[ABD] Quick Ads

Any abandoned Extensions will be moved to this forum.

WARNING: Extensions in this forum are not currently being supported or maintained by the original Extension author. Proceed at your own risk.
Forum rules
IMPORTANT: Extension Development Forum rules

WARNING: Extensions in this forum are not currently being supported nor updated by the original Extension author. Proceed at your own risk.
User avatar
R3gi
Registered User
Posts: 113
Joined: Mon May 05, 2014 4:33 pm
Location: Czech Republic

Re: [BETA] Quick Ads

Post by R3gi »

Hi,
thanks, it seems this helps. It still isn't perfect since the responsive ad banners are cropped when resizing the screen, but at least for now it's a good workaround. Thank you!

By the way, please would be possible to add also option to display alternative content in the ad container if the user is blocking ads? I don't want to prevent users from reading whole forums, but kindly ask them to turn their function off, ask them to add an exception, display donate button or alternative ad.

EDIT: The top static modified ad appears, but the bottom (original script from Google) disappears if it doesn't contain mentioned size definition. Unfortunately I can't force define it so easily, because text under it has different length based on screen size. Therefore the ad is not centered.
Also it seems it's problematic to define auto width, which would fill the whole element. And if I define for example

Code: Select all

width:600px;height:80px"
, it is ignored by the ad container and I have to restrict dimensions manually.
The magic of responsive units is that they are perfect on almost any screen. Maybe it could be solved by css flex, I will try to play with it…
User avatar
o0johntam0o
Registered User
Posts: 228
Joined: Thu Sep 23, 2010 3:53 pm
Location: Viet Nam
Name: Tam
Contact:

Re: [BETA] Quick Ads

Post by o0johntam0o »

R3gi wrote:I don't want to prevent users from reading whole forums, but kindly ask them to turn their function off, ask them to add an exception, display donate button or alternative ad.
That's a good idea, I'll take a look at this ;)
User avatar
R3gi
Registered User
Posts: 113
Joined: Mon May 05, 2014 4:33 pm
Location: Czech Republic

Re: [BETA] Quick Ads

Post by R3gi »

Got it! The problem was in default Google Adsense definition. Solution is to define dimensions for certain screen sizes and change some display arguments:

Code: Select all

<style type="text/css">
.adname { width: 270px; height: 80px; }
@media (min-width:500px) { .adname { width: 468px; height: 60px; } }
@media (min-width:800px) { .adname { width: 728px; height: 90px; } }
</style>
<script async src="//pagead2.googlesyndication.com/pagead/js/adsbygoogle.js"></script>
<!-- Response 1 -->
<ins class="adsbygoogle adname"
     style="display:inline-block;"
     data-ad-client="CLIENT_ID"
     data-ad-slot="SLOT_ID"
     data-ad-format="rectangle,horizontal"></ins>
<script>
(adsbygoogle = window.adsbygoogle || []).push({});
</script>
Stoppen
Registered User
Posts: 30
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2012 9:14 pm

Re: [BETA] Quick Ads

Post by Stoppen »

This extension looks very promising but I'm not ready to test it on my board. Any plans to leave the beta stage and have it verified in the near future?
andreask
Registered User
Posts: 613
Joined: Fri Feb 27, 2009 6:13 pm
Name: Andreas

Re: [BETA] Quick Ads

Post by andreask »

o0johntam0o wrote:
R3gi wrote:I don't want to prevent users from reading whole forums, but kindly ask them to turn their function off, ask them to add an exception, display donate button or alternative ad.
That's a good idea, I'll take a look at this ;)
That is also not a bad idea. thumbs up for it!
But I stand to my proposal as well...
Here is what I am working on right now...
Inactive User Manager for phpBB
Give it a try...
If you would like to buy me a bier ;) for my work I will drink it on a hot summer day and thank you!!!
User avatar
o0johntam0o
Registered User
Posts: 228
Joined: Thu Sep 23, 2010 3:53 pm
Location: Viet Nam
Name: Tam
Contact:

Re: [BETA] Quick Ads

Post by o0johntam0o »

Hi, I don't have much time to make this extension meet the phpBB Extension rules (which described here), I'll do this later
BF79
Registered User
Posts: 416
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2015 1:28 pm
Name: Fouad B

