3.1.5 Blank page in many section of the ACP

Get help with installation and running phpBB 3.1.x here. Please do not post bug reports, feature requests, or extension related questions here.
Scam Warning
Forum rules
READ: phpBB.com Board-Wide Rules and Regulations

NOTE: phpBB 3.1.x is at its End of Life stage and support will NOT be provided after July 1st, 2018.
Locked
User avatar
cholo981
Registered User
Posts: 62
Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2014 9:40 am

3.1.5 Blank page in many section of the ACP

Post by cholo981 » Tue Aug 11, 2015 10:36 am

Support Request Template
What version of phpBB are you using? phpBB 3.1.5
What is your board's URL? http://forum.playitusa.com/
Who do you host your board with? ovh
How did you install your board? I used the download package from phpBB.com
What is the most recent action performed on your board? Update from a previous version of phpBB3
Is registration required to reproduce this issue? Yes
Do you have any MODs installed? No
Do you have any extensions installed? Yes
What version of phpBB3 did you update from? phpBB 3.1.4
What extensions do you have installed? Advanced BBCode Box
Board Announcements
phpBB 3.1 Post Love
Share On
Tapatalk Plugin for phpBB 3.1
What styles do you currently have installed? prosilver
What language(s) is your board currently using? italian
Which database type/version are you using? MySQL 5
What is your level of experience? Please select your answer
What username can be used to view this issue? No answer given
What password can be used to view this issue? No answer given
What actions did you take (updating your board; installing a MOD, style or extension; etc.) prior to this problem becoming noticeable? updating my board, cleared the cache.
Please describe your problem.
Hello, after the board update, many specific section of the ACP are unreachable. They just returns a blank page.

For example I can open "manage users" but not "Manage groups".
And I can't open basically anything in the "FORUMS" section, or disable/configure an extension which is pretty bad.

I already tried to clear the cache, no luck.
Not sure it's related to the update but it's basically the only thing I did in the last month excep for updating tapatalk extension and plugin (but I just overwrited his own files).
Generated by SRT Generator

User avatar
RMcGirr83
Recognised Extension Developer
Posts: 21034
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2005 4:33 pm
Location: Your display
Name: Rich McGirr
Contact:

Re: 3.1.5 Blank page in many section of the ACP

Post by RMcGirr83 » Tue Aug 11, 2015 10:39 am

You shouldn't update an extension by simply overwriting the files. The extension must be disabled first, all files cleared of the extensions directory, the new files uploaded into that directory and then re-enabled it in the ACP.

Try disabling the taptalk extension and see if you then can access the items you couldn't before.
In times of change, learners inherit the earth, while the learned find themselves beautifully equipped to deal with a world that no longer exists - Eric Hoffer
Former Modifications/Extensions Team Member | My extensions
Appreciate the extensions/mods/support then buy me a beer
All requests for support via PM will be ignored

User avatar
cholo981
Registered User
Posts: 62
Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2014 9:40 am

Re: 3.1.5 Blank page in many section of the ACP

Post by cholo981 » Tue Aug 11, 2015 10:48 am

RMcGirr83 wrote:You shouldn't update an extension by simply overwriting the files. The extension must be disabled first, all files cleared of the extensions directory, the new files uploaded into that directory and then re-enabled it in the ACP.

Try disabling the taptalk extension and see if you then can access the items you couldn't before.
I literally followed the developer indications:
https://support.tapatalk.com/threads/pa ... ost-161028

I can't disable any extension from the ACP (blank page as well). :(

User avatar
RMcGirr83
Recognised Extension Developer
Posts: 21034
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2005 4:33 pm
Location: Your display
Name: Rich McGirr
Contact:

Re: 3.1.5 Blank page in many section of the ACP

Post by RMcGirr83 » Tue Aug 11, 2015 10:52 am

Try clearing the cache directory via FTP of everything except the index and htaccess files.

