2015 6:52 am

Oyabun1 wrote:Not on a standard board
You would need an extension. Have a look in the Extensions Database. If you can't find one that is suitable you could look in [3.1.x] Extensions in Development, but note that extensions in development are not intended for a live board. If there is nothing there that suits your purpose you could post in [3.1.x] Extension Requests.
"The more connected we get the more alone we become" - Kyle Broflovski

User avatar
stevemaury
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 50916
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2006 12:21 am
Location: The U.P.
Name: Steve
Contact:

Re: How do I make the links inside CODE BBCode Clickable?

Post by stevemaury » Tue Jul 14, 2015 10:46 pm

No one is being belligerent. The

Code: Select all

 tags exist for the SOLE purpose of allowing code and links to be posted without being parsed.
 
 Perhaps if you told us what you were trying to achieve - the result, not the method - we can help you more.
For REALLY good and VERY inexpensive hosting CLICK HERE

I can stop all your spam. I can upgrade or update your Board. PM or email me. (Paid support)

John45
Registered User
Posts: 199
Joined: Sat Jun 08, 2013 2:54 am

Re: How do I make the links inside CODE BBCode Clickable?

Post by John45 » Fri Jul 17, 2015 8:33 am

Lumpy Burgertushie wrote:ah, see, now we know what you are trying to do it is simple to help you.

as was mentioned above, you really should request an extension to do this.

one way to do it would be to edit the bbcode.html file for your style(s).

find this:

Code: Select all

<!-- BEGIN url --><a href="{URL}" class="postlink">{DESCRIPTION}</a><!-- END url -->
and change it to this:

Code: Select all

<!-- BEGIN url --><div style="padding:5px; border:1px solid #000000; background-color: #ffffff; margin: 0 auto;"><a href="{URL}" class="postlink">{DESCRIPTION}</a></div><!-- END url -->
that is not the code box but it gives you what you wanted I believe.

you can edit the css to make the box look like whatever you wish.


robert
Not what i wanted, the problem is that all the links on my board are CODED, so I would have to change all the topics and posts. :|

It worked on phpbb 3.0.X; the structure may have changed, but there should be a way. :(

User avatar
Lumpy Burgertushie
Registered User
Posts: 66898
Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 3:11 am
Contact:

Re: How do I make the links inside CODE BBCode Clickable?

Post by Lumpy Burgertushie » Fri Jul 17, 2015 3:18 pm

can you give us a link to a post on your board that shows what you are talking about?


robert
I'm baaaaaccckkkk. still doing work on donation basis. PM your needs.

Premium phpBB 3.2 Styles by PlanetStyles.net

If a tree falls in the forest and nobody is there, does it make a sound?

John45
Registered User
Posts: 199
Joined: Sat Jun 08, 2013 2:54 am

Re: How do I make the links inside CODE BBCode Clickable?

Post by John45 » Fri Jul 17, 2015 5:43 pm

Lumpy Burgertushie wrote:can you give us a link to a post on your board that shows what you are talking about?


robert
It's not just one post, it's all of them; I enacted a rule that forced users to CODE all their links.

Edit: Here's what i want: viewtopic.php?f=72&t=1536535#p12936258

User avatar
david63
Registered User
Posts: 16798
Joined: Thu Dec 19, 2002 8:08 am
Location: Lancashire, UK
Name: David Wood
Contact:

Re: How do I make the links inside CODE BBCode Clickable?

Post by david63 » Fri Jul 17, 2015 5:57 pm

John45 wrote:Edit: Here's what i want: viewtopic.php?f=72&t=1536535#p12936258
Then do that edit in your current files.
David
Remember: You only know what you know and - you don't know what you don't know!
My CDB Contributions | How to install an extension
I will not be accepting translations for any of my extensions in Github - please post any translations in the appropriate topic.
No support requests via PM or email as they will be ignored

John45
Registered User
Posts: 199
Joined: Sat Jun 08, 2013 2:54 am

Re: How do I make the links inside CODE BBCode Clickable?

Post by John45 » Fri Jul 17, 2015 5:59 pm

david63 wrote:
John45 wrote:Edit: Here's what i want: viewtopic.php?f=72&t=1536535#p12936258
Then do that edit in your current files.
Sorry, but the code that needs to be replaced is different.

User avatar
david63
Registered User
Posts: 16798
Joined: Thu Dec 19, 2002 8:08 am
Location: Lancashire, UK
Name: David Wood
Contact:

Re: How do I make the links inside CODE BBCode Clickable?

Post by david63 » Fri Jul 17, 2015 6:01 pm

In what way?
David
Remember: You only know what you know and - you don't know what you don't know!
My CDB Contributions | How to install an extension
I will not be accepting translations for any of my extensions in Github - please post any translations in the appropriate topic.
No support requests via PM or email as they will be ignored

Locked

Return to “[3.1.x] Support Forum”