[HOW TO] Change your logo in 3.2.x

Get help with installation and running phpBB 3.2.x here. Please do not post bug reports, feature requests, or extension related questions here.
User avatar
Mick
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 26506
Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2008 9:49 am

Re: [HOW TO] Change your logo in 3.2.x

Post by Mick »

Derek T. wrote: Sun Jan 22, 2017 6:52 amI am aware that my question has drifted away from the purpose of this thread
Someone in Styles Support & Discussion may be able to help.

FWIW - There are no threads in phpBB, they are topics.
  • "The more connected we get the more alone we become" - Kyle Broflovski©
  • "The good news is hell is just the product of a morbid human imagination.
    The bad news is, whatever humans can imagine, they can usually create.
    " - Harmony Cobel
rec0d
Registered User
Posts: 95
Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2017 11:49 am

Re: [HOW TO] Change your logo in 3.2.x

Post by rec0d »

i cant change the logo. i want the logo to be .png NOT gif
common.css

Code: Select all

.site_logo {
	display: inline-block;
	width: 511px;
	height: 303px;
}
colours.css

.site_logo {
	background-image: url("./images/logo.png");
}
overall_header.html

Code: Select all

<div id="site-description" class="site-description">
				<a id="logo" class="logo" href="<!-- IF U_SITE_HOME -->{U_SITE_HOME}<!-- ELSE -->{U_INDEX}<!-- ENDIF -->" title="<!-- IF U_SITE_HOME -->{L_SITE_HOME}<!-- ELSE -->{L_INDEX}<!-- ENDIF -->"><span class="site_logo"></span></a>
				<!--<h1>{SITENAME}</h1>
				<p>{SITE_DESCRIPTION}</p>-->
				<p class="skiplink"><a href="#start_here">{L_SKIP}</a></p>
			</div>
Thanks for all help :)
Last edited by JimA on Sat Feb 18, 2017 2:12 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Code tags added for readibility reasons
User avatar
janus_zonstraal
Registered User
Posts: 6418
Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2014 1:30 pm

Re: [HOW TO] Change your logo in 3.2.x

Post by janus_zonstraal »

And where dit you upload your logo?
url from your board?
Sorry! My English is bat ;) !!!
User avatar
Mick
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 26506
Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2008 9:49 am

Re: [HOW TO] Change your logo in 3.2.x

Post by Mick »

janus_zonstraal wrote: Thu Feb 02, 2017 2:57 pmAnd where dit you upload your logo?
A link to the board would be more help.
  • "The more connected we get the more alone we become" - Kyle Broflovski©
  • "The good news is hell is just the product of a morbid human imagination.
    The bad news is, whatever humans can imagine, they can usually create.
    " - Harmony Cobel
User avatar
Lumpy Burgertushie
Registered User
Posts: 69223
Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 3:11 am
Contact:

Re: [HOW TO] Change your logo in 3.2.x

Post by Lumpy Burgertushie »

did you actually create a png logo? you can't just change the file name of the actual logo file and you can't just change the name in the css.

you have to have an actual png version of your logo and then you have to upload that image to the server and make sure that your css points to the correct filename of that image.


robert
Premium phpBB 3.3 Styles by PlanetStyles.net

I am pleased to announce that I have completed the first item on my bucket list. I have the bucket.
jigneshaakoliya
Registered User
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2017 10:12 am
Location: Ahmedabad
Name: Jigneshkumar Aakoliya
Contact:

Re: [HOW TO] Change your logo in 3.2.x

Post by jigneshaakoliya »

For Windows and Linux using: Ctrl + F5 or Shift + Reload
This Works for me.
Thanks
Jigneshkumar aakoliya
PHP developer
http://www.ifourtechnolab.com/
SciFiKriss
Registered User
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Apr 24, 2014 7:45 am

Re: [HOW TO] Change your logo in 3.2.x

Post by SciFiKriss »

br2600 wrote: Mon Jan 16, 2017 9:19 pm To get it to work under the prosilver_se theme, I also had to change .site_logo in stylesheet.css
Yep I found that out... maybe putting in the steps that if you have another theme running you have to change it in that theme as well? :)

Kriss :)
User avatar
Lumpy Burgertushie
Registered User
Posts: 69223
Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 3:11 am
Contact:

Re: [HOW TO] Change your logo in 3.2.x

Post by Lumpy Burgertushie »

considering that stylesheet.css is the only css file in prosilver_se, it would seem logical that it would be the file to make the edits to. ;)

robert
Premium phpBB 3.3 Styles by PlanetStyles.net

I am pleased to announce that I have completed the first item on my bucket list. I have the bucket.
smokinjo
Registered User
Posts: 85
Joined: Sun Jan 12, 2014 2:51 am

Re: [HOW TO] Change your logo in 3.2.x

Post by smokinjo »

I am looking to change my logo too.

I now know how to do tit.

But, is there anoptimal size(dimensions) of the logo?

75 px x 300px, for example?

Thanks

smokinjo
User avatar
david63
Registered User
Posts: 20646
Joined: Thu Dec 19, 2002 8:08 am

Re: [HOW TO] Change your logo in 3.2.x

Post by david63 »

The default logo is 149 x 52 (if that gives you anything to work from)
David
Remember: You only know what you know and - you don't know what you don't know!

I now no longer support any of my extensions but they will start to become available here
smokinjo
Registered User
Posts: 85
Joined: Sun Jan 12, 2014 2:51 am

Re: [HOW TO] Change your logo in 3.2.x

Post by smokinjo »

Thanks a bunch!

It can be different than that? I saw snippets of code showing different dimensions. If ours is different, we need to modify the code to allow it to display correctly?

Thanks again

smokinjo
User avatar
Mick
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 26506
Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2008 9:49 am

Re: [HOW TO] Change your logo in 3.2.x

Post by Mick »

Yes, presumably, as was mentioned in common.css above:

Code: Select all

.site_logo {
display: inline-block;
width: 149px;
height: 52px;
}
  • "The more connected we get the more alone we become" - Kyle Broflovski©
  • "The good news is hell is just the product of a morbid human imagination.
    The bad news is, whatever humans can imagine, they can usually create.
    " - Harmony Cobel
Chouf
Registered User
Posts: 50
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2012 12:16 am

Re: [HOW TO] Change your logo in 3.2.x

Post by Chouf »

Thanks for this nice extension works like a charm.
An idea for improvement, disable the display of the banner when used in mobile view
User avatar
Mick
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 26506
Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2008 9:49 am

Re: [HOW TO] Change your logo in 3.2.x

Post by Mick »

Chouf wrote: Wed Feb 15, 2017 11:48 amThanks for this nice extension works like a charm
Extension?
  • "The more connected we get the more alone we become" - Kyle Broflovski©
  • "The good news is hell is just the product of a morbid human imagination.
    The bad news is, whatever humans can imagine, they can usually create.
    " - Harmony Cobel
milango
Registered User
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2017 10:32 pm

Re: [HOW TO] Change your logo in 3.2.x

Post by milango »

Hi.
I don't have logo.
I want to change logo picture by SITE NAME or SITE DESCRIPTION?
How do it?
Thanks
Post Reply

Return to “[3.2.x] Support Forum”