Page 1 of 12

[ABD] Quick Ads

Posted: Fri Jun 20, 2014 11:50 am
by o0johntam0o
Extension Name: Quick Ads

Author: o0johntam0o

Extension Description: Append any Ads, HTML, jQuery/JS code into your forum quickly.

Extension Version: x.x.x

Requirements: php >=5.3.3; phpbb >=3.1.0

Features:
  • Ads/Edit/Hide/Remove Ads
  • Group permission for each Ads
  • Choose pages to display Ads
  • Append any HTML, jQuery/JS code into Ads
  • Auto-scroll
Screenshots: https://www.phpbb.com/customise/db/mod/quick_ads_1_0_0

Demo URL: *

Demo Username: *

Demo Password: *

Extension Download: https://github.com/o0johntam0o/phpBB-Ex ... master.zip

Repository: https://github.com/o0johntam0o/phpBB-Ex ... -Quick-Ads

Re: [DEV] Quick Ads

Posted: Fri Jun 20, 2014 1:21 pm
by PayBas
A few quick remarks:
  1. Better not use _ (underscore) in your ext path, or you might get into trouble with namespaces and INCLUDEJS.
  2. You don't use INCLUDEJS, but put all the JS logic directly in the footer. Is this intentional?
  3. You don't need to include jQuery, it's already included in phpBB 3.1 ;).
  4. Why do you use JS to position the ads? Don't the new template events give you the same control with less client-side JS processing?
Other than that. Nice extension. Used it for 3.0, and looking forward to using it in 3.1.

Re: [DEV] Quick Ads

Posted: Fri Jun 20, 2014 2:26 pm
by o0johntam0o
Hi PayBas,
Thanks for the advice, I'll pay an attention to it. ;)

Re: [ALPHA] Quick Ads

Posted: Sat Jun 21, 2014 2:44 pm
by o0johntam0o
Quick Ads Extension is ready for testing

Re: [ALPHA] Quick Ads

Posted: Mon Jul 14, 2014 8:40 pm
by o0johntam0o
Release version 0.0.1

Re: [ALPHA] Quick Ads

Posted: Tue Jul 22, 2014 6:36 pm
by Volksdevil
What's the folder structure? I'm sure I've got it right but the extension won't show in my ACP to enable it.
I'm using RC2, is that the reason?

Re: [ALPHA] Quick Ads

Posted: Tue Jul 22, 2014 8:31 pm
by david63
Volksdevil wrote:What's the folder structure? I'm sure I've got it right but the extension won't show in my ACP to enable it.
I'm using RC2, is that the reason?
It looks as if you need to go into the ext folder and from there copy the files to root/ext/o0johntam0o/quick_ads You may still encounter problems as there is an underscore in the namespace which is not allowed due to it causing problems.

Re: [ALPHA] Quick Ads

Posted: Tue Jul 22, 2014 8:54 pm
by Volksdevil
Ah, that's got it cheers David.

I changed the servers path from:
root/ext/o0johntam0o/quick[size=150][color=#FF0000][b]-[/b][/color][/size]ads to root/ext/o0johntam0o/quick[size=150][color=#FF0000][b]_[/b][/color][/size]ads

So it does now show up (And seem to work) with the underscore in the folder/directory name, although I do understand that it needs to be updated so it doesn't use the underscore.

Looks good so far though after a quick play, seems it just wants some tweaking. :)

Re: [ALPHA] Quick Ads

Posted: Wed Jul 23, 2014 7:07 am
by o0johntam0o
Volksdevil wrote:I changed the servers path from:
root/ext/o0johntam0o/quick-ads to root/ext/o0johntam0o/quick_ads
It's "quick_ads", not "quick-ads". And I tested it on my localhost (phpBB 3.1 RC2) with no problem. ;)

Re: [ALPHA] Quick Ads

Posted: Wed Jul 23, 2014 7:25 am
by david63
o0johntam0o wrote:It's "quick_ads", not "quick-ads". And I tested it on my localhost (phpBB 3.1 RC2) with no problem. ;)
It is irrelevant which way you do it as both underscore and dash are not allowed - see

Re: [ALPHA] Quick Ads

Posted: Wed Jul 23, 2014 7:50 am
by o0johntam0o
Underscores, dashes, and other characters are NOT permitted. It is perfectly fine to have an extension named iamanextension.
Opps, I've not seen it before. Thanks david63!

Re: [ALPHA] Quick Ads

Posted: Sat Jul 26, 2014 6:30 am
by aaronnz220
Could you please let me know how I can change where the ads are displayed. Say for example 'top'. I want to change where it is at the top of the page. How is this done? Usually it would be overall_header in the past but with these new changes to the codes etc in 3.1X it has become a bit more complex.

Any help appreciated.

Re: [ALPHA] Quick Ads

Posted: Sat Jul 26, 2014 2:14 pm
by o0johntam0o
Hi aaronnz220, the old file ./styles/prosilver/template/mods/quick_ads.html (phpBB 3.0.x) was moved to ./ext/o0johntam0o/quickads/styles/prosilver/template/event/overall_footer_after.html (phpBB 3.1.x)

Re: [BETA] Quick Ads

Posted: Wed Nov 05, 2014 8:06 pm
by mr.ruf
Greetings I am testing this extension and I like a lot, but I have a situation. I think the ad, then I go to the page and looks for show, give it a close (x) and all good. but when I refresh the page the ad appears for a second and then disappears. not supposed to refresh the page the ad is in place?

or is that once marked the (x) no longer appear more? should reappear, at least I think

Re: [BETA] Quick Ads

Posted: Thu Nov 06, 2014 9:45 am
by Holger