Steps to change passwords

Get help with installation and running phpBB 3.2.x here. Please do not post bug reports, feature requests, or extension related questions here.
Post Reply
User avatar
Farmer Dusty
Registered User
Posts: 208
Joined: Thu Jun 28, 2007 1:40 am

Steps to change passwords

Post by Farmer Dusty » Sun Mar 19, 2017 10:51 pm

I know this is phpbb level kindergarten, but I'll be damned if I can find a way to change passwords? Could anybody please create a step-by-step password change process?

User avatar
JimA
Community Team Leader
Community Team Leader
Posts: 7005
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2008 5:54 am
Location: The Netherlands
Name: Jim Mossing Holsteyn
Contact:

Re: Steps to change passwords

Post by JimA » Sun Mar 19, 2017 11:03 pm

It's in your User Control Panel -> Profile -> Edit account settings
Last edited by JimA on Mon Mar 20, 2017 11:33 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Corrected my initial mistake, oops! :)
Image Jim Mossing Holsteyn - Community Team Leader
Knowledge Base | Documentation | Board rules

If you're having any questions about the rules/customs of this website, feel free to drop me a PM.

User avatar
Farmer Dusty
Registered User
Posts: 208
Joined: Thu Jun 28, 2007 1:40 am

Re: Steps to change passwords

Post by Farmer Dusty » Mon Mar 20, 2017 12:38 am

Nope!
Screen shot 2017-03-19 at 5.36.59 PM.png
Nope
Screen shot 2017-03-19 at 5.36.59 PM.png (41.29 KiB) Viewed 220 times

User avatar
Farmer Dusty
Registered User
Posts: 208
Joined: Thu Jun 28, 2007 1:40 am

Re: Steps to change passwords

Post by Farmer Dusty » Mon Mar 20, 2017 1:16 am

Got it. I can do it in the ACP. It's just that I haven't access for so long.

User avatar
3Di
Registered User
Posts: 11705
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2005 11:09 pm
Location: Milano - Frankfurt
Name: Marco
Contact:

Re: Steps to change passwords

Post by 3Di » Mon Mar 20, 2017 1:37 am

You can do it in User Control Panel->Profile->Edit account settings
.
ucp_change_pw.png
Want to compensate me for my interest? Donate
Please PM me only to request paid works. Thx.
Extensions, Scripts, MOD porting, Update/Upgrades

User avatar
Farmer Dusty
Registered User
Posts: 208
Joined: Thu Jun 28, 2007 1:40 am

Re: Steps to change passwords

Post by Farmer Dusty » Mon Mar 20, 2017 3:42 pm

But when the password you are trying to change is not being recognized and you need that password in order to make the change, it...well, at least I got the dang thing done.

However, the original password is still not being recognized and to compound the problem, every time I log-in I have to delete or over write the troublesome unrecognized password.

User avatar
stevemaury
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 47786
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2006 12:21 am
Location: The U.P.
Name: Steve
Contact:

Re: Steps to change passwords

Post by stevemaury » Mon Mar 20, 2017 4:13 pm

That is a browser issue. Your browser is autocompleting that field.
For REALLY good and VERY inexpensive hosting CLICK HERE

All unsolicited PMs will be ignored.

User avatar
Lumpy Burgertushie
Registered User
Posts: 63196
Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 3:11 am
Contact:

Re: Steps to change passwords

Post by Lumpy Burgertushie » Mon Mar 20, 2017 4:52 pm

Farmer Dusty wrote:
Mon Mar 20, 2017 3:42 pm
But when the password you are trying to change is not being recognized and you need that password in order to make the change, it...well, at least I got the dang thing done.

However, the original password is still not being recognized and to compound the problem, every time I log-in I have to delete or over write the troublesome unrecognized password.
please let me know exactly what you are trying to do and why. I have checked and the change password system on your board is working fine for me.

robert
I am available for custom work on a donation basis. Please send me a PM with your needs.
Premium phpBB 3.2 Styles by PlanetStyles.net

New phpbb 3.0 support site

User avatar
Farmer Dusty
Registered User
Posts: 208
Joined: Thu Jun 28, 2007 1:40 am

Re: Steps to change passwords

Post by Farmer Dusty » Tue Mar 21, 2017 12:09 am

I select my admin, Sister Slaughter, the password is auto provided. Now I have 2 options, click "log-in" or over-ride the hidden password and manually input the changed password. If I simply click "log-in" I am directed to another log-in screen:

"You have specified an incorrect password. Please check your password and try again. If you continue to have problems please contact the Board Administrator."

Now, I again select my admin and manually over-ride the incorrect hidden password with the changed one and proceed.

I used the ACP to change the password, but the log-in still recognizes another password. Hmmnn, could it be a cache issue"

User avatar
P_I
Registered User
Posts: 784
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2011 8:35 pm
Location: Calgary
Contact:

Re: Steps to change passwords

Post by P_I » Tue Mar 21, 2017 12:11 am

Farmer Dusty wrote:
Tue Mar 21, 2017 12:09 am
I select my admin, Sister Slaughter, the password is auto provided.
I'm pretty sure that would be your browser auto providing the password. What browser (and OS) are you using?
Normal people… believe that if it ain’t broke, don’t fix it. Engineers believe that if it ain’t broke, it doesn’t have enough features yet. – Scott Adams

User avatar
Farmer Dusty
Registered User
Posts: 208
Joined: Thu Jun 28, 2007 1:40 am

Re: Steps to change passwords

Post by Farmer Dusty » Tue Mar 21, 2017 3:33 am

P_I wrote:
Tue Mar 21, 2017 12:11 am
I'm pretty sure that would be your browser auto providing the password. What browser (and OS) are you using?
By golly, you nailed it. Somehow FireFox saved my log-in and provided the log-in when it recognized me. I tried several times to duplicate FireFox auto save but the feature does not work on this version. Probably removed it because of problems like this.

Looks like you're a p_i. This verified it. Thanks.

User avatar
P_I
Registered User
Posts: 784
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2011 8:35 pm
Location: Calgary
Contact:

Re: Steps to change passwords

Post by P_I » Tue Mar 21, 2017 3:42 am

Glad to have helped. Since you mentioned Firefox, you might want to review Control whether Firefox automatically fills in forms - Mozilla Support Community
Normal people… believe that if it ain’t broke, don’t fix it. Engineers believe that if it ain’t broke, it doesn’t have enough features yet. – Scott Adams

Post Reply

Return to “[3.2.x] Support Forum”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests

cron