[ABD] Sidebar

Any abandoned Extensions will be moved to this forum.

WARNING: Extensions in this forum are not currently being supported or maintained by the original Extension author. Proceed at your own risk.
Forum rules
IMPORTANT: Extension Development Forum rules

WARNING: Extensions in this forum are not currently being supported nor updated by the original Extension author. Proceed at your own risk.
elawrenc
Registered User
Posts: 136
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2011 2:41 pm

Re: [DEV] Sidebar

Post by elawrenc »

How about latest posts?
User avatar
Pixel8r
Registered User
Posts: 177
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2009 4:39 pm
Contact:

Re: [DEV] Sidebar

Post by Pixel8r »

Dankees wrote:That Twitter sidebar looks cool.

Did you design it, yet, for 3.1, Pixel8r?
Well seeing as it just HTML it isn't really version specific. My previous version should be easy adapted for the new phpBB. I have only just installed v3.1.3 on my test forum and will be starting playing with getting the twitter feed working when I get some time.

When I do I'll post the code here if you like.
24knews.com - We live on the edge of chaos.
User avatar
Pixel8r
Registered User
Posts: 177
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2009 4:39 pm
Contact:

Re: [DEV] Sidebar

Post by Pixel8r »

Mick wrote:
Pixel8r wrote:make the sidebar move below/above the threads when the screen went down below a certain size
I was under the impression it did that anyway? I'm pretty certain I checked it and the sidebar moves to the bottom of the forums, I'll look again later to make sure.

Edit: It actually moves the sidebars below statistics horizontally which I believe is the normal responsive action?
Great, sorry haven't had time to play with it yet.
24knews.com - We live on the edge of chaos.
User avatar
Pixel8r
Registered User
Posts: 177
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2009 4:39 pm
Contact:

Re: [DEV] Sidebar

Post by Pixel8r »

Dankees wrote:Will other code work in there?

(Is there an easy way to make a Twitter feed in HTML that you know of?)
Yes that is easy. You just embed a twitter timeline and use it to access a list that you have created.

This page details stuff - https://dev.twitter.com/web/embedded-timelines
24knews.com - We live on the edge of chaos.
User avatar
Dankees
Registered User
Posts: 246
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2015 2:27 am

Re: [DEV] Sidebar

Post by Dankees »

Very cool, thank you.
User avatar
Pixel8r
Registered User
Posts: 177
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2009 4:39 pm
Contact:

Re: [DEV] Sidebar

Post by Pixel8r »

I have dropped my previous code into the sidebar and it all appears to be working. :)

The one problem I have is the twitter widget is responsive to the parent element but has a minimum width of 180px. It seems the sidebar code goes smaller than this before shifting the box below. Is there anyway this could be changed to a min width of 180px?

You can check out what I have going on so far here - http://dev.24knews.com

The above is just a development version of my site.

Previously I used different heights depending if a user was logged in or not, so that it matched the height of the forums displayed. I will probably try and sort that again at some point.

Use this link to create your own twitter widget from you own created twitter list - https://twitter.com/settings/widgets

It creates the HTML code for you to drop straight into the sidebar.
24knews.com - We live on the edge of chaos.
User avatar
Pixel8r
Registered User
Posts: 177
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2009 4:39 pm
Contact:

Re: [DEV] Sidebar

Post by Pixel8r »

Have managed to get things working better by tweaking the sidebar.css file for the twitter feed. Have changed it to read this and seems to be about right; :)

Code: Select all

@media screen and (min-width: 950px){

#page-body {
    margin: 4px 0;
    clear: both;
    width:75%;
    float:left;
}  

 .page-sidebar {
float:right;
margin-top:4px;
width:24%;
min-width: 192px;
}  
24knews.com - We live on the edge of chaos.
User avatar
Pixel8r
Registered User
Posts: 177
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2009 4:39 pm
Contact:

Re: [DEV] Sidebar

Post by Pixel8r »

I have now noticed how the sidebar displays below when you are on any other page. For instance if you enter the UCP you will see the sidebar below it.

Is there a way to make it only display on the index pages? Previously it was used by modifying the index_body template. This would be a big improvement I think.
24knews.com - We live on the edge of chaos.
User avatar
cece74
Registered User
Posts: 498
Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2015 8:55 pm

Re: [DEV] Sidebar

Post by cece74 »

A little patience. The'm doing.

Image
User avatar
Pixel8r
Registered User
Posts: 177
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2009 4:39 pm
Contact:

Re: [DEV] Sidebar

Post by Pixel8r »

Thanks :)
24knews.com - We live on the edge of chaos.
User avatar
cece74
Registered User
Posts: 498
Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2015 8:55 pm

Re: [DEV] Sidebar

Post by cece74 »

First post update
Ver. 0.0.2
User avatar
Raul [ThE KuKa]
Style Customisations
Style Customisations
Posts: 8614
Joined: Mon Dec 08, 2003 9:24 pm
Location: Spain
Name: Raul Arroyo
Contact:

Re: [DEV] Sidebar

Post by Raul [ThE KuKa] »

Nice work, in "responvise" looks good now, moving the sidebar at the end of the list of forums.

Good job! :)
All unsolicited PMs will be ignored.
:warning: Knowledge Base | Documentation | Board rules | phpBB Styles Rules & Policies | Styles Queue Stats :warning:


If you like my styles, translations, etc. and want to show some appreciation, then feel free to Donate.
:flag_es: phpBB Spain - Online Since 2003 :heart:


User avatar
Pixel8r
Registered User
Posts: 177
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2009 4:39 pm
Contact:

Re: [DEV] Sidebar

Post by Pixel8r »

cece74 wrote:First post update
Ver. 0.0.2
Have installed but can't see the ACP settings for sidebar added anywhere and I now just have a blank sidebar on the left.
24knews.com - We live on the edge of chaos.
Sippan
Registered User
Posts: 175
Joined: Thu Jan 27, 2011 6:23 am
Contact:

Re: [DEV] Sidebar

Post by Sippan »

Pixel8r wrote:
cece74 wrote:First post update<br abp="571">Ver. 0.0.2
<br abp="572">Have installed but can't see the ACP settings for sidebar added anywhere and I now just have a blank sidebar on the left.
I have same...
User avatar
cece74
Registered User
Posts: 498
Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2015 8:55 pm

Re: [DEV] Sidebar

Post by cece74 »

But don't appears to ACP?

Image
Locked

Return to “Abandoned Extensions”