Creating your own module in ACP Module management

Get help with installation and running phpBB 3.1.x here. Please do not post bug reports, feature requests, or extension related questions here.
Ideas Centre
Forum rules
READ: phpBB.com Board-Wide Rules and Regulations

NOTE: phpBB 3.1.x is at its End of Life stage and support will NOT be provided after July 1st, 2018.
Locked
mike2003
Registered User
Posts: 90
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2016 12:10 am

Creating your own module in ACP Module management

Post by mike2003 » Wed Apr 05, 2017 10:39 pm

I want to create a block of settings.
Image
But when I try to follow links
Image
I get an error:
General Error
Module not accessible
BACKTRACE
FILE: (not given by php)
LINE: (not given by php)
CALL: msg_handler()
FILE: [ROOT]/includes/functions_module.php
LINE: 565
CALL: trigger_error()
FILE: [ROOT]/adm/index.php
LINE: 82
CALL: p_master->load_active()
How to do it correctly?
Only the standard functions work. But not extensions.

User avatar
JimA
Community Team Leader
Community Team Leader
Posts: 7608
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2008 5:54 am
Location: The Netherlands
Name: Jim Mossing Holsteyn
Contact:

Re: Creating your own module in ACP Module management

Post by JimA » Thu Apr 06, 2017 8:46 am

That's because those modules need PHP files to follow as well. It's not just as easy as creating the module in the ACP and following it. Are you trying to create or extend an extension?
Image Jim Mossing Holsteyn - Community Team Leader
Knowledge Base | Documentation | Board rules

If you're having any questions about the rules/customs of this website, feel free to drop me a PM.

mike2003
Registered User
Posts: 90
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2016 12:10 am

Re: Creating your own module in ACP Module management

Post by mike2003 » Thu Apr 06, 2017 2:18 pm

I did not do anything for extensions. Just wanted to make a new tab for quick access to desired settings

User avatar
Mick
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 21128
Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2008 9:49 am
Location: Watching cricket - definitely

Re: Creating your own module in ACP Module management

Post by Mick » Thu Apr 06, 2017 5:47 pm

Why?
"The more connected we get the more alone we become" - Kyle Broflovski

mike2003
Registered User
Posts: 90
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2016 12:10 am

Re: Creating your own module in ACP Module management

Post by mike2003 » Thu Apr 06, 2017 7:11 pm

What do you mean?

User avatar
pierredu
Registered User
Posts: 923
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2012 8:04 am
Location: Paris (France)

Re: Creating your own module in ACP Module management

Post by pierredu » Thu Apr 06, 2017 7:16 pm

I think that the example given shows it all (submodules from the RH topic tags extension). The OP would like to gather in a private tab several ACP extension units from one or several extensions to manage the whole thing more easily.

I'm not sure that this is a viable way of doing things.

User avatar
Lumpy Burgertushie
Registered User
Posts: 66323
Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 3:11 am
Contact:

Re: Creating your own module in ACP Module management

Post by Lumpy Burgertushie » Thu Apr 06, 2017 7:23 pm

isn't that how it works already? any extensions that have settings that need the extensions tab, will all be shown in the left menu when you click on the extensions tab. you can edit settings all from one place that way.


robert
I'm baaaaaccckkkk. still doing work on donation basis. PM your needs.

Premium phpBB 3.2 Styles by PlanetStyles.net

If a tree falls in the forest and nobody is there, does it make a sound?

mike2003
Registered User
Posts: 90
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2016 12:10 am

Re: Creating your own module in ACP Module management

Post by mike2003 » Thu Apr 06, 2017 8:14 pm

I can not, I have the error.

User avatar
Lumpy Burgertushie
Registered User
Posts: 66323
Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 3:11 am
Contact:

Re: Creating your own module in ACP Module management

Post by Lumpy Burgertushie » Thu Apr 06, 2017 8:34 pm

why are you doing this? doesn't the extension already have a settings page that you access when you go to the extensions tab?

why are you trying to reinvent the wheel here?


robert
I'm baaaaaccckkkk. still doing work on donation basis. PM your needs.

Premium phpBB 3.2 Styles by PlanetStyles.net

If a tree falls in the forest and nobody is there, does it make a sound?

mike2003
Registered User
Posts: 90
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2016 12:10 am

Re: Creating your own module in ACP Module management

Post by mike2003 » Thu Apr 06, 2017 8:38 pm

The OP would like to gather in a private tab several ACP extension units from one or several extensions to manage the whole thing more easily
And why are we discussing this? This function is there and it should work fine.
I have many extensions and it is difficult to find the right one. I often use.

User avatar
RMcGirr83
Recognised Extension Developer
Posts: 21034
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2005 4:33 pm
Location: Your display
Name: Rich McGirr
Contact:

Re: Creating your own module in ACP Module management

Post by RMcGirr83 » Thu Apr 06, 2017 8:54 pm

If you believe you have found a bug, then please report it in the tracker.

That's the quickest way to get someone to look at it.
In times of change, learners inherit the earth, while the learned find themselves beautifully equipped to deal with a world that no longer exists - Eric Hoffer
Former Modifications/Extensions Team Member | My extensions
Appreciate the extensions/mods/support then buy me a beer
All requests for support via PM will be ignored

Locked

Return to “[3.1.x] Support Forum”