Error 500 when loading Ban IPs

Get help with installation and running phpBB 3.2.x here. Please do not post bug reports, feature requests, or extension related questions here.
stillthere
Registered User
Posts: 45
Joined: Thu Sep 02, 2004 10:52 pm
Location: New York, NY

Error 500 when loading Ban IPs

Post by stillthere » Fri Nov 10, 2017 9:34 pm

ironically ban by emails loads in moderator control panel and ACP but when Ban IP's selected in either:

This page isn’t working

<domainname> is currently unable to handle this request.
HTTP ERROR 500

on same network/server, launch 3.1.1 forum, Ban IPs loads just fine, in fact all pages load w/o any errors. only thing new: blocked by a bunch of Russian IP's attacking forum. now can't block their Poland and Ukraine buddies because of this error. only option is to manually add each ip w/in the range one by one by using insert directly in database, and that includes writing down each value in IP, then creating a query to insert all.

only option: disable signups at forum. kinda defeats purpose though. :shock:
:idea: We must create an atmosphere where the dishonest cop fears the honest cop, not the other way around. -Frank Serpico

janus_zonstraal
Registered User
Posts: 1751
Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2014 1:30 pm

Re: Error 500 when loading Ban IPs

Post by janus_zonstraal » Fri Nov 10, 2017 9:43 pm

It is complete useless to block IP addresses.
Instead use a good Q&A captcha
Sorry! My English is bat ;) !!!

stillthere
Registered User
Posts: 45
Joined: Thu Sep 02, 2004 10:52 pm
Location: New York, NY

Re: Error 500 when loading Ban IPs

Post by stillthere » Fri Nov 10, 2017 9:57 pm

for signups?? there's phpbb's "Spambot countermeasures" for signing up.

so either someone is manually signing up while exploiting networks or they've managed to exploit phpbb's Spambot countermeasure. every few seconds another signup, so disabled signup to slow down their script.

their M.O.: signup while claiming location is Burma or Mexico BUT using IP from Poland, Russia, Germany or a US based server. most recent signups a few minutes ago, w/a different GorillaServers range. bios have profile URL for malicious content sites, and all are specifically/consistently using the Occupation profile field to list a fake occupation but leave all other fields blank.

username: Mbyboago
37.57.45.247
37.57.45.0 - 37.57.45.255
netname: TRIOLAN
country: UA - Ukraine
rhtngjfjhf@gmail.com
bio states Guatemala location BUT using UKRAINE IP

LeighSaics
77.243.183.79
77.243.183.64 - 77.243.183.95
fredfoxerty@gmail.com
bio states location is JAPAN but using GERMANY IP
netnum: 77.243.183.64 - 77.243.183.95
netname: Cyberghost-Frankfurt-Servers
descr: Cyberghost-Frankfurt-Servers
country: DE

Corpok94
79.184.216.210
inetnum: 79.184.0.0 - 79.184.255.255
netname: Orange-Swiatlowod
descr: Orange Swiatgowod
country: Poland
s.la.wom.ira8.9.hwojda.k@gmail.com
claims Burma location BUT using POLAND IP

BrianAmody
192.200.122.146
NetRange: 192.200.96.0 - 192.200.127.255
Organization: GorillaServers, Inc. (GORIL-3)

PrestonK
79.184.200.115
s.l.a.wo.m.ira.8.9hw.ojd.ak@gmail.com - same as Corpok94 above
but claims location is Australia this time

BrettBri
79.184.185.109
slaw.o.m.ir.a.89hw.o.jd.ak@gmail.com
same as Corpok94 above but claims location is Germany
:idea: We must create an atmosphere where the dishonest cop fears the honest cop, not the other way around. -Frank Serpico

User avatar
stevemaury
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 47895
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2006 12:21 am
Location: The U.P.
Name: Steve
Contact:

Re: Error 500 when loading Ban IPs

Post by stevemaury » Sat Nov 11, 2017 12:52 am

Please fill out the Support Request Template and post it back here to enable us to assist you better.
For REALLY good and VERY inexpensive hosting CLICK HERE

All unsolicited PMs will be ignored.

stillthere
Registered User
Posts: 45
Joined: Thu Sep 02, 2004 10:52 pm
Location: New York, NY

