[ABD] @Mention System

Any abandoned Extensions will be moved to this forum.

WARNING: Extensions in this forum are not currently being supported or maintained by the original Extension author. Proceed at your own risk.
Forum rules
IMPORTANT: Extension Development Forum rules

WARNING: Extensions in this forum are not currently being supported nor updated by the original Extension author. Proceed at your own risk.
User avatar
Wolfsblvt
Registered User
Posts: 634
Joined: Sun Oct 26, 2014 9:12 pm
Location: Solingen, Germany
Contact:

Re: [DEV] @Mention System

Post by Wolfsblvt » Wed Feb 04, 2015 1:00 pm

Giancarlo.Massironi wrote:I have tried installing this extension which I would like to use, but I am getting this error when trying to enable it in the Customize section of ACP
Read the last few posts above this one please.
This extension requires PHP 5.4 at the moment.
Holger wrote:Thanks a lot for your hard work Clemens!
Thank you (:


I am still waiting for some runtime traces guys!
If you have a specific extension request and you are willing to pay for, you can write me a PM.
My extensions (Trending: @Mention SystemAdvanced PollsUser Online Time)

»Du kamst zu uns. Deine Stimme kam. Du zeigtest uns die Sterne. Sie funkelten. Wir konnten sehen.«

Giancarlo.Massironi
Registered User
Posts: 63
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2014 7:14 pm

Re: [DEV] @Mention System

Post by Giancarlo.Massironi » Wed Feb 04, 2015 1:11 pm

Wolfsblvt wrote:
Giancarlo.Massironi wrote:I have tried installing this extension which I would like to use, but I am getting this error when trying to enable it in the Customize section of ACP
Read the last few posts above this one please.
This extension requires PHP 5.4 at the moment.
Sorry, yes thanks I understand now :)

leschek
Registered User
Posts: 789
Joined: Tue Jul 18, 2006 12:49 pm
Contact:

Re: [DEV] @Mention System

Post by leschek » Wed Feb 04, 2015 1:16 pm

Wolfsblvt wrote:
leschek wrote:
  1. After installation I can't see BBCodes, but I can use them
Are you sure? They should be visible if they are activated in ACP on every bbcode editor. I have added them to the list of default bbcodes with an event.
Can you specify the place where they are not visible? Screenshot or Test forum + Test account could help.
After some testing I find out that your BBCodes don't like Advanced BBCode Box extension. When I disable ABBC Box I can see BBCodes in post editor, but not in ACP among another BBCodes.
leschek wrote:
  1. Must the name of user in BBCode be between quotation marks? Can't it be written in the same way as in URL BBCode?
Could be possible, yes. But I have chosen the same way like phpBB does it with quoting. To keep it consistent. I think this is very important, to keep consistency.[/quote]
O.K. I see. Now when your BBCodes are visible (if I disable ABBCode Box) I just click on it and it's easy to add name. I was afraid that I would have to write quotation marks always, when I will want to mention someone. But it seems it's not problem anymore. Only thing I'm afraid is that in future version of phpBB will be mention system with different BBCodes, but I guess it will be solved when (and if) it will happen.
leschek wrote:
  1. If user doesn't have avatar it suggest the names in this form:

    Code: Select all

    use
    r
    ava
    tar user_name
    It can be longer as it depends on translation. (BTW the user_name is real user name and not what I wrote there)
The autogguest list should use a default avatar for users who don't have an avatar.
Can you post a screenshot of this suggest window so that I can see what exactly isn't working?
And are you using a custom style?[/quote]
I'm using prosilver and here is screenshot:

Image

(Please, click on the link. Image is in my phpBB Gallery and phpBB.com can't display it)

User avatar
Wolfsblvt
Registered User
Posts: 634
Joined: Sun Oct 26, 2014 9:12 pm
Location: Solingen, Germany
Contact:

Re: [DEV] @Mention System

Post by Wolfsblvt » Wed Feb 04, 2015 1:31 pm

leschek wrote:After some testing I find out that your BBCodes don't like Advanced BBCode Box extension. When I disable ABBC Box I can see BBCodes in post editor, but not in ACP among another BBCodes.
I see. I have created an issue to make my extension work with "Advanced BBCode Box 3.1".
Follow here: https://github.com/Wolfsblvt/mentions/issues/4
leschek wrote:Only thing I'm afraid is that in future version of phpBB will be mention system with different BBCodes, but I guess it will be solved when (and if) it will happen.
I think the way I am using this BBCodes is also the way it was discussed in the topic on area51. So hopefully the official mention feature will be oriented towards my extension here.

