Quick links

Looking for an Extension? Have an Extension request? Post your request here for help. (Note: This forum is community supported; while there is an Extensions Development Team, said team does not dedicate itself to handling requests in this forum)
Suggested Hosts
bitsss
Registered User
Posts: 120
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2012 11:04 am

Quick links

Post by bitsss » Fri Nov 27, 2015 11:38 am

Hello,
i love the 3.1.x-quick-links-menu at the header. Is there a EXT to add a second and third one (for my own links)?

User avatar
canam800er
Registered User
Posts: 113
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2011 7:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Quick links

Post by canam800er » Fri Nov 27, 2015 7:26 pm

Hi
I have just created.
Download: http://reyno41.bplaced.net/phpbb/viewto ... ?f=8&t=135
Note:
More links can be created in the file root/ext/kirk/my_quicklinks/styles/all/template/event/overall_header_navigation_prepend.html
Sorry for my bad english, I am German and translated with Google!
My Extensionen!

bitsss
Registered User
Posts: 120
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2012 11:04 am

Re: Quick links

Post by bitsss » Sat Nov 28, 2015 9:21 am

@canam800er: thanx a lot for the quick solution!
canam800er wrote:More links can be created in the file root/ext/kirk/my_quicklinks/styles/all/template/event/overall_header_navigation_prepend.html
Now i have another request:
If a user access my webpage from desktop pc, it should appear: http://www.desktop-link.de
If a user access my webpage from mobile phone, it should appear: http://www.mobile-link.de

Do you have an idea to solve this problem? I think like this:

Code: Select all

<li class="small-icon icon-phpbb-de"><a href="<!-- IF DESKTOP -->https://www.desktop-link.de<!-- ELSEIF MOBILE -->http://www.mobile-link.de" role="menuitem">{L_PHPBB_DE}</a></li>

User avatar
canam800er
Registered User
Posts: 113
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2011 7:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Quick links

Post by canam800er » Sat Nov 28, 2015 11:54 am

In 3.1.x it does not matter whether one calls with PC or Smartphone the page.
Why do you want it that way?
Sorry for my bad english, I am German and translated with Google!
My Extensionen!

bitsss
Registered User
Posts: 120
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2012 11:04 am

Re: Quick links

Post by bitsss » Sat Nov 28, 2015 2:44 pm

In my quick-links-menu there are some links to EXTERNAL web-pages. This web-pages dont have any switches for differnt resolutions. So i am forced to create an switch on my own forum.

if user use desktop pc -> url for quick-links-menu: http://www.page.de

if user use mobile phone -> url for quick-links-menu: http://www.mobil.page.de

unfortunately i dont know the phpbb-code to ask, if the user use an mobile phone.

User avatar
Lumpy Burgertushie
Registered User
Posts: 66569
Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 3:11 am
Contact:

Re: Quick links

Post by Lumpy Burgertushie » Sat Nov 28, 2015 3:45 pm

are these external pages phpbb pages? if so, they will already be responsive.

if not and they are your pages then make them responsive and you don't have to provide different pages for different devices.

as far as I know, there is no phpbb code for determining the size of the viewers device. there might be some other code that can do that but you would need to find it and then figure out how to use it with phpbb.


robert
I'm baaaaaccckkkk. still doing work on donation basis. PM your needs.

Premium phpBB 3.2 Styles by PlanetStyles.net

If a tree falls in the forest and nobody is there, does it make a sound?

User avatar
pierredu
Registered User
Posts: 931
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2012 8:04 am
Location: Paris (France)

Re: Quick links

Post by pierredu » Sat Nov 28, 2015 5:03 pm

Good idea, congrats.

On the other hand, I have an extension which adds an item at the bottom of the 1st quick links menu and it gets added at the bottom of the second one, too.
If you want to test: viewtopic.php?f=456&t=2342151

I'll check on my side what happens and how to correct the matter.

On the other other hand :shock: check what happens when you use the pages extension and ask to add the new page tothe quick links menu. It should be the same problem.

