Locked out of ACP after change of Host

Get help with installation and running phpBB 3.1.x here. Please do not post bug reports, feature requests, or extension related questions here.
Get Involved
Forum rules
READ: phpBB.com Board-Wide Rules and Regulations

NOTE: phpBB 3.1.x is at its End of Life stage and support will NOT be provided after July 1st, 2018.
Locked
zzafio
Registered User
Posts: 38
Joined: Wed May 03, 2006 12:39 pm
Location: Cordoba Spain (ex Cheltenham)

Locked out of ACP after change of Host

Post by zzafio »

I recently changed host (after 12 years!). The phpBB version was last updated in Feb 2015, but I can´t get in to see the exact version! I will be updating to 3.1.5 asap.

My forum at www.sloe.biz/pip/ seems to display correctly. And I can login as myself. But when I click the ACP link at bottom of the page I get this error:
General Error
SQL ERROR [ mysql4 ]
Access denied for user ‘xxxxx’@‘localhost' (using password: YES) [1045]
An sql error occurred while fetching this page. Please contact an administrator if this problem persists
My new host suggested:
It looks like you are using the main cPanel/DB user to connect to the database. If your cPanel password has ever changed, then this would have stopped working.

I would suggest creating a new DB user through cPanel and updating your site's config files to reflect this.
I do have full access to my cPanel. What steps should I take to create a new user, and update config etc? Or any other ideas Please?
"Don't write dirty words on walls
if you can't spell ..." (Tom Lehrer
)
User avatar
Oyabun1
Former Team Member
Posts: 23162
Joined: Sun May 17, 2009 1:05 pm
Location: Australia
Name: Bill

Re: Locked out of ACP after change of Host

Post by Oyabun1 »

Have you altered the board's config.php file after changing hosts?
                      Support Request Template
3.0.x: Knowledge Base Styles Support MOD Requests
3.1.x: Knowledge BaseStyles SupportExtension Requests
zzafio
Registered User
Posts: 38
Joined: Wed May 03, 2006 12:39 pm
Location: Cordoba Spain (ex Cheltenham)

Re: Locked out of ACP after change of Host

Post by zzafio »

I haven´t changed the config.php yet as I´m not sure exactly what to do, or what to change.

I can open and edit the file... but would appreciate any advice on what to change. Thanks.
"Don't write dirty words on walls
if you can't spell ..." (Tom Lehrer
)
User avatar
Mick
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 22753
Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2008 9:49 am
Location: Watching cricket probably.

Re: Locked out of ACP after change of Host

Post by Mick »

Your config.php has to reflect the database you're using right now, presumably Bill is talking about Knowledge Base - Rebuilding Your config.php File
"The more connected we get the more alone we become" - Kyle Broflovski©
User avatar
Oyabun1
Former Team Member
Posts: 23162
Joined: Sun May 17, 2009 1:05 pm
Location: Australia
Name: Bill

Re: Locked out of ACP after change of Host

Post by Oyabun1 »

I couldn't connect to your board before, but that may have been on my end.

Your board is up, so it must be connected to the database, meaning the config.php file must have already been changed.
zzafio wrote:What steps should I take to create a new user,
Ask your host. It depends how they have it set up.
zzafio wrote:and update config etc
You download, backup and open /config.php and change the the values of
$dbuser = 'new database user name';
$dbpasswd = 'new database user password';
Save and upload back to the server.

Then open the board's cache folder on the server and delete the container_dotslash.php and container_dotslashdotdotslash.php files.

Make sure you are only using a proper plain text editor to work on text files, see Tools needed to set up and customise phpBB for some suggestions. Using an inappropriate editor will lead to problems. Text files should be saved with the encoding UTF-8 without BOM.
                      Support Request Template
3.0.x: Knowledge Base Styles Support MOD Requests
3.1.x: Knowledge BaseStyles SupportExtension Requests
zzafio
Registered User
Posts: 38
Joined: Wed May 03, 2006 12:39 pm
Location: Cordoba Spain (ex Cheltenham)

Re: Locked out of ACP after change of Host

Post by zzafio »

Thanks to Mick and Oyabun1 for your very helpful advice... which I'll carefully follow tomorrow. Looks promising! Gracias!
"Don't write dirty words on walls
if you can't spell ..." (Tom Lehrer
)
zzafio
Registered User
Posts: 38
Joined: Wed May 03, 2006 12:39 pm
Location: Cordoba Spain (ex Cheltenham)

Re: Locked out of ACP after change of Host

Post by zzafio »

Very sorry to say I tried to follow the above advice, but failed. Since then I have had my head buried in sand... but now I need to get the problem sorted!

Does anyone have the patience to help again? Thanks.

The forum runs fine (www.sloe.biz/pip ), but I can´t get into the ACP.

(I will be travelling, so apols for any short delays in future replies).
"Don't write dirty words on walls
if you can't spell ..." (Tom Lehrer
)
User avatar
Oyabun1
Former Team Member
Posts: 23162
Joined: Sun May 17, 2009 1:05 pm
Location: Australia
Name: Bill

Re: Locked out of ACP after change of Host

Post by Oyabun1 »

zzafio wrote:but I can´t get into the ACP.
That isn't enough information. What are you doing and what happens?
                      Support Request Template
3.0.x: Knowledge Base Styles Support MOD Requests
3.1.x: Knowledge BaseStyles SupportExtension Requests
Locked

Return to “[3.1.x] Support Forum”