[ABD] @Mention System

Any abandoned Extensions will be moved to this forum.

WARNING: Extensions in this forum are not currently being supported or maintained by the original Extension author. Proceed at your own risk.
Forum rules
IMPORTANT: Extension Development Forum rules

WARNING: Extensions in this forum are not currently being supported nor updated by the original Extension author. Proceed at your own risk.
Locked
FrankPereiro
Registered User
Posts: 59
Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2004 3:36 pm
Location: Spain

Re: [DEV] @Mention System

Post by FrankPereiro » Wed Feb 04, 2015 7:38 pm

This is really, really, really great.

I'm going to test it in my forum.

This is great.

[quote="Volksdevil"][/quote]

User avatar
ForoXL
Registered User
Posts: 48
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2015 4:57 pm
Contact:

Re: [DEV] @Mention System

Post by ForoXL » Wed Feb 04, 2015 9:36 pm

Very good work!
http://www.ForoXL.com - Foro dedicado a temas generales

User avatar
Volksdevil
Registered User
Posts: 2414
Joined: Sun Oct 03, 2010 2:03 pm
Location: Lancashire, UK
Name: Neil
Contact:

Re: [DEV] @Mention System

Post by Volksdevil » Wed Feb 04, 2015 10:43 pm

I don't see any bbcodes either, I also use Advanced BBCode Box extension :)

Also, I still can't get the &measure_time=1 to show anything? Do we need debug enabled or something?
My phpBB Extensions
Finally found great Website Hosting from Image KUALO!
Do NOT use 123-reg.co.uk - Incapable of running phpBB!
:ugeek: TekNeil - Streamer on Mixer | My Volkswagen Corrado G60

User avatar
Wolfsblvt
Registered User
Posts: 634
Joined: Sun Oct 26, 2014 9:12 pm
Location: Solingen, Germany
Contact:

Re: [DEV] @Mention System

Post by Wolfsblvt » Wed Feb 04, 2015 11:07 pm

Volksdevil wrote:I don't see any bbcodes either, I also use Advanced BBCode Box extension :)
Yeah, that will be fixed.
Volksdevil wrote:Also, I still can't get the &measure_time=1 to show anything? Do we need debug enabled or something?
As I said, you have to apply that correctly to the url. But maybe your server is suppressing any echo messages. In this case there will not be any display.

You can check how to correctly apply the measure_time parameter here for example: viewtopic.php?p=13933701#p13933701
If you have a specific extension request and you are willing to pay for, you can write me a PM.
My extensions (Trending: @Mention SystemAdvanced PollsUser Online Time)

»Du kamst zu uns. Deine Stimme kam. Du zeigtest uns die Sterne. Sie funkelten. Wir konnten sehen.«

User avatar
Volksdevil
Registered User
Posts: 2414
Joined: Sun Oct 03, 2010 2:03 pm
Location: Lancashire, UK
Name: Neil
Contact:

Re: [DEV] @Mention System

Post by Volksdevil » Wed Feb 04, 2015 11:20 pm

Yep, applied as suggested but not joy. I'd have liked to help with the times but seems I can't for some reason...Oh well. At east it does seem to be working OK for me ayway, although I don't have thousands of members as yet.

Image
My phpBB Extensions
Finally found great Website Hosting from Image KUALO!
Do NOT use 123-reg.co.uk - Incapable of running phpBB!
:ugeek: TekNeil - Streamer on Mixer | My Volkswagen Corrado G60

User avatar
Wolfsblvt
Registered User
Posts: 634
Joined: Sun Oct 26, 2014 9:12 pm
Location: Solingen, Germany
Contact:

Re: [DEV] @Mention System

Post by Wolfsblvt » Wed Feb 04, 2015 11:38 pm

Volksdevil wrote:Yep, applied as suggested but not joy. I'd have liked to help with the times but seems I can't for some reason...Oh well. At east it does seem to be working OK for me ayway, although I don't have thousands of members as yet.
Have you enabled debug in the config.php file? This could maybe be an option.
If it still not shows up (and you really want to give me that data :P ) you could change a small piece of code for testing this.

