[HOW TO] Change your logo in 3.2.x

Get help with installation and running phpBB 3.2.x here. Please do not post bug reports, feature requests, or extension related questions here.
Liam Dale
Registered User
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Apr 18, 2017 11:33 am

Re: [HOW TO] Change your logo in 3.2.x

Post by Liam Dale » Mon May 08, 2017 3:07 pm

[quote=GoesOn

[/quote]
Cool, but how do you know what a specific color has for code?You do not want to link your forum so you can see what it looks like?I did not understand that mark at all.
[/quote]

Put # colours in Google and follow the trail
Sure .. check out udonchinwag.com. Nothing special but a simple start.

Btw.. you are going a bit of topic now.. MY Fault.. this is a logo thread. GL..

GoesOn
Registered User
Posts: 281
Joined: Sun Mar 05, 2017 7:31 pm

Re: [HOW TO] Change your logo in 3.2.x

Post by GoesOn » Mon May 08, 2017 4:57 pm

Liam Dale wrote:
Mon May 08, 2017 3:07 pm
[quote=GoesOn
Cool, but how do you know what a specific color has for code?You do not want to link your forum so you can see what it looks like?I did not understand that mark at all.
[/quote]

Put # colours in Google and follow the trail
Sure .. check out udonchinwag.com. Nothing special but a simple start.

Btw.. you are going a bit of topic now.. MY Fault.. this is a logo thread. GL..
[/quote]
Then we can continue in this topic
viewtopic.php?f=591&t=2421556

When you changed the color code and then what did you do then? I have changed the code but nothing has happened to the forum, the same old color still.
English is not my native language :!:

Lady_G
Registered User
Posts: 165
Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2012 12:38 pm
Location: US

Re: [HOW TO] Change your logo in 3.2.x

Post by Lady_G » Tue May 09, 2017 12:22 am

After a style code change, you must always clear the system cache.

Administration Control Panel --> General --> Purge the cache

phpBB has a copy of the current style in its cache. Clearing the system cache will tell phpBB to recognize your change and to rebuild the new style.

GoesOn
Registered User
Posts: 281
Joined: Sun Mar 05, 2017 7:31 pm

Re: [HOW TO] Change your logo in 3.2.x

Post by GoesOn » Wed May 10, 2017 6:49 pm

Lady_G wrote:
Tue May 09, 2017 12:22 am
After a style code change, you must always clear the system cache.

Administration Control Panel --> General --> Purge the cache

phpBB has a copy of the current style in its cache. Clearing the system cache will tell phpBB to recognize your change and to rebuild the new style.

Better if we take it on this topic
viewtopic.php?f=591&t=2421556
English is not my native language :!:

GoesOn
Registered User
Posts: 281
Joined: Sun Mar 05, 2017 7:31 pm

Re: [HOW TO] Change your logo in 3.2.x

Post by GoesOn » Sun May 14, 2017 7:02 pm

stevemaury wrote:
Sun Jan 08, 2017 9:05 pm

[b wrote:"colours.css"].site_logo {
background-image: url("./images/site_logo.gif")
;[/b]
}
Why can not I find this text on the file?Edit the file name to match your new logo.
English is not my native language :!:

GoesOn
Registered User
Posts: 281
Joined: Sun Mar 05, 2017 7:31 pm

Re: [HOW TO] Change your logo in 3.2.x

Post by GoesOn » Sun May 14, 2017 8:10 pm

stevemaury wrote:
Sun Jan 08, 2017 9:05 pm
Note: There is an extension to achieve this: Site Logo BUT for the moment, it is a Release Candidate.
  1. Getting Started
  2. Uploading your Logo
  3. Configuring your Logo
  4. Troubleshooting
  5. Notes
This explains how to change the default logo on your phpBB 3.2.x board.

1. Getting Started
If you have not uploaded files before, or do not know how to use FTP or SSH, you will need to be able to do that. The Knowledge Base has a short guide FTP. See Tools needed to set up and customise phpBB for some client suggestions..

2. Uploading Your Logo
Using your FTP or SSH client, you need to upload the image to: /styles/prosilver/theme/images/. You can name your image the same as the default logo site_logo.gif or give it a different name.