Otherwise you can be sure I won't let my trusted users hanging, then I'll write a migration to get everything right :P
leschek wrote:I'm using prosilver and here is screenshot:
Hm, strange. Seems like the image is not found.
You haven't renamed the styles\all folder, haven't you?

Can you verify, that the image at {yourboarurl}/ext/wolfsblvt/mentions/styles/all/theme/images/no_avatar.gif exists, if you try to access it in the browser?
(You need to replace {yourboardurl} with the URL to your forum.)
If you have a specific extension request and you are willing to pay for, you can write me a PM.
My extensions (Trending: @Mention SystemAdvanced PollsUser Online Time)

»Du kamst zu uns. Deine Stimme kam. Du zeigtest uns die Sterne. Sie funkelten. Wir konnten sehen.«

lukiaensyl
Registered User
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Oct 28, 2014 8:47 pm

Re: [DEV] @Mention System

Post by lukiaensyl » Wed Feb 04, 2015 1:35 pm

Amazing work, no complaints at all. Works perfectly fine! I do have one suggestion though, and that would be to have some sort of visual indication when previewing a post, so that you know it's worked. For example: when you've included a link in your post and preview it, you can see that it's worked. Like so - http://puu.sh/fsBHl/343871ebe8.png

User avatar
Wolfsblvt
Registered User
Posts: 634
Joined: Sun Oct 26, 2014 9:12 pm
Location: Solingen, Germany
Contact:

Re: [DEV] @Mention System

Post by Wolfsblvt » Wed Feb 04, 2015 1:41 pm

lukiaensyl wrote:I do have one suggestion though, and that would be to have some sort of visual indication when previewing a post, so that you know it's worked.
Yeah, sure. Wanted to do that for this extension, I simply have forgotten it :D
Follow here: https://github.com/Wolfsblvt/mentions/issues/6
If you have a specific extension request and you are willing to pay for, you can write me a PM.
My extensions (Trending: @Mention SystemAdvanced PollsUser Online Time)

»Du kamst zu uns. Deine Stimme kam. Du zeigtest uns die Sterne. Sie funkelten. Wir konnten sehen.«

leschek
Registered User
Posts: 789
Joined: Tue Jul 18, 2006 12:49 pm
Contact:

Re: [DEV] @Mention System

Post by leschek » Wed Feb 04, 2015 1:50 pm

Wolfsblvt wrote:I see. I have created an issue to make my extension work with "Advanced BBCode Box 3.1".
Follow here: https://github.com/Wolfsblvt/mentions/issues/4
Thank you
Wolfsblvt wrote:I think the way I am using this BBCodes is also the way it was discussed in the topic on area51. So hopefully the official mention feature will be oriented towards my extension here.

Otherwise you can be sure I won't let my trusted users hanging, then I'll write a migration to get everything right :P
This is great to know.
Wolfsblvt wrote:Hm, strange. Seems like the image is not found.
You haven't renamed the styles\all folder, haven't you?
I didn't rename it
Wolfsblvt wrote:Can you verify, that the image at {yourboarurl}/ext/wolfsblvt/mentions/styles/all/theme/images/no_avatar.gif exists, if you try to access it in the browser?
I can see it in browser - green badge with no avatar text.

swt4ajp
Registered User
Posts: 137
Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2012 4:44 pm

Re: [DEV] @Mention System

Post by swt4ajp » Wed Feb 04, 2015 2:15 pm

This extension is perfect!

I am running a small gaming forum so not that many users :( mainly the admin team and mod team at the moment lol everyone has seemed to of gone even the spammers haha

but yup it works and i cannot find a bug yet that I can see (only tested a few times but getting others to test as well)
web admin at several websites including
http://blackburnnet.co.uk
http://gamesunited.eu

User avatar
Wolfsblvt
Registered User
Posts: 634
Joined: Sun Oct 26, 2014 9:12 pm
Location: Solingen, Germany
Contact:

Re: [DEV] @Mention System

Post by Wolfsblvt » Wed Feb 04, 2015 2:19 pm

leschek wrote:I can see it in browser - green badge with no avatar text.
Can you try something for testing purposes?