Open ext\wolfsblvt\mentions\core\parser.php
Find:

Code: Select all

        if ($is_debug)
        {
            echo "Runtime of function ({$i}x): " . (time() - $start_time) . " seconds. Average: " . (floatval(time() - $start_time) / $i) . " seconds.<br />";
        }
Replace with:

Code: Select all

        if ($is_debug)
        {
            $debug_line = "Runtime of function ({$i}x): " . (time() - $start_time) . " seconds. Average: " . (floatval(time() - $start_time) / $i) . " seconds.";
            $this->template->append_var('DEBUG_OUTPUT', '<br />' . $debug_line);
        }
Debug mode in config file still needs to be active.
Then the debug lines will be added to the debug output in the footer. (This runtime + SQL Explain line at the bottom of your style, if you custom style hopefulle includes it)
If you have a specific extension request and you are willing to pay for, you can write me a PM.
My extensions (Trending: @Mention SystemAdvanced PollsUser Online Time)

»Du kamst zu uns. Deine Stimme kam. Du zeigtest uns die Sterne. Sie funkelten. Wir konnten sehen.«

Blaxis
Registered User
Posts: 52
Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2015 10:11 pm

Re: [DEV] @Mention System

Post by Blaxis » Thu Feb 05, 2015 12:30 am

Firstly, thanks for making this awesome extension!

Well, there is a problem. Autocomplete and suggest feature doesn't work on my forum. However, mentions appear and works after posting the topic/reply.

Board version: 3.1.3
Main style: WoWDraenor
Also tested on prosilver

Anyways, in fact, these features are not really need for me, I like it this way. :)
But it might be problem for other people.

User avatar
Volksdevil
Registered User
Posts: 2414
Joined: Sun Oct 03, 2010 2:03 pm
Location: Lancashire, UK
Name: Neil
Contact:

Re: [DEV] @Mention System

Post by Volksdevil » Thu Feb 05, 2015 3:23 am

Wolfsblvt wrote:
Volksdevil wrote:Yep, applied as suggested but not joy. I'd have liked to help with the times but seems I can't for some reason...Oh well. At east it does seem to be working OK for me ayway, although I don't have thousands of members as yet.
Have you enabled debug in the config.php file? This could maybe be an option.
If it still not shows up (and you really want to give me that data :P ) you could change a small piece of code for testing this.

Open ext\wolfsblvt\mentions\core\parser.php
Find:

Code: Select all

        if ($is_debug)
        {
            echo "Runtime of function ({$i}x): " . (time() - $start_time) . " seconds. Average: " . (floatval(time() - $start_time) / $i) . " seconds.<br />";
        } 
Replace with:

Code: Select all

        if ($is_debug)
        {
            $debug_line = "Runtime of function ({$i}x): " . (time() - $start_time) . " seconds. Average: " . (floatval(time() - $start_time) / $i) . " seconds.";
            $this->template->append_var('DEBUG_OUTPUT', '<br />' . $debug_line);
        } 
Debug mode in config file still needs to be active.
Then the debug lines will be added to the debug output in the footer. (This runtime + SQL Explain line at the bottom of your style, if you custom style hopefulle includes it)
Hi Clemens, just tried this and still nothing shows for me. :) My style does allow debug to show (It's just a slightly modified prosilver)
My phpBB Extensions
Finally found great Website Hosting from Image KUALO!
Do NOT use 123-reg.co.uk - Incapable of running phpBB!
:ugeek: TekNeil - Streamer on Mixer | My Volkswagen Corrado G60

User avatar
VSE
Extensions Development Coordinator
Extensions Development Coordinator
Posts: 4896
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2009 9:37 am
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Name: Matt Friedman
Contact:

Re: [DEV] @Mention System

Post by VSE » Thu Feb 05, 2015 8:23 am

Great work on this so far.

The issue I found is the avatars don't really work in the drop-down. I haven't looked at your code, but you should try {ROOT_PATH} in your template html, that should use the correct paths. If you haven't experienced the missing avatars yourself, maybe try using a board located inside a sub folder.
Dictated but not read.
Official phpBB Extensions My Extensions & MODs
Please do not PM me for support.