Re: Error 500 when loading Ban IPs

Post by stillthere » Sat Nov 11, 2017 1:21 am

Support Request Template
What version of phpBB are you using? phpBB 3.2.1
What is your board's URL? unsafe to provide given spammers targeting it now
Who do you host your board with? unsafe to provide given spammers targeting it now
How did you install your board? I used the download package from phpBB.com
What is the most recent action performed on your board? Fresh Install
Is registration required to reproduce this issue? No
Do you have any MODs installed? No
Do you have any extensions installed? Yes
What extensions do you have installed? Enabled Extensions
Board Announcements 1.0.6
External Links Open in New Window 1.0.6
Pages 2.0.2
VigLink
What styles do you currently have installed? prosilver, Latte
What language(s) is your board currently using? English only
Which database type/version are you using? MySQL 5
What is your level of experience? Experienced with PHP and phpBB
What actions did you take (updating your board; installing a MOD, style or extension; etc.) prior to this problem becoming noticeable? newly installed 3.2.1 as I was UNABLE to update from 3.1.1, so literally had to start over. I configured forum before adding any users, added forum logo, cleared cache, loaded forum and received Error 500 w/o any user data, forums. etc. --clearing cache, then loading forum problem has stopped, then again, I'm not doing anything w/ the design any further, and the error occurred w/ 0 user data after a fresh install

added forums, permissions, etc.
copied users' data from 3.1.1. forum - exported from database, then imported info.
copied forum topics -- exported data only and imported
Please describe your problem. aggressive spammers from Russia, Poland, Latvia, Ukraine began creating new accounts every few seconds, several posted vulgar and pornographic messages -- it's a celebrity site and their content DEGRADES the site, value
I blocked by entire range of addresses for repeat spammers
on server end also blocked by country to prevent (future visits from same area -- this is a US based celebrity w/ zero ties to Russia, Latvia, Poland, Ukraine or any other spam haven area)
another round of spammers show up, block by IP range for one spammer, returned to block next spammer, now experiencing 500 server error ONLY when loading BanIPs, but not when loading Ban Emails or Users for which data is in the same "banlist" table as the IP ranges blocked.

as a test to see if it's corrupted data, exported data from banlist, imported data into 3.1.1 forum, accessed Users and Groups - Ban IPs. no error. this problem is new w/ 3.2.1
Generated by SRT Generator

I can assure you it's not the url nor the hosting company, but I can privately provide the details as I've been using phpbb for decades and have seen the information spammers pick up here to target sites. spammers also use a tool to search for sites with phpbb copyright info. and this I know for sure as a dormant site never advertised was targeted to the point where it was easier to export the database and send all their data to DOJ as what persons posted was beyond disturbing
Last edited by stillthere on Sat Nov 11, 2017 1:31 am, edited 1 time in total.
:idea: We must create an atmosphere where the dishonest cop fears the honest cop, not the other way around. -Frank Serpico

stillthere
Registered User
Posts: 45
Joined: Thu Sep 02, 2004 10:52 pm
Location: New York, NY

Re: Error 500 when loading Ban IPs

Post by stillthere » Sat Nov 11, 2017 1:26 am

and the same block by country rule exists when using 3.1.1 version with same banlist data exported from 3.2.1.
:idea: We must create an atmosphere where the dishonest cop fears the honest cop, not the other way around. -Frank Serpico

User avatar
stevemaury
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 47895
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2006 12:21 am
Location: The U.P.
Name: Steve
Contact:

Re: Error 500 when loading Ban IPs

Post by stevemaury » Sat Nov 11, 2017 2:18 am

Without a link to your board, I cannot help.
For REALLY good and VERY inexpensive hosting CLICK HERE

All unsolicited PMs will be ignored.

stillthere
Registered User
Posts: 45
Joined: Thu Sep 02, 2004 10:52 pm
Location: New York, NY

Re: Error 500 when loading Ban IPs

Post by stillthere » Sat Nov 11, 2017 5:42 pm

the board link is [redacted since this is now irrelevant] (again, NEW install as I couldn't update at all) the OLD forum is [redacted] -- same data, no Error 500 when loading Ban IPs or doing anything
Last edited by stillthere on Sat Nov 11, 2017 11:26 pm, edited 1 time in total.
:idea: We must create an atmosphere where the dishonest cop fears the honest cop, not the other way around. -Frank Serpico

