Phpbb 3.1.10 site width issues

For support and discussion related to templates, themes, and imagesets in phpBB 3.1.
Get Involved
Locked
brassuk
Registered User
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 6:09 pm

Phpbb 3.1.10 site width issues

Post by brassuk » Thu Jan 05, 2017 6:50 pm

Hi again all,

I have just made a fresh install of 3.1.10 on my new site and the forum is very narrow in the middle of the screen with large gaps left and right and on my previous older version on another site it took up all of the screen even on a 27 inch imac, could somebody help me please to get the forum wider?

Thanks in advance.
Last edited by JimA on Thu Jan 05, 2017 8:51 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Reason: Marked as solved

User avatar
JimA
Community Team Leader
Community Team Leader
Posts: 7379
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2008 5:54 am
Location: The Netherlands
Name: Jim Mossing Holsteyn
Contact:

Re: Phpbb 3.1.10 site width issues

Post by JimA » Thu Jan 05, 2017 7:01 pm

That's because phpBB currently has a fixed-width on prosilver by default.
If you want to change that max-width to something larger, it's this code in your style's common.css file. :)

Code: Select all

.wrap {
	border: 1px solid transparent;
	border-radius: 8px;
	margin: 0 auto;
	max-width: 1152px;
	min-width: 625px;
	padding: 15px;
}
Image Jim Mossing Holsteyn - Community Team Leader
Knowledge Base | Documentation | Board rules

If you're having any questions about the rules/customs of this website, feel free to drop me a PM.

User avatar
Scanialady
Registered User
Posts: 207
Joined: Thu Jan 17, 2013 7:09 pm
Location: Germany
Name: Annette
Contact:

Re: Phpbb 3.1.10 site width issues

Post by Scanialady » Thu Jan 05, 2017 7:02 pm

Webseite, Blog, Wiki
JV-Arcade / phpBB-Arcade / dmzx-Extensions Übersetzungsteam, andere deutsche Übersetzungen - german language files

brassuk
Registered User
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 6:09 pm

Re: Phpbb 3.1.10 site width issues

Post by brassuk » Thu Jan 05, 2017 7:06 pm

Thanks very much both of you. Just a quick question with regards to refreshing the theme as detailed below:-

Then refresh your theme - ACP => Styles => Style Components => Themes.

Styles tab does not exist and I don't see anywhere to refresh?

Thanks.

User avatar
JimA
Community Team Leader
Community Team Leader
Posts: 7379
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2008 5:54 am
Location: The Netherlands
Name: Jim Mossing Holsteyn
Contact:

Re: Phpbb 3.1.10 site width issues

Post by JimA » Thu Jan 05, 2017 7:09 pm

That's not necessary anymore. Those instructions were for 3.0.x. :)
Image Jim Mossing Holsteyn - Community Team Leader
Knowledge Base | Documentation | Board rules

If you're having any questions about the rules/customs of this website, feel free to drop me a PM.

brassuk
Registered User
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 6:09 pm

Re: Phpbb 3.1.10 site width issues

Post by brassuk » Thu Jan 05, 2017 7:15 pm

Aaaaaa ok that's great! Thanks again very very much for all your help :-)

Thanks.

brassuk
Registered User
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 6:09 pm

Re: Phpbb 3.1.10 site width issues

Post by brassuk » Thu Jan 05, 2017 7:22 pm

Well I edited the common.css file in cpanel and changed first to 3000px and refreshed my site and no change? Am I doing something wrong?

Thanks

mrgtb
Registered User
Posts: 549
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2007 10:51 am

Re: Phpbb 3.1.10 site width issues

Post by mrgtb » Thu Jan 05, 2017 7:57 pm

brassuk wrote:
Thu Jan 05, 2017 7:22 pm
Well I edited the common.css file in cpanel and changed first to 3000px and refreshed my site and no change? Am I doing something wrong?

Thanks
Did you clear all cache files

brassuk
Registered User
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 6:09 pm

Re: Phpbb 3.1.10 site width issues

Post by brassuk » Thu Jan 05, 2017 8:00 pm

I had not purged the cache so thanks but I just did it now and no change.

The text I changed in the css is as follows:-

#wrap {
border: 1px solid transparent;
border-radius: 8px;
margin: 0 auto;
max-width: 5000px;
min-width: 625px;
padding: 15px;

User avatar
JimA
Community Team Leader
Community Team Leader
Posts: 7379
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2008 5:54 am
Location: The Netherlands
Name: Jim Mossing Holsteyn
Contact:

Re: Phpbb 3.1.10 site width issues

Post by JimA » Thu Jan 05, 2017 8:13 pm

Could we have a link to your board?
Image Jim Mossing Holsteyn - Community Team Leader
Knowledge Base | Documentation | Board rules

If you're having any questions about the rules/customs of this website, feel free to drop me a PM.

brassuk
Registered User
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 6:09 pm

Re: Phpbb 3.1.10 site width issues

Post by brassuk » Thu Jan 05, 2017 8:41 pm


User avatar
JimA
Community Team Leader
Community Team Leader
Posts: 7379
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2008 5:54 am
Location: The Netherlands
Name: Jim Mossing Holsteyn
Contact:

Re: Phpbb 3.1.10 site width issues

Post by JimA » Thu Jan 05, 2017 8:43 pm

For me the forum is at the max width. Maybe you need to do a hard refresh (Ctrl+F5) to see the changes?
Image Jim Mossing Holsteyn - Community Team Leader
Knowledge Base | Documentation | Board rules

If you're having any questions about the rules/customs of this website, feel free to drop me a PM.

User avatar
Lumpy Burgertushie
Registered User
Posts: 65043
Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 3:11 am
Contact:

Re: Phpbb 3.1.10 site width issues

Post by Lumpy Burgertushie » Thu Jan 05, 2017 8:44 pm

I see your board as full width on a 32 inch monitor. and I see the correct css that you changed.
you need to refresh your browser a couple of times to see it.

robert
I am available for custom work on a donation basis. Please send me a PM with your needs.

Premium phpBB 3.2 Styles by PlanetStyles.net

OK, so what's the speed of dark?

brassuk
Registered User
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 6:09 pm

Re: Phpbb 3.1.10 site width issues

Post by brassuk » Thu Jan 05, 2017 8:46 pm

Jim thanks so very much that worked a treat and everything fine now.

brassuk
Registered User
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 6:09 pm

Re: Phpbb 3.1.10 site width issues

Post by brassuk » Thu Jan 05, 2017 8:47 pm

Lumpy Burgertushie wrote:
Thu Jan 05, 2017 8:44 pm
I see your board as full width on a 32 inch monitor. and I see the correct css that you changed.
you need to refresh your browser a couple of times to see it.

robert

Thanks Lumpy it worked.

Locked

Return to “[3.1.x] Styles Support & Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests