Need help recovering our phpBB Site

Get help with installation and running phpBB 3.1.x here. Please do not post bug reports, feature requests, or extension related questions here.
Scam Warning
Forum rules
READ: phpBB.com Board-Wide Rules and Regulations

NOTE: phpBB 3.1.x is at its End of Life stage and support will NOT be provided after July 1st, 2018.
johnhuns

Need help recovering our phpBB Site

Post by johnhuns » Sat Jan 13, 2018 2:24 am

Hi, I am new to phpBB and I am trying to help our organization recover our forum site. Approximately 2 months ago our site stopped working. When connecting to the URL we would receive a message "Error establishing a database connection". I contacted our hosting company and they restored the site but the error persists. They then said WordPress was out of date and they did an upgrade but I don't know if that did anything at all since the problem still occurs. They suggested we talk to our web developer and we didn't have a web developer but a member of our board built the forum, from what eventually found out was with php. I have been able to get help from some tech folks at work where I can connect to the forum pages and the database but the main forum page is not available.

I know nothing about this stuff and I'm looking for some beginner troubleshooting tips, like which file kicks of the main Forum or BB page when you go to a URL and what folder needs to contain that file. I found some articles on this support site that maybe the config.php was corrupted or missing. I found multiple copies of a config.php and from what I can tell it has our usernames and passwords in it, but I did notice it has a 3.0.x tag on the first line.

I hope this makes sense and I'm pretty sure this is in the wrong forum group. Thanks in advance for any help that can provided.

Thank you,
John

stevemaury
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Name: Steve

Re: Need help recovering our phpBB Site

Post by stevemaury » Sat Jan 13, 2018 2:48 am