quote remover

Looking for an Extension? Have an Extension request? Post your request here for help. (Note: This forum is community supported; while there is an Extensions Development Team, said team does not dedicate itself to handling requests in this forum)
Get Involved
User avatar
JoshyPHP
Code Contributor
Posts: 1177
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 12:28 am

Re: quote remover

Post by JoshyPHP »

If you set it to 0 there's no limit anymore. Or as the ACP puts it, "Set to 0 for unlimited depth."
I wrote the thing that does BBCodes in 3.2+.
Dkell
Registered User
Posts: 57
Joined: Sat Feb 21, 2015 7:50 pm
Location: Ireland
Contact:

Re: quote remover

Post by Dkell »

JoshyPHP wrote:Again, money is a good indicator of how much people actually care.
So what sort of "contribution" would be required to get someone to build an extension for this? :shock:
Dkell
Registered User
Posts: 57
Joined: Sat Feb 21, 2015 7:50 pm
Location: Ireland
Contact:

Re: quote remover

Post by Dkell »

JoshyPHP wrote:If you set it to 0 there's no limit anymore. Or as the ACP puts it, "Set to 0 for unlimited depth."
Ah okay, so if I set the nested quote depth to 1 in the ACP only the post being quoted will post and no more error messages?
User avatar
JoshyPHP
Code Contributor
Posts: 1177
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 12:28 am

Re: quote remover

Post by JoshyPHP »

Dkell wrote:So what sort of "contribution" would be required to get someone to build an extension for this? :shock:
It's only a guess but I think you could find someone to do it for maybe $50? That seems in the ballpark.
Dkell wrote:Ah okay, so if I set the nested quote depth to 1 in the ACP only the post being quoted will post and no more error messages?
In 3.2 with depth=0 if I click the "Quote" button on your previous post, there will be your text but none of the quotes.
I wrote the thing that does BBCodes in 3.2+.
Dkell
Registered User
Posts: 57
Joined: Sat Feb 21, 2015 7:50 pm
Location: Ireland
Contact:

Re: quote remover

Post by Dkell »

JoshyPHP wrote:
Dkell wrote:So what sort of "contribution" would be required to get someone to build an extension for this? :shock:
It's only a guess but I think you could find someone to do it for maybe $50? That seems in the ballpark.

JoshyPHP wrote:
Dkell wrote:Ah okay, so if I set the nested quote depth to 1 in the ACP only the post being quoted will post and no more error messages?
In 3.2 with depth=0 if I click the "Quote" button on your previous post, there will be your text but none of the quotes.
Okay so if I want to set the quote level to 1, that is not going to remove the error?

On my 3.0.12 board we had a mod that removed the nested quote, the post would only display the post being quoted and remove the error message, the fix in 3.2 will not accommodate this?

Sorry if I'm reading your posts wrong.
Last edited by Dkell on Thu May 28, 2015 12:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
JoshyPHP
Code Contributor
Posts: 1177
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 12:28 am

Re: quote remover

Post by JoshyPHP »

In 3.2 there's no error related to quote depth ever. Instead, it removes the extra quotes when you reply. It does so in two ways: if you press the "Quote" button, the text in the reply form contains only the maximum depth of quotes. And if you edit a post that has too many quotes (perhaps it was submitted when the limit was higher for example) then when you preview it or you submit it, instead of getting an error message like in 3.0 or 3.1, it automatically removes the deepest quotes.

I don't know how your MOD worked in 3.0, so it's hard to tell. If you send me a link to it I'll take a look.
I wrote the thing that does BBCodes in 3.2+.
marian0810
Former Team Member
Posts: 3011
Joined: Mon May 21, 2007 9:17 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Name: Marian
Contact:

Re: quote remover

Post by marian0810 »

JoshyPHP wrote:Whether it's removing quotes or any other feature, if it's really important for you then you should offer a bounty for it. Money is both a great motivator and a proof that someone actually cares about something.
Please keep in mind that offering money, or recruiting people for personal projects in any way, is not allowed here, will be removed and may result in a warning.

https://www.phpbb.com/rules/#spam
You and me, time and space. You watch us run!
Dkell
Registered User
Posts: 57
Joined: Sat Feb 21, 2015 7:50 pm
Location: Ireland
Contact:

Re: quote remover

Post by Dkell »

marian0810 wrote:
JoshyPHP wrote:Whether it's removing quotes or any other feature, if it's really important for you then you should offer a bounty for it. Money is both a great motivator and a proof that someone actually cares about something.
Please keep in mind that offering money, or recruiting people for personal projects in any way, is not allowed here, will be removed and may result in a warning.

https://www.phpbb.com/rules/#spam
Apologies, I wasn't aware of that, I'll edit the post. :oops:
Dkell
Registered User
Posts: 57
Joined: Sat Feb 21, 2015 7:50 pm
Location: Ireland
Contact:

Re: quote remover

Post by Dkell »

JoshyPHP wrote:In 3.2 there's no error related to quote depth ever. Instead, it removes the extra quotes when you reply. It does so in two ways: if you press the "Quote" button, the text in the reply form contains only the maximum depth of quotes. And if you edit a post that has too many quotes (perhaps it was submitted when the limit was higher for example) then when you preview it or you submit it, instead of getting an error message like in 3.0 or 3.1, it automatically removes the deepest quotes.

I don't know how your MOD worked in 3.0, so it's hard to tell. If you send me a link to it I'll take a look.
Ah okay, now we're on the same page, great it's exactly what I was looking for, set quote level and no error message. Simples 8-)

Appreciate your help.
User avatar
JoshyPHP
Code Contributor
Posts: 1177
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 12:28 am

Re: quote remover

Post by JoshyPHP »

marian0810 wrote:Please keep in mind that offering money, or recruiting people for personal projects in any way, is not allowed here, will be removed and may result in a warning.
It's not? That would be crazy. Does that mean that someone who wants to sponsor the development of a phpBB extension is specifically disallowed to do so here? Instead they should go to some Rent-a-Coder site and pay someone who may not even be active in the phpBB community?
I wrote the thing that does BBCodes in 3.2+.
User avatar
Mick
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 22919
Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2008 9:49 am
Location: Watching cricket probably.

Re: quote remover

Post by Mick »

Yep, the rule is quite specific.
"The more connected we get the more alone we become" - Kyle Broflovski©
marian0810
Former Team Member
Posts: 3011
Joined: Mon May 21, 2007 9:17 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Name: Marian
Contact:

Re: quote remover

Post by marian0810 »

JoshyPHP wrote:It's not?
No.
Does that mean that someone who wants to sponsor the development of a phpBB extension is specifically disallowed to do so here?
Yes.
Instead they should go to some Rent-a-Coder site and pay someone who may not even be active in the phpBB community?
There are plenty of people who offer paid work that are active in the community. Some of them team members here who mention this in their signature. They can be contacted via PM.
You and me, time and space. You watch us run!
TRCilekesTR
Registered User
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu May 28, 2015 4:55 pm

quote remover

Post by TRCilekesTR »

Thanks :)
yarnik
Registered User
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Apr 22, 2014 8:18 am

Re: quote remover

Post by yarnik »

Who else is interested?
User avatar
Lumpy Burgertushie
Registered User
Posts: 68301
Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 3:11 am
Contact:

Re: quote remover

Post by Lumpy Burgertushie »

oops


robert
I'm baaaaaccckkkk. still doing work on donation basis. PM your needs.

Premium phpBB 3.3 Styles by PlanetStyles.net

If nobody is in the forest, does a tree really fall?
Post Reply

Return to “Extension Requests”