[ABD] WP Phpbb Unicorn - bridges

Any abandoned Extensions will be moved to this forum.

WARNING: Extensions in this forum are not currently being supported or maintained by the original Extension author. Proceed at your own risk.
Forum rules
IMPORTANT: Extension Development Forum rules

WARNING: Extensions in this forum are not currently being supported nor updated by the original Extension author. Proceed at your own risk.
User avatar
trilobyte550m
Registered User
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun May 06, 2012 8:54 am

Re: [ALPHA] WP Phpbb Unicorn - bridges

Post by trilobyte550m »

This sounds pretty awesome. Are there any demo or test installations that I could see it in action, or is it too early for that?

GeekySweetie
Registered User
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Feb 23, 2016 1:22 am

Re: [ALPHA] WP Phpbb Unicorn - bridges

Post by GeekySweetie »

Hi, I tried to test out the wordpress plugin today. I get the following error when attempting to activate:

Plugin could not be activated because it triggered a fatal error.

Parse error: syntax error, unexpected '[' in /home/content/08/8097208/html/geekysweetie/wp-content/plugins/wpphpbbunicorn-master/wpphpbbunicorn.php on line 96

I took a look at the php file.

Line 96 says

Code: Select all

$add_to_forums = [];
Not sure how to fix this.

Sure would like to have the ability to crosspost from wordpress to phpbb. :)

User avatar
Mauron
Registered User
Posts: 342
Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2014 11:25 am

Re: [ALPHA] WP Phpbb Unicorn - bridges

Post by Mauron »

PHP 5.3 is End Of Life, therefore lots of extensions won't work with it.

GeekySweetie
Registered User
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Feb 23, 2016 1:22 am

Re: [ALPHA] WP Phpbb Unicorn - bridges

Post by GeekySweetie »

I'm not sure if that comment was in response to my error above, but if so, I just wanted to say I'm running 5.5 not 5.3 :)

Would still love to use the crosspost feature if I could get help debugging the script...

User avatar
Mauron
Registered User
Posts: 342
Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2014 11:25 am

Re: [ALPHA] WP Phpbb Unicorn - bridges

Post by Mauron »

Well yes: that sort of error generally indicates that there is a running PHP version <= 5.3 (since it doesn't provide array declarations with squared brackets), hence my answer.

Wardormeur
Registered User
Posts: 142
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2013 9:22 am

Re: [ALPHA] WP Phpbb Unicorn - bridges

Post by Wardormeur »

You should look over your provider web interface to switch the PHP version to a more recent one, that should be enough :)
trilobyte550m wrote:This sounds pretty awesome. Are there any demo or test installations that I could see it in action, or is it too early for that?
Alas nothing online yet

User avatar
trilobyte550m
Registered User
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun May 06, 2012 8:54 am

Re: [ALPHA] WP Phpbb Unicorn - bridges

Post by trilobyte550m »

Thanks for the response, I'll keep an eye out for someone posting something in the future. Good luck with the project!

elawrenc
Registered User
Posts: 127
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2011 2:41 pm

Re: [ALPHA] WP Phpbb Unicorn - bridges

Post by elawrenc »

I've been stuck on other coding projects unfortunately but there doesn't seem to be any error feedback from this latest update. That's a very good sign!

Im going to try to test this weekend.

twm49
Registered User
Posts: 27
Joined: Fri Dec 18, 2015 12:42 am
Location: Milan - Italy
Contact:

Re: [ALPHA] WP Phpbb Unicorn - bridges

Post by twm49 »

Good job. The tests did not reveal any errors, for now :D
I think it can "promote" from [ALPHA] to [BETA]

:oops: translate with google
Tito sorry my bad English
php 7.1.11 - PhpBB 3.2.8 => 3rotaie.it
Sito ufficiale italiano per l'assistenza phpBB

elawrenc
Registered User
Posts: 127
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2011 2:41 pm

Re: [ALPHA] WP Phpbb Unicorn - bridges

Post by elawrenc »

I ran the sync on the PHPBB side, I knew it was going to time out but I wanted to look at the data.

This warning popped up a few times.

[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/ext/wardormeur/phpbbwpunicorn/user.php on line 128: Invalid argument supplied for foreach()

Wardormeur
Registered User
Posts: 142
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2013 9:22 am

Re: [ALPHA] WP Phpbb Unicorn - bridges

Post by Wardormeur »

It seems to mean than a phpbb user is not having any group.
Is that even valid on phpbb?
I'll still add a check for it, but it seems a bit odd to me :)

Edit confirmed when no groupps is attached to the user, in this case the default group will be used

elawrenc
Registered User
Posts: 127
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2011 2:41 pm

Re: [ALPHA] WP Phpbb Unicorn - bridges

Post by elawrenc »

I see what you mean. Maybe Default ROLE should be subscriber for everyone except UNREGISTERED or GUEST?
Then the admin manually go in WP and change ROLES for administrator? Perhaps have an extra column in PHPBB for the mapping or however you want to do it.

:| :?:

Wardormeur
Registered User
Posts: 142
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2013 9:22 am

Re: [ALPHA] WP Phpbb Unicorn - bridges

Post by Wardormeur »

NONE in WP is also a role, so we're basically missing "None" option (aka the user is not having any role) plus the option to not synchronize anything (aka usage for bots & banned & etc)
Does this sounds alrgiht ?
This is starting to get spaghettish :mrgreen:

User avatar
3Di
Former Team Member
Posts: 14834
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2005 11:09 pm
Location: Milan (IT) Frankfurt (DE)
Name: Marco
Contact:

Re: [ALPHA] WP Phpbb Unicorn - bridges

Post by 3Di »

Wardormeur wrote: This is starting to get spaghettish :mrgreen:
I do luuv spaghetti, btw. Image ;)
Please PM me only to request paid works. Thx.
Want to compensate me for my interest? Donate
My development's activity º PhpStorm's proud user
Extensions, Scripts, MOD porting, Update/Upgrades
:studio_microphone: Premium extensions @ The Studio

Wardormeur
Registered User
Posts: 142
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2013 9:22 am

Re: [ALPHA] WP Phpbb Unicorn - bridges

Post by Wardormeur »

Latest code uploaded, contains support for group-based events (phpbb 3.1.8) so that the group is automatically reflected on group change

Also support for empty groups and non-sync
Also fix for the upper bug when the user was having no groups

That's it :)

Locked

Return to “Abandoned Extensions”