[ABD] Mobile Notifier

Any abandoned Extensions will be moved to this forum.

WARNING: Extensions in this forum are not currently being supported or maintained by the original Extension author. Proceed at your own risk.
Forum rules
IMPORTANT: Extension Development Forum rules

WARNING: Extensions in this forum are not currently being supported nor updated by the original Extension author. Proceed at your own risk.
User avatar
Volksdevil
Registered User
Posts: 2414
Joined: Sun Oct 03, 2010 2:03 pm
Location: Lancashire, UK
Name: Neil
Contact:

Re: [DEV] Whatsapp Notifier

Post by Volksdevil » Fri Jun 12, 2015 11:17 pm

This sounds interesting, but I don't understand all the password/phone number stuff. Is it to set a phone number that all notifications come from?
My phpBB Extensions
Finally found great Website Hosting from Image KUALO!
Do NOT use 123-reg.co.uk - Incapable of running phpBB!
:ugeek: TekNeil - Streamer on Mixer | My Volkswagen Corrado G60

User avatar
tas2580
Registered User
Posts: 295
Joined: Wed May 30, 2007 1:56 am
Location: Stuttgart, Germany
Contact:

Re: [DEV] Whatsapp Notifier

Post by tas2580 » Fri Jun 12, 2015 11:35 pm

Whatsapp is based on XMPP protocol, so you need a username and a password. Normally you have a phone to use Whatsapp, so your phone number is your user name and the password is generated in the background (you receive a SMS on first start). Every time you install Whatsapp on a new phone a new password will be generated.
Here we have no phone so we must fake a little bit to get a valid login.

The login data is used for a Whatsapp account that sends the messages to the users. You can use every phone number on that you can receive SMS or phone calls. That means you can also use a public phone box (in germany you can call phone boxes, I don't know how it is in other countries). You can also use the phone number that I gave in the first post, but than some one can change the avatar or status so it might be better to use your own phone number.

User avatar
Volksdevil
Registered User
Posts: 2414
Joined: Sun Oct 03, 2010 2:03 pm
Location: Lancashire, UK
Name: Neil
Contact:

Re: [DEV] Whatsapp Notifier

Post by Volksdevil » Sat Jun 13, 2015 1:15 am

OK cool, thanks for the explanation.

Where is this typed though? In the extension somewhere?
To install yowsup type:

apt-get install python-dateutil
wget https://github.com/tgalal/yowsup/archive/master.zip
unzip master.zip
cd yowsup-master/
nano config.cfg
After that enter: (Replace 49 with your country code)

cc=49
phone=49{PHONE NUMBER} (without 0 at the beginning)
id=
password=
Then save the file and go back to console and type python yowsup-cli registration -c config.cfg -r sms Now you should get a SMS with a code, type: python yowsup-cli registration -c config.cfg -R {YOUR CODE WITHOUT -}
My phpBB Extensions
Finally found great Website Hosting from Image KUALO!
Do NOT use 123-reg.co.uk - Incapable of running phpBB!
:ugeek: TekNeil - Streamer on Mixer | My Volkswagen Corrado G60

User avatar
tas2580
Registered User
Posts: 295
Joined: Wed May 30, 2007 1:56 am
Location: Stuttgart, Germany
Contact:

Re: [DEV] Whatsapp Notifier

Post by tas2580 » Sat Jun 13, 2015 1:25 am

No, this are Linux (Debian/Ubuntu) commands, if you use Windows you can use WART to get the password. Or send me a PM with your phone number and I can order the SMS for you.

User avatar
Volksdevil
Registered User
Posts: 2414
Joined: Sun Oct 03, 2010 2:03 pm
Location: Lancashire, UK
Name: Neil
Contact:

Re: [DEV] Whatsapp Notifier

Post by Volksdevil » Sat Jun 13, 2015 2:13 am

Yeah that would be cool thanks. Just that I don't like installing things on my PC. I'll get a SIM card sorted first :)

While I'm here...If I buy a pay as you go SIM, once activated or whatever, everything will still work once I remove the SIM? Sorry for the simple questions.
My phpBB Extensions
Finally found great Website Hosting from Image KUALO!
Do NOT use 123-reg.co.uk - Incapable of running phpBB!
:ugeek: TekNeil - Streamer on Mixer | My Volkswagen Corrado G60

User avatar
tas2580
Registered User
Posts: 295
Joined: Wed May 30, 2007 1:56 am
Location: Stuttgart, Germany
Contact:

Re: [DEV] Whatsapp Notifier

Post by tas2580 » Sat Jun 13, 2015 2:37 am

After activating you can remove the SIM card.

You need it only one time to receive the SMS with the code. If you have a phone number that can't receive SMS I can also trigger a phone call. So if you can't get a SIM card for free and if you don't want to spend money search for a public phone box and search its phone number. Look for a small sign with its number on it or just call you self from it and look at the number in your display.
If you use a public phone box you need to hope that you are the only freak that register the phone box for whatsapp :ugeek:

If you have a number write me a PM with it, preferably write me a PM first to check that I'm online and have some time.

User avatar
Alex Grigoras
Registered User
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Nov 03, 2014 5:46 pm
Location: Galati
Name: Grigoras Alex
Contact:

Re: [DEV] Whatsapp Notifier

Post by Alex Grigoras » Sat Jun 13, 2015 6:01 am

Hello !

