Page 5 of 7

Re: [HOW TO] Change your logo in 3.2.x

Posted: Mon May 08, 2017 3:07 pm
by Liam Dale
[quote=GoesOn

[/quote]
Cool, but how do you know what a specific color has for code?You do not want to link your forum so you can see what it looks like?I did not understand that mark at all.
[/quote]

Put # colours in Google and follow the trail
Sure .. check out udonchinwag.com. Nothing special but a simple start.

Btw.. you are going a bit of topic now.. MY Fault.. this is a logo thread. GL..

Re: [HOW TO] Change your logo in 3.2.x

Posted: Mon May 08, 2017 4:57 pm
by GoesOn
Liam Dale wrote:
Mon May 08, 2017 3:07 pm
[quote=GoesOn
Cool, but how do you know what a specific color has for code?You do not want to link your forum so you can see what it looks like?I did not understand that mark at all.
[/quote]

Put # colours in Google and follow the trail
Sure .. check out udonchinwag.com. Nothing special but a simple start.

Btw.. you are going a bit of topic now.. MY Fault.. this is a logo thread. GL..
[/quote]
Then we can continue in this topic
viewtopic.php?f=591&t=2421556

When you changed the color code and then what did you do then? I have changed the code but nothing has happened to the forum, the same old color still.

Re: [HOW TO] Change your logo in 3.2.x

Posted: Tue May 09, 2017 12:22 am
by Lady_G
After a style code change, you must always clear the system cache.

Administration Control Panel --> General --> Purge the cache

phpBB has a copy of the current style in its cache. Clearing the system cache will tell phpBB to recognize your change and to rebuild the new style.

Re: [HOW TO] Change your logo in 3.2.x

Posted: Wed May 10, 2017 6:49 pm
by GoesOn
Lady_G wrote:
Tue May 09, 2017 12:22 am
After a style code change, you must always clear the system cache.

Administration Control Panel --> General --> Purge the cache

phpBB has a copy of the current style in its cache. Clearing the system cache will tell phpBB to recognize your change and to rebuild the new style.

Better if we take it on this topic
viewtopic.php?f=591&t=2421556

Re: [HOW TO] Change your logo in 3.2.x

Posted: Sun May 14, 2017 7:02 pm
by GoesOn
stevemaury wrote:
Sun Jan 08, 2017 9:05 pm

[b wrote:"colours.css"].site_logo {
background-image: url("./images/site_logo.gif")
;[/b]
}
Why can not I find this text on the file?Edit the file name to match your new logo.

Re: [HOW TO] Change your logo in 3.2.x

Posted: Sun May 14, 2017 8:10 pm
by GoesOn
stevemaury wrote:
Sun Jan 08, 2017 9:05 pm
Note: There is an extension to achieve this: Site Logo BUT for the moment, it is a Release Candidate.
  1. Getting Started
  2. Uploading your Logo
  3. Configuring your Logo
  4. Troubleshooting
  5. Notes
This explains how to change the default logo on your phpBB 3.2.x board.

1. Getting Started
If you have not uploaded files before, or do not know how to use FTP or SSH, you will need to be able to do that. The Knowledge Base has a short guide FTP. See Tools needed to set up and customise phpBB for some client suggestions..

2. Uploading Your Logo
Using your FTP or SSH client, you need to upload the image to: /styles/prosilver/theme/images/. You can name your image the same as the default logo site_logo.gif or give it a different name.

You need to find yourself a logo to be uploaded which you are allowed to use or else create your own. Be aware that no browser will be able to display all image types, therefore, it is best to limit the image to one of the commonly supported types: png, jpg, or gif.

3. Configuring your logo
Download, backup, and open the file /styles/prosilver/theme/colours.css in a text editor (see Tools needed to set up and customise phpBB for some suggestions) and find:
colours.css wrote:.site_logo {
background-image: url("./images/site_logo.gif");
}
Edit the file name to match your new logo.