Bruninoit
Registered User
Posts: 499
Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2013 2:34 pm
Location: Florence (Italy)
Name: Bruno Andrew
Contact:

Re: Quick links

Post by Bruninoit » Sat Nov 28, 2015 10:38 pm

canam800er wrote:Hi
I have just created.
Download: http://reyno41.bplaced.net/phpbb/viewto ... ?f=8&t=135
Note:
More links can be created in the file root/ext/kirk/my_quicklinks/styles/all/template/event/overall_header_navigation_prepend.html
On responsive mode, link as ACP, MCP, and other link goes on new links menu and also in the phpBB original menu... Double links!

bitsss
Registered User
Posts: 120
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2012 11:04 am

Re: Quick links

Post by bitsss » Sun Nov 29, 2015 8:36 am

If i visit phpbb.com-forum from mobile phone, the template looks different as if i access from desktop pc. So there must be an php/template-code which controls this behaviour. Now i would like to use this control mechanism for my own template. But how?

User avatar
pierredu
Registered User
Posts: 931
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2012 8:04 am
Location: Paris (France)

Re: Quick links

Post by pierredu » Sun Nov 29, 2015 9:11 am

All this lies in the styles, mainly responsive.css

User avatar
canam800er
Registered User
Posts: 113
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2011 7:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Quick links

Post by canam800er » Sun Nov 29, 2015 9:13 am

@Bruninoit
Sorry i can not translate your text.
Sorry for my bad english, I am German and translated with Google!
My Extensionen!

bitsss
Registered User
Posts: 120
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2012 11:04 am

Re: Quick links

Post by bitsss » Sun Nov 29, 2015 1:22 pm

canam800er wrote:Hi
I have just created.
Download: http://reyno41.bplaced.net/phpbb/viewto ... ?f=8&t=135
Note:
More links can be created in the file root/ext/kirk/my_quicklinks/styles/all/template/event/overall_header_navigation_prepend.html
There is another problem:
If i access via desktop pc, there is the standard quick link menu and beside of the menu there is the faq-, mod- and admin-link.
if i access via mobile phone, the faq-, mod- and admin-link will be automatically moved INTO the quick link menu.

so, if i install the canam800er-extension, the faq-, mod- and admin-link will be displayed in BOTH quick-link-menus.

how can i solve this problem?

User avatar
3Di
Former Team Member
Posts: 14071
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2005 11:09 pm
Location: Milan (IT) Frankfurt (DE)
Name: Marco
Contact:

Re: Quick links

Post by 3Di » Sun Nov 29, 2015 1:30 pm

canam800er wrote:@Bruninoit
Sorry i can not translate your text.
He's telling you this:
bitsss wrote:If i access via desktop pc, there is the standard quick link menu and beside of the menu there is the faq-, mod- and admin-link.
if i access via mobile phone, the faq-, mod- and admin-link will be automatically moved INTO the quick link menu.

so, if i install the canam800er-extension, the faq-, mod- and admin-link will be displayed in BOTH quick-link-menus.

how can i solve this problem?
Please PM me only to request paid works. Thx.
Want to compensate me for my interest? Donate
My development's activity º PhpStorm's proud user
Extensions, Scripts, MOD porting, Update/Upgrades
👨‍🏫 | Take a tour to | The Studio | 👨‍🏫

User avatar
canam800er
Registered User
Posts: 113
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2011 7:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Quick links

Post by canam800er » Sun Nov 29, 2015 5:10 pm

bitsss wrote:so, if i install the canam800er-extension, the faq-, mod- and admin-link will be displayed in BOTH quick-link-menus.

how can i solve this problem?
I do not know where that is regulated, it does not appear in my extension.
Sorry for my bad english, I am German and translated with Google!
My Extensionen!

User avatar
pierredu
Registered User
Posts: 931
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2012 8:04 am
Location: Paris (France)

Re: Quick links

Post by pierredu » Sun Nov 29, 2015 5:35 pm

I thinks the problem comes from the fact that your quick links menu (in your overall_header_navigation_prepend.html template event) has the same id (id="quick-links") as the first quick links menu (line 3 and ff.) in the template (navbar_header.html). Having two elements with the same id in the same page is surely not a good practice.

I tried to change quick-links to quick-links2, but this is not enough. However, I think that the solution lies in this direction.

Did you try the official pages extension (viewtopic.php?f=536&t=2270066&p=1416454 ... #p14164546) with your extension? If you select a page inserted in the quick links menu, you'll see that it comes twice, in the main quick links menu and in the second one.

Post Reply

Return to “Extension Requests”