User avatar
Wolfsblvt
Registered User
Posts: 634
Joined: Sun Oct 26, 2014 9:12 pm
Location: Solingen, Germany
Contact:

Re: [DEV] @Mention System

Post by Wolfsblvt » Thu Feb 05, 2015 8:55 am

Volksdevil wrote:Hi Clemens, just tried this and still nothing shows for me. :) My style does allow debug to show (It's just a slightly modified prosilver)
But you have activated parsing usernames in text, right? :?
It should at least do something :-/ Strange thing :D
VSE wrote:Great work on this so far.

The issue I found is the avatars don't really work in the drop-down. I haven't looked at your code, but you should try {ROOT_PATH} in your template html, that should use the correct paths. If you haven't experienced the missing avatars yourself, maybe try using a board located inside a sub folder.
Thank you (:

Yeah, the issue was already mentioned: https://github.com/Wolfsblvt/mentions/issues/7
Haven't tested it on a subfolder, so I haven't seen that problem while developing.

I am using $this->path_helper->get_web_root_path() to generate the link. This strangely don't work like expected. I think the problem is that it generates a relative path.
Thought this function would be the correct thing to get the board path on php side.

I can't use {ROOT_PATH}, cause the avatars are applied in javascript code.
Isn't there any function that gives me the correct root path?
If you have a specific extension request and you are willing to pay for, you can write me a PM.
My extensions (Trending: @Mention SystemAdvanced PollsUser Online Time)

»Du kamst zu uns. Deine Stimme kam. Du zeigtest uns die Sterne. Sie funkelten. Wir konnten sehen.«

TheStigP11GT
Registered User
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Jan 03, 2015 1:04 am

Re: [DEV] @Mention System

Post by TheStigP11GT » Thu Feb 05, 2015 11:33 am

Good modification, but I feel it slows down the forum a lot,

User avatar
Wolfsblvt
Registered User
Posts: 634
Joined: Sun Oct 26, 2014 9:12 pm
Location: Solingen, Germany
Contact:

Re: [DEV] @Mention System

Post by Wolfsblvt » Thu Feb 05, 2015 11:41 am

TheStigP11GT wrote:Good modification, but I feel it slows down the forum a lot,
Could be, yes.
As I've said I will try to improve the code for the next version, so it will take less time and consume less ressources.

Meanwhile, would you mind to do the time measuring described in the first post in the last paragraph?
That could help, if I can see how much it slows down the site.
If you have a specific extension request and you are willing to pay for, you can write me a PM.
My extensions (Trending: @Mention SystemAdvanced PollsUser Online Time)

»Du kamst zu uns. Deine Stimme kam. Du zeigtest uns die Sterne. Sie funkelten. Wir konnten sehen.«

TheStigP11GT
Registered User
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Jan 03, 2015 1:04 am

Re: [DEV] @Mention System

Post by TheStigP11GT » Thu Feb 05, 2015 11:42 am

This seems to be the same for all posts:

Image

Before an d after seems to be what is taking its time..

User avatar
Wolfsblvt
Registered User
Posts: 634
Joined: Sun Oct 26, 2014 9:12 pm
Location: Solingen, Germany
Contact:

Re: [DEV] @Mention System

Post by Wolfsblvt » Thu Feb 05, 2015 11:59 am

TheStigP11GT wrote:Before an d after seems to be what is taking its time..
Thank you for the data.
Yeah, I think it is something different than the parsing. I have a guess wich may be the problem.

So yeah, wait for the next version. Then I need you all to test again.
If you have a specific extension request and you are willing to pay for, you can write me a PM.
My extensions (Trending: @Mention SystemAdvanced PollsUser Online Time)

»Du kamst zu uns. Deine Stimme kam. Du zeigtest uns die Sterne. Sie funkelten. Wir konnten sehen.«

User avatar
PayBas
Former Team Member
Posts: 930
Joined: Thu May 25, 2006 12:37 am

Re: [DEV] @Mention System

Post by PayBas » Thu Feb 05, 2015 1:12 pm

If you manage to pull this off (without making the boards significantly slower) I feel this will quickly become one of the most popular extensions for 3.1.x ;).

Locked

Return to “Abandoned Extensions”