You need to find yourself a logo to be uploaded which you are allowed to use or else create your own. Be aware that no browser will be able to display all image types, therefore, it is best to limit the image to one of the commonly supported types: png, jpg, or gif.

3. Configuring your logo
Download, backup, and open the file /styles/prosilver/theme/colours.css in a text editor (see Tools needed to set up and customise phpBB for some suggestions) and find:
colours.css wrote:.site_logo {
background-image: url("./images/site_logo.gif");
}
Edit the file name to match your new logo.

Download, backup, and open the file /styles/prosilver/theme/common.css in a text editor and find:
common.css wrote:.site_logo {
display: inline-block;
width: 149px;
height: 52px;
}
Edit the width, and height to match your new logo.

Save and upload the colours.css and the common.css files, to the same location on your server, using your FTP client (overwriting the existing files).

From the ACP, Purge the board cache. The button to do that is on the right side of the main screen.

Your new logo should now be displaying in the forums.

4. Troubleshooting
If the logo is not displaying properly:
  1. Try refreshing your browser. A normal browser refresh reloads the page from the browser cache, you will need to reload the page from the server, also known as a hard refresh. Browsers vary but it can usually be accomplished:
    • For Windows and Linux using: Ctrl + F5 or Shift + Reload
    • For Mac using: (Cmd) + F5 or Shift + Reload
  2. Check all the edits again. A single mistyped character in the image name could prevent it from displaying.
  3. If part of the image is not showing then you likely have not adjusted the padding settings correctly.
  4. Double check that you've followed all the steps, and made the changes to the style you're using and not a different one.
5. Notes (optional stuff)
The background-image: url is the path to the image is relative to the /styles/prosilver/theme/ directory. So, if your new board logo was called fish_heads.png and for some reason you put the image in to root of your board the path would be ../../../fish_heads.png.

If your image needs to be resized it is best to use an image editing application to resize it because that will, generally, result in a better quality image display. However, you can use a CSS property. On a new line below the background-image: property add the line:

background-size: 298px 104px; (width in pixels; height in pixels.) The width and height properties in common.css would also need to be similarly adjusted.
-----------------------------------------
Credit to P_I for pointing out the css changes.
Has done exactly as it says but gets no logo up :-(
English is not my native language :!:

n5tc
Registered User
Posts: 121
Joined: Tue Jun 23, 2009 1:08 pm

Re: [HOW TO] Change your logo in 3.2.x

Post by n5tc » Mon May 22, 2017 6:07 pm

I am using site logo 3.2. Two,"Search" boxes appear. How can I remove one of them?
really like this extension

Thank you,

Tom

w106mng
Registered User
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue May 23, 2017 1:41 pm

Re: [HOW TO] Change your logo in 3.2.x

Post by w106mng » Tue May 23, 2017 1:58 pm

Thanks for the information.

GoesOn
Registered User
Posts: 281
Joined: Sun Mar 05, 2017 7:31 pm

Re: [HOW TO] Change your logo in 3.2.x

Post by GoesOn » Sat Jun 24, 2017 7:36 pm

Is it the same if you use proflat too?
English is not my native language :!:

User avatar
Mick
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 17394
Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2008 9:49 am

Re: [HOW TO] Change your logo in 3.2.x

Post by Mick » Sat Jun 24, 2017 7:58 pm

Ask the author.
"The more connected we get the more alone we become" - Kyle Broflovski

GoesOn
Registered User
Posts: 281
Joined: Sun Mar 05, 2017 7:31 pm

Re: [HOW TO] Change your logo in 3.2.x

Post by GoesOn » Sat Jun 24, 2017 8:29 pm

Mick wrote:
Sat Jun 24, 2017 7:58 pm
Ask the author.
And how can I get him?
English is not my native language :!:

User avatar
Mick
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 17394
Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2008 9:49 am

Re: [HOW TO] Change your logo in 3.2.x

Post by Mick » Sat Jun 24, 2017 8:38 pm

Presumably where you downloaded the style, here probably.
"The more connected we get the more alone we become" - Kyle Broflovski

Post Reply

Return to “[3.2.x] Support Forum”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: stevemaury, Toxyy and 24 guests