Open file ext\wolfsblvt\mentions\core\mentions.php
Find:

Code: Select all

                // Check if file exists, otherwise take from "/all" folder. The administrator hasn't chosen a specific no_avatar avatar for this style then
                if (!file_exists($default_avatar_url))
                {
                    $default_avatar_url = $this->path_helper->get_web_root_path() . $this->ext_root_path . '/styles/all/theme' . '/images/no_avatar.gif';
                }

                $user_data['avatar'] = '<img src="' . $default_avatar_url . '" width="100" height="100" alt="' . $this->user->lang['USER_AVATAR'] . '">';
and replace with:

Code: Select all

            if ($user_data['avatar'] == '')
            {
                $default_avatar_url = $this->path_helper->get_web_root_path() . $this->ext_root_path . '/styles/' . $this->user->style['style_path'] . '/theme' . '/images/no_avatar.gif';

                // Check if file exists, otherwise take from "/all" folder. The administrator hasn't chosen a specific no_avatar avatar for this style then
                $file_exists = file_exists($default_avatar_url);
                if (!$file_exists)
                {
                    $default_avatar_url = $this->path_helper->get_web_root_path() . $this->ext_root_path . '/styles/all/theme' . '/images/no_avatar.gif';
                }

                echo "style file exists? " . (($file_exists) ? "yes" : "no" ) . "  real file exists? " . (( file_exists($default_avatar_url)) ? "yes" : "no" ) . "   Path is: " . $default_avatar_url;
                exit;
                $user_data['avatar'] = '<img src="' . $default_avatar_url . '" width="100" height="100" alt="' . $this->user->lang['USER_AVATAR'] . '">';
            }
Then visit a topic with a mention inside and look for a debug message right on top of the forum. Copy it and paste it here (or send me a PM if you don't want to post your forum url). And verify yourself if this is your correct forum URL and that the image in path exists.


Other thing you could try is going to ext\wolfsblvt\mentions\styles\prosilver\theme\images (create the style so that it exists) and put the no_avatar.gif there.
If you have a specific extension request and you are willing to pay for, you can write me a PM.
My extensions (Trending: @Mention SystemAdvanced PollsUser Online Time)

»Du kamst zu uns. Deine Stimme kam. Du zeigtest uns die Sterne. Sie funkelten. Wir konnten sehen.«

Holger
Registered User
Posts: 1725
Joined: Tue Mar 12, 2002 3:54 pm
Location: Hannover

Re: [DEV] @Mention System

Post by Holger » Wed Feb 04, 2015 2:31 pm

In info_acp_mentions.php I find

Code: Select all

'MENTIONS_ACT_VOTES_HIDE'							=> 'Activate hide votes',
What does that mean?

User avatar
frax
Registered User
Posts: 44
Joined: Thu Dec 11, 2014 4:10 pm
Location: Cosenza
Name: Frax C.
Contact:

Re: [DEV] @Mention System

Post by frax » Wed Feb 04, 2015 2:32 pm

Hi. I tested it on my forum in the standard configuration and currently creates huge slowdown.

User avatar
Wolfsblvt
Registered User
Posts: 634
Joined: Sun Oct 26, 2014 9:12 pm
Location: Solingen, Germany
Contact:

Re: [DEV] @Mention System

Post by Wolfsblvt » Wed Feb 04, 2015 2:44 pm

Holger wrote:In info_acp_mentions.php I find

Code: Select all

'MENTIONS_ACT_VOTES_HIDE'							=> 'Activate hide votes',
What does that mean?
Oh lol. That's a copy'n'paste fail. Just remove that line. I'll do that for the next version in my language files too.
frax wrote:Hi. I tested it on my forum in the standard configuration and currently creates huge slowdown.
How many users do you have?
And can you maybe give me the testing output as I've described in the first post?
I mean this:
Wolfsblvt wrote:Whoever has a board with many many users should test that extension and tell me if it is slowing down the site.
For this, I have implemented a small runtime tracking function in the dev version. So all you have to do is create some posts with mentions of all kind (especially the @mention please) in a thread, and then add the parameter measure_time=1 to the url of the thread. The site will load several seconds then and it will lead to an output of runtime. I would be pleased if you could post some of those times here, especially when the runtome takes more than a few miliseconds.
If you have a specific extension request and you are willing to pay for, you can write me a PM.
My extensions (Trending: @Mention SystemAdvanced PollsUser Online Time)

»Du kamst zu uns. Deine Stimme kam. Du zeigtest uns die Sterne. Sie funkelten. Wir konnten sehen.«