Download, backup, and open the file /styles/prosilver/theme/common.css in a text editor and find:
common.css wrote:.site_logo {
display: inline-block;
width: 149px;
height: 52px;
}
Edit the width, and height to match your new logo.

Save and upload the colours.css and the common.css files, to the same location on your server, using your FTP client (overwriting the existing files).

From the ACP, Purge the board cache. The button to do that is on the right side of the main screen.

Your new logo should now be displaying in the forums.

4. Troubleshooting
If the logo is not displaying properly:
  1. Try refreshing your browser. A normal browser refresh reloads the page from the browser cache, you will need to reload the page from the server, also known as a hard refresh. Browsers vary but it can usually be accomplished:
    • For Windows and Linux using: Ctrl + F5 or Shift + Reload
    • For Mac using: (Cmd) + F5 or Shift + Reload
  2. Check all the edits again. A single mistyped character in the image name could prevent it from displaying.
  3. If part of the image is not showing then you likely have not adjusted the padding settings correctly.
  4. Double check that you've followed all the steps, and made the changes to the style you're using and not a different one.
5. Notes (optional stuff)
The background-image: url is the path to the image is relative to the /styles/prosilver/theme/ directory. So, if your new board logo was called fish_heads.png and for some reason you put the image in to root of your board the path would be ../../../fish_heads.png.

If your image needs to be resized it is best to use an image editing application to resize it because that will, generally, result in a better quality image display. However, you can use a CSS property. On a new line below the background-image: property add the line:

background-size: 298px 104px; (width in pixels; height in pixels.) The width and height properties in common.css would also need to be similarly adjusted.
-----------------------------------------
Credit to P_I for pointing out the css changes.
Has done exactly as it says but gets no logo up :-(

Re: [HOW TO] Change your logo in 3.2.x

Posted: Mon May 22, 2017 6:07 pm
by n5tc
I am using site logo 3.2. Two,"Search" boxes appear. How can I remove one of them?
really like this extension

Thank you,

Tom

Re: [HOW TO] Change your logo in 3.2.x

Posted: Tue May 23, 2017 1:58 pm
by w106mng
Thanks for the information.

Re: [HOW TO] Change your logo in 3.2.x

Posted: Sat Jun 24, 2017 7:36 pm
by GoesOn
Is it the same if you use proflat too?

Re: [HOW TO] Change your logo in 3.2.x

Posted: Sat Jun 24, 2017 7:58 pm
by Mick
Ask the author.

Re: [HOW TO] Change your logo in 3.2.x

Posted: Sat Jun 24, 2017 8:29 pm
by GoesOn
Mick wrote:
Sat Jun 24, 2017 7:58 pm
Ask the author.
And how can I get him?

Re: [HOW TO] Change your logo in 3.2.x

Posted: Sat Jun 24, 2017 8:38 pm
by Mick
Presumably where you downloaded the style, here probably.

Re: [HOW TO] Change your logo in 3.2.x

Posted: Tue Jul 04, 2017 2:00 pm
by Dave69
_____
WORKED LIKE A CHARM ... No questions needed which is good for me. Excellent Tutorial!!!
Image

Re: [HOW TO] Change your logo in 3.2.x

Posted: Thu Jul 13, 2017 7:36 pm
by GoesOn
Have followed the advice in that thread but it does not work at all for me. Unfortunately, Mazeltof is not logged in for a while now so I ask the question here should be the same. The error may be that I upload a logon to the wrong thing, where should it be uploaded to it, it's vow styles?

https://www.phpbb.com/customise/db/styl ... pic/176071

Re: [HOW TO] Change your logo in 3.2.x

Posted: Sat Jul 15, 2017 9:09 pm
by Art Poulos
I placed my logo in the header container but I'd like to replace the background with an image rather than just a colour. I was able to do that in version 3.1.10 but I can't do it here. Any help is appreciated.
Thanks.