Re: [BETA] Quick Ads

Post by BF79 »

o0johntam0o wrote:Hi, I don't have much time to make this extension meet the phpBB Extension rules (which described here), I'll do this later
PLZ we are waitng !!!!!!!
User avatar
R3gi
Registered User
Posts: 113
Joined: Mon May 05, 2014 4:33 pm
Location: Czech Republic

Re: [BETA] Quick Ads

Post by R3gi »

Stoppen wrote:This extension looks very promising but I'm not ready to test it on my board.
I am using it on my live forum with almost 20 k users for couple of months without any issues or reported errors, so I think it's "stable enough" ;)
saliimsaid
Registered User
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Dec 19, 2015 6:58 am

Re: [BETA] Quick Ads

Post by saliimsaid »

Hellow there,
i've installed and enabled this plugin, i was expecting to find this extension's controls to the Board configuration page but unfortunately i don't see anywhere to insert my code in the Board setting.

How can i insert my ads to this extension?
Thanks.
User avatar
mrgoldy
Development Team Member
Development Team Member
Posts: 1392
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2009 7:34 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Name: Gijs
Contact:

Re: [BETA] Quick Ads

Post by mrgoldy »

saliimsaid wrote:Hellow there,
i've installed and enabled this plugin, i was expecting to find this extension's controls to the Board configuration page but unfortunately i don't see anywhere to insert my code in the Board setting.

How can i insert my ads to this extension?
Thanks.
Like any other extension, you will have to Enable the extension under the 'Customise' tab and then you can configure it further in the 'Extensions' tab.
phpBB Studio / Member of the Studio

Contributing: You can do it too! Including testing Pull Requests (PR).
phpBB Development and Testing made easy.
saliimsaid
Registered User
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Dec 19, 2015 6:58 am

Re: [BETA] Quick Ads

Post by saliimsaid »

posey wrote:
saliimsaid wrote:Hellow there,
i've installed and enabled this plugin, i was expecting to find this extension's controls to the Board configuration page but unfortunately i don't see anywhere to insert my code in the Board setting.

How can i insert my ads to this extension?
Thanks.
Like any other extension, you will have to Enable the extension under the 'Customise' tab and then you can configure it further in the 'Extensions' tab.
Thank you. solve my problem.
saliimsaid
Registered User
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Dec 19, 2015 6:58 am

Re: [BETA] Quick Ads

Post by saliimsaid »

Another problem again , inserted ad, entered prefered size, but ad shows only a transparent box, the ad box doesn't populate ad content. So how do i solve this problem?
User avatar
o0johntam0o
Registered User
Posts: 228
Joined: Thu Sep 23, 2010 3:53 pm
Location: Viet Nam
Name: Tam
Contact:

Re: [BETA] Quick Ads

Post by o0johntam0o »

Please try this:
R3gi wrote:Got it! The problem was in default Google Adsense definition. Solution is to define dimensions for certain screen sizes and change some display arguments:

Code: Select all

<style type="text/css">
.adname { width: 270px; height: 80px; }
@media (min-width:500px) { .adname { width: 468px; height: 60px; } }
@media (min-width:800px) { .adname { width: 728px; height: 90px; } }
</style>
<script async src="//pagead2.googlesyndication.com/pagead/js/adsbygoogle.js"></script>
<!-- Response 1 -->
<ins class="adsbygoogle adname"
     style="display:inline-block;"
     data-ad-client="CLIENT_ID"
     data-ad-slot="SLOT_ID"
     data-ad-format="rectangle,horizontal"></ins>
<script>
(adsbygoogle = window.adsbygoogle || []).push({});
</script>
Enable "Deny Ads Blockers" if needed
saliimsaid
Registered User
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Dec 19, 2015 6:58 am

Re: [BETA] Quick Ads

Post by saliimsaid »

ok, but how do i use the above script ?
User avatar
o0johntam0o
Registered User
Posts: 228
Joined: Thu Sep 23, 2010 3:53 pm
Location: Viet Nam
Name: Tam
Contact:

Re: [BETA] Quick Ads

Post by o0johntam0o »

saliimsaid wrote:ok, but how do i use the above script ?
Opps, forget about that script. Did you enable the "Deny Ads Blockers" option?
Locked

Return to “Abandoned Extensions”