User avatar
stevemaury
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 47895
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2006 12:21 am
Location: The U.P.
Name: Steve
Contact:

Re: Error 500 when loading Ban IPs

Post by stevemaury » Sat Nov 11, 2017 7:54 pm

You cannot just selectively import users and data into a new database. You must follow the procedure to upgrade the old database.
For REALLY good and VERY inexpensive hosting CLICK HERE

All unsolicited PMs will be ignored.

stillthere
Registered User
Posts: 45
Joined: Thu Sep 02, 2004 10:52 pm
Location: New York, NY

Re: Error 500 when loading Ban IPs

Post by stillthere » Sat Nov 11, 2017 11:25 pm

that's a great suggestion, except update failed and I couldn't even update using the CLI option via server because of the size of the database. your script failed.

so I chose the best option instead of going around in circles trying to get something to "work out of the box". second problem which defies "You must follow the procedure to upgrade the old database" (esp. given the table items are the same, including table structure), how is that Ban Emails loads (from same database) but ban IP's won't NOW but did originally. several IPs were blocked long before the failure which only began after blocking Russia. irony, though.
:idea: We must create an atmosphere where the dishonest cop fears the honest cop, not the other way around. -Frank Serpico

stillthere
Registered User
Posts: 45
Joined: Thu Sep 02, 2004 10:52 pm
Location: New York, NY

Re: Error 500 when loading Ban IPs

Post by stillthere » Sat Nov 11, 2017 11:31 pm

stevemaury wrote:
Sat Nov 11, 2017 7:54 pm
You cannot just selectively import users and data into a new database. You must follow the procedure to upgrade the old database.
wait, does this mean you cannot restore forum from a backup after installing 3.2.1, as in newly install 3.2.1, make a backup of ONLY NEW DATA, then for some reason, you have to restore your content (database stored since install), you cannot import into database? or there will be 500 errors?

and what's interesting is banlist table data exported from 3.2.1 back to 3.1.1 forum -- ZERO errors, no error 500 :idea:
:idea: We must create an atmosphere where the dishonest cop fears the honest cop, not the other way around. -Frank Serpico

stillthere
Registered User
Posts: 45
Joined: Thu Sep 02, 2004 10:52 pm
Location: New York, NY

Re: Error 500 when loading Ban IPs

Post by stillthere » Sat Nov 11, 2017 11:43 pm

by the way, I'm installing a new 3.2.1 forum w/ zero data. I want to see if any 500 errors occur, one on same network and another on another network
:idea: We must create an atmosphere where the dishonest cop fears the honest cop, not the other way around. -Frank Serpico

stillthere
Registered User
Posts: 45
Joined: Thu Sep 02, 2004 10:52 pm
Location: New York, NY

Re: Error 500 when loading Ban IPs

Post by stillthere » Thu Nov 16, 2017 8:42 am

stevemaury wrote:
Sat Nov 11, 2017 7:54 pm
You cannot just selectively import users and data into a new database. You must follow the procedure to upgrade the old database.
well, well, well, what have we here... followed instructions to a tee to update smaller forum, received successful update message. load forum indexand begin checking out all: Error 500

I guess we'll wait for the denial stage to end and wait for the next update to address this issue given it's not just "isolated ussers" but an actual problem
:idea: We must create an atmosphere where the dishonest cop fears the honest cop, not the other way around. -Frank Serpico

stillthere
Registered User
Posts: 45
Joined: Thu Sep 02, 2004 10:52 pm
Location: New York, NY

Re: Error 500 when loading Ban IPs

Post by stillthere » Thu Nov 16, 2017 8:50 am

and in the case of this forum: user never added anything new, only used prosilver style. so this was basically a database update w/ new files. fails shortly after navigating around forum. as in could load all control panel options, then consistently Error 500.
:idea: We must create an atmosphere where the dishonest cop fears the honest cop, not the other way around. -Frank Serpico

janus_zonstraal
Registered User
Posts: 1751
Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2014 1:30 pm

Re: Error 500 when loading Ban IPs

Post by janus_zonstraal » Thu Nov 16, 2017 8:56 am

And what about the error log?
Sorry! My English is bat ;) !!!

Post Reply

Return to “[3.2.x] Support Forum”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: AmigoJack, Badhon_raj, canonknipser, janus_zonstraal, mrix2000, Sypher187, tamarin and 32 guests