Holger
Registered User
Posts: 1725
Joined: Tue Mar 12, 2002 3:54 pm
Location: Hannover

Re: [DEV] @Mention System

Post by Holger » Wed Feb 04, 2015 2:49 pm


User avatar
frax
Registered User
Posts: 44
Joined: Thu Dec 11, 2014 4:10 pm
Location: Cosenza
Name: Frax C.
Contact:

Re: [DEV] @Mention System

Post by frax » Wed Feb 04, 2015 2:59 pm

Wolfsblvt wrote:
frax wrote:Hi. I tested it on my forum in the standard configuration and currently creates huge slowdown.
How many users do you have?
And can you maybe give me the testing output as I've described in the first post?
I mean this:
Wolfsblvt wrote:Whoever has a board with many many users should test that extension and tell me if it is slowing down the site.
For this, I have implemented a small runtime tracking function in the dev version. So all you have to do is create some posts with mentions of all kind (especially the @mention please) in a thread, and then add the parameter measure_time=1 to the url of the thread. The site will load several seconds then and it will lead to an output of runtime. I would be pleased if you could post some of those times here, especially when the runtome takes more than a few miliseconds.
I have 6813 users.
Ok...I try...

edit

T: 3.425s | Q: 31 | M: 75.04 MiB

Code: Select all

Runtime of function (100x): 3 seconds. Average: 0.03 seconds.
Runtime of function (100x): 0 seconds. Average: 0 seconds.
Runtime of function (100x): 0 seconds. Average: 0 seconds.
Runtime of function (100x): 0 seconds. Average: 0 seconds.
Runtime of function (100x): 0 seconds. Average: 0 seconds.
Runtime of function (100x): 0 seconds. Average: 0 seconds.
Runtime of function (100x): 0 seconds. Average: 0 seconds.
Runtime of function (100x): 0 seconds. Average: 0 seconds.
Runtime of function (100x): 0 seconds. Average: 0 seconds.
Runtime of function (100x): 0 seconds. Average: 0 seconds.
Runtime of function (100x): 0 seconds. Average: 0 seconds.
Runtime of function (100x): 0 seconds. Average: 0 seconds.
Runtime of function (100x): 0 seconds. Average: 0 seconds.
Runtime of function (100x): 0 seconds. Average: 0 seconds.
Runtime of function (100x): 0 seconds. Average: 0 seconds.
Runtime of function (100x): 0 seconds. Average: 0 seconds.
Runtime of function (100x): 0 seconds. Average: 0 seconds.
Runtime of function (100x): 0 seconds. Average: 0 seconds.
Runtime of function (100x): 0 seconds. Average: 0 seconds.
Runtime of function (100x): 0 seconds. Average: 0 seconds.
Runtime of function (100x): 0 seconds. Average: 0 seconds.
Runtime of function (100x): 0 seconds. Average: 0 seconds.
Runtime of function (100x): 0 seconds. Average: 0 seconds.
Runtime of function (100x): 0 seconds. Average: 0 seconds.
Runtime of function (100x): 0 seconds. Average: 0 seconds.
Runtime of function (100x): 0 seconds. Average: 0 seconds.
Runtime of function (100x): 0 seconds. Average: 0 seconds.
Runtime of function (100x): 0 seconds. Average: 0 seconds.
Runtime of function (100x): 1 seconds. Average: 0.01 seconds.

User avatar
Wolfsblvt
Registered User
Posts: 634
Joined: Sun Oct 26, 2014 9:12 pm
Location: Solingen, Germany
Contact:

Re: [DEV] @Mention System

Post by Wolfsblvt » Wed Feb 04, 2015 3:17 pm

frax wrote:I have 6813 users.
Ok...I try...

edit

T: 3.425s | Q: 31 | M: 75.04 MiB
Is this the output of the page wich is slow?

The numbers seem to be very good. Not even a deci-second for parsing a post. That's like it should be.
With this call the page will be slow of course, cause it measures the time 100 times for each post, so it took 4 seconds, wich is also correct.

I am not sure if the slowdown of your site is cause by my extension. Can you verify by deactivating the extension again and see if it is faster?
If you have a specific extension request and you are willing to pay for, you can write me a PM.
My extensions (Trending: @Mention SystemAdvanced PollsUser Online Time)

»Du kamst zu uns. Deine Stimme kam. Du zeigtest uns die Sterne. Sie funkelten. Wir konnten sehen.«

Locked

Return to “Abandoned Extensions”