A blank page is an indication of a suppressed PHP error. You may have a file called "error" within the root of your forum. If so take a look at it to see where the issue lies otherwise you will have to get the error log from the server. If you don't know how to do that then you would need to talk to your host.

PS the instructions given that you linked to are incorrect.
In times of change, learners inherit the earth, while the learned find themselves beautifully equipped to deal with a world that no longer exists - Eric Hoffer
Former Modifications/Extensions Team Member | My extensions
Appreciate the extensions/mods/support then buy me a beer
All requests for support via PM will be ignored

User avatar
david63
Registered User
Posts: 16827
Joined: Thu Dec 19, 2002 8:08 am
Location: Lancashire, UK
Name: David Wood
Contact:

Re: 3.1.5 Blank page in many section of the ACP

Post by david63 » Tue Aug 11, 2015 2:12 pm

You could try turning debug on in your config.php file which may give the details of the error.
David
Remember: You only know what you know and - you don't know what you don't know!
My CDB Contributions | How to install an extension
I will not be accepting translations for any of my extensions in Github - please post any translations in the appropriate topic.
No support requests via PM or email as they will be ignored

promod
Registered User
Posts: 53
Joined: Wed Sep 03, 2014 3:56 pm

Re: 3.1.5 Blank page in many section of the ACP

Post by promod » Wed Aug 12, 2015 2:27 pm

I m also having the same kind of problem after installing/enabling the "Log New User" extension on my 3.1.5 forum. Any Help?

Cleared the cache didn't helped at all

User avatar
Oyabun1
Former Team Member
Posts: 23162
Joined: Sun May 17, 2009 1:05 pm
Location: Australia
Name: Bill

Re: 3.1.5 Blank page in many section of the ACP

Post by Oyabun1 » Wed Aug 12, 2015 2:33 pm

promod wrote:I m also having the same kind of problem after installing/enabling the "Log New User" extension on my 3.1.5 forum. Any Help?
To receive extension support please visit our Extensions Database and post in the specific extension’s designated support area. The link to the support area for each released extension is also available in the first post of each released extension listed in the [3.1.x] Extension Database Releases forum. For extensions still in development (not recommended for a live board) support is from that extensions's topic in the [3.1.x] Extensions in Development forum.
                      Support Request Template
3.0.x: Knowledge Base Styles Support MOD Requests
3.1.x: Knowledge BaseStyles SupportExtension Requests

User avatar
Sven2157
Registered User
Posts: 48
Joined: Thu Jun 25, 2015 5:13 pm

Re: 3.1.5 Blank page in many section of the ACP

Post by Sven2157 » Wed Aug 12, 2015 5:25 pm

I had, what I believe is a similar problem. Just like you, certain pages would show blank white, with no error. In your ACP, do you have something set for IMAGEMAGIC?

BOARD CONFIGURATION >> Attachment Settings >> Imagemagick path

If so, remove that and see if the pages return. That's what did it for me; removing an incorrect path to imagemagick.

Hope that helps! ;)
Regards,

Sven2157

User avatar
cholo981
Registered User
Posts: 62
Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2014 9:40 am

Re: 3.1.5 Blank page in many section of the ACP

Post by cholo981 » Mon Aug 17, 2015 10:48 am

RMcGirr83 wrote:Try clearing the cache directory via FTP of everything except the index and htaccess files.

A blank page is an indication of a suppressed PHP error. You may have a file called "error" within the root of your forum. If so take a look at it to see where the issue lies otherwise you will have to get the error log from the server. If you don't know how to do that then you would need to talk to your host.

PS the instructions given that you linked to are incorrect.
Sorry for the delay, I was on vacation.
Of course the solution was the cache folder wipe, I should have known.
Thanks.
RMcGirr83 wrote:PS the instructions given that you linked to are incorrect.
I have no doubt you are right, but dealing with those guys can be frustrating sometimes. So at the end, I did literally what they asked, to prove the bug was still there, even following their procedure.

Cheers

Locked

Return to “[3.1.x] Support Forum”