I receive the notification via Whatsapp but, it is possible to have the link clickable inside from the notification ?

User avatar
Alex Grigoras
Registered User
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Nov 03, 2014 5:46 pm
Location: Galati
Name: Grigoras Alex
Contact:

Re: [DEV] Whatsapp Notifier

Post by Alex Grigoras » Sat Jun 13, 2015 6:22 am

Another situation,

It send me the notification whithout the title of my forum. It gives me only the brackets with no content inside: " "

hospitaal
Registered User
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2014 9:41 am

Re: [DEV] Whatsapp Notifier

Post by hospitaal » Sat Jun 13, 2015 1:50 pm

tas2580 wrote:But I know setting the avatar doesn't work at the moment, wait für the next update.
I would also like the settings-feature to work! Is there any other way I can change the name and avatar of the whatsapp-account in the meantime?

Great extension by the way!

User avatar
Volksdevil
Registered User
Posts: 2414
Joined: Sun Oct 03, 2010 2:03 pm
Location: Lancashire, UK
Name: Neil
Contact:

Re: [DEV] Whatsapp Notifier

Post by Volksdevil » Sun Jun 14, 2015 7:13 pm

I echo the above, but I'm sure you will get that working. I tested with the details you provided and it seems to work awesome!

PS: I have the number of a public phone box to try 8-)
tas2580 wrote:Or send me a PM with your phone number and I can order the SMS for you.
My phpBB Extensions
Finally found great Website Hosting from Image KUALO!
Do NOT use 123-reg.co.uk - Incapable of running phpBB!
:ugeek: TekNeil - Streamer on Mixer | My Volkswagen Corrado G60

User avatar
tas2580
Registered User
Posts: 295
Joined: Wed May 30, 2007 1:56 am
Location: Stuttgart, Germany
Contact:

Re: [DEV] Whatsapp Notifier

Post by tas2580 » Sun Jun 14, 2015 9:10 pm

Alex Grigoras wrote:I receive the notification via Whatsapp but, it is possible to have the link clickable inside from the notification ?
On my phone it's clickable. I can't change anything in the messages because I just use the E-Mail template so it works on all notifications, also on notifications that came with other extensions.
Alex Grigoras wrote:It send me the notification whithout the title of my forum. It gives me only the brackets with no content inside: " "
OK, that seems to be a bug, I have the same problem. I will check this.
hospitaal wrote:I would also like the settings-feature to work! Is there any other way I can change the name and avatar of the whatsapp-account in the meantime?
I'am on it. The problem with the status message was a bug in Chat-API that I have fixed now. The problem with the image is a problem in my extension that I will fix with the next version. Just wait, the next version will be ready in the next hours.

User avatar
tas2580
Registered User
Posts: 295
Joined: Wed May 30, 2007 1:56 am
Location: Stuttgart, Germany
Contact:

Re: [DEV] Whatsapp Notifier

Post by tas2580 » Mon Jun 15, 2015 1:22 am

Update to 0.1.2, all known bugs are fixed and as a new feature users can select there country code with a dropdown, I think that makes it more easy for your users to enter there phone number in the right format.

If you use the english language file you need to translate the country names I spend about 4 hours today to search all country codes and entered them to the code of this extension, so today its to late for me to translate that all into english. Maybe I will do that tomorrow until it's not translated feel free to do that and send a pull request ;)

User avatar
Volksdevil
Registered User
Posts: 2414
Joined: Sun Oct 03, 2010 2:03 pm
Location: Lancashire, UK
Name: Neil
Contact:

Re: [DEV] Whatsapp Notifier

Post by Volksdevil » Mon Jun 15, 2015 2:31 am

Hi Tas,

Just a quick one. I'm currently on the older version just before this update... Upon administering a user (Editing their profile in ACP) I noticed that my own phone number is showing in the whatsapp field. Is this normal?

I checked another user, and my phone number is in theirs too.
My phpBB Extensions
Finally found great Website Hosting from Image KUALO!
Do NOT use 123-reg.co.uk - Incapable of running phpBB!
:ugeek: TekNeil - Streamer on Mixer | My Volkswagen Corrado G60

User avatar
tas2580
Registered User
Posts: 295
Joined: Wed May 30, 2007 1:56 am
Location: Stuttgart, Germany
Contact:

Re: [DEV] Whatsapp Notifier

Post by tas2580 » Mon Jun 15, 2015 2:40 am

No that's not normal, but I have found the problem and will fix it as soon as possible, thanks for reporting.

User avatar
Volksdevil
Registered User
Posts: 2414
Joined: Sun Oct 03, 2010 2:03 pm
Location: Lancashire, UK
Name: Neil
Contact:

Re: [DEV] Whatsapp Notifier

Post by Volksdevil » Mon Jun 15, 2015 2:43 am

No worries.

I just used my test account.

Added a random phone number.
Submitted.

Viewed in ACP with my noral admin account - My own phone number showed instead.

Submitted.

Now the user has my phone number in their profile.
My phpBB Extensions
Finally found great Website Hosting from Image KUALO!
Do NOT use 123-reg.co.uk - Incapable of running phpBB!
:ugeek: TekNeil - Streamer on Mixer | My Volkswagen Corrado G60

Locked

Return to “Abandoned Extensions”

cron