No Input File Specified - Install Tab

Get help with installation and running phpBB 3.2.x here. Please do not post bug reports, feature requests, or extension related questions here.
User avatar
JimA
Community Team Leader
Community Team Leader
Posts: 7078
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2008 5:54 am
Location: The Netherlands
Name: Jim Mossing Holsteyn
Contact:

Re: No Input File Specified - Install Tab

Post by JimA » Thu Jan 19, 2017 8:37 pm

Since both topics were related to the same issue, I've merged them now.
It's easier for us to keep track of the status of your problem when it's all combined in one topic.
Image Jim Mossing Holsteyn - Community Team Leader
Knowledge Base | Documentation | Board rules

If you're having any questions about the rules/customs of this website, feel free to drop me a PM.

pappy1961
Registered User
Posts: 29
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2015 8:37 pm

Re: No Input File Specified - Install Tab

Post by pappy1961 » Fri Jan 20, 2017 1:34 am

I had similar problems on that last update, now running 3.2 but hung up with this problem.....

Post by pappy1961 » Wed Jan 18, 2017 7:00 pm

Any idea how I can fix this? Cannot disable it, cannot delete its data. It is locked up. I run 3.2

EXTENSION NAME CURRENT VERSION OPTIONS ACTIONS
Enabled Extensions
Background Forum 1.0.5 Details Disable
Board Announcements 1.0.5 Details Disable
Disabled Extensions
The “david63/userranks” extension is not valid.
The requested file could not be found: ./../ext/david63/userranks/composer.json

and....

General Error
Cannot find module ./../includes/acp/\david63\userranks\acp\userranks_module.php

BACKTRACE

FILE: (not given by php)
LINE: (not given by php)
CALL: msg_handler()

FILE: [ROOT]/includes/functions_module.php
LINE: 573
CALL: trigger_error()

FILE: [ROOT]/adm/index.php
LINE: 82
CALL: p_master->load_active()

apixley
Registered User
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon May 15, 2006 12:10 pm
Contact:

Re: No Input File Specified - Install Tab

Post by apixley » Fri Feb 10, 2017 7:56 pm

So what was the solution? I am having the same problem.

apixley
Registered User
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon May 15, 2006 12:10 pm
Contact:

Re: No Input File Specified - Install Tab

Post by apixley » Fri Feb 10, 2017 7:57 pm

JimA wrote:
Thu Jan 19, 2017 8:37 pm
Since both topics were related to the same issue, I've merged them now.
It's easier for us to keep track of the status of your problem when it's all combined in one topic.
So what was the solution? I am having the same problem.

Support Request Template
What version of phpBB are you using? phpBB 3.2.0
What is your board's URL? http://www.bipolarinnercircle.com/phpBB3
Who do you host your board with? GoDaddy
How did you install your board? I used the download package from phpBB.com
What is the most recent action performed on your board? Update from a previous version of phpBB3
Is registration required to reproduce this issue? No
Do you have any MODs installed? No
Do you have any extensions installed? No
What version of phpBB3 did you update from? phpBB 3.1.8
What styles do you currently have installed? just the default
What language(s) is your board currently using? just the default
Which database type/version are you using? MySQL 5
What is your level of experience? Experienced with PHP and phpBB
What actions did you take (updating your board; installing a MOD, style or extension; etc.) prior to this problem becoming noticeable? Upgrade from 3.1.8 to 3.2
Please describe your problem. I followed the instructions here: https://www.phpbb.com/support/docs/en/3 ... upgrade31/

and get "No input file specified." when I click on the UPDATE tab.
Generated by SRT Generator

red5standinby
Registered User
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2017 1:32 am

Re: No Input File Specified - Install Tab

Post by red5standinby » Mon Feb 27, 2017 2:46 am

Came here looking for a solution to the same thing. Fresh install. "No Input File Specified" when clicking on the install tab.

Support Request Template
What version of phpBB are you using? phpBB 3.2.0
What is your board's URL? http://www.crownofthevalley.org/forum
Who do you host your board with? GoDaddy
How did you install your board? I used the download package from phpBB.com
What is the most recent action performed on your board? new installation
Is registration required to reproduce this issue? No
Do you have any MODs installed? No
Do you have any extensions installed? No
What version of phpBB3 did you update from? new install
What styles do you currently have installed? just the default
What language(s) is your board currently using? just the default
Which database type/version are you using? MySQL 5.5 (I think)
What is your level of experience? installed a phpbb a couple years ago with success.
What actions did you take (updating your board; installing a MOD, style or extension; etc.) prior to this problem becoming noticeable? Brand new install
Please describe your problem. I followed the instructions here: docs/INSTALL.html

Do I need to put a database in place first, or is the phpbb installer supposed to do that for me?

Thanks in advance for any help.

User avatar
Lumpy Burgertushie
Registered User
Posts: 63196
Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 3:11 am
Contact:

Re: No Input File Specified - Install Tab

Post by Lumpy Burgertushie » Mon Feb 27, 2017 4:05 am

yes, you have to create a blank database first, otherwise, how would you know what to put in the blanks during the install with it asks for database name/username/password?

also, the error very well could mean that you did not upload all of the files properly.



robert
I am available for custom work on a donation basis. Please send me a PM with your needs.
Premium phpBB 3.2 Styles by PlanetStyles.net

New phpbb 3.0 support site

red5standinby
Registered User
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2017 1:32 am

Re: No Input File Specified - Install Tab

Post by red5standinby » Mon Feb 27, 2017 4:44 pm

Thanks, Robert. Trouble is I can't even get to the screen where it asks me for that information. What else could I be missing here?

Pretty sure I uploaded the files correctly. Used Filezilla. Shows all transfers as successful. To be sure, I removed it and reuploaded a couple times with the same results.

Set config.php to 666 and /cache, /files, /store and /images/avatars/upload all to 777

One thing I notice that seemed suspect to me is the config.php file is 0 bytes. Shows the same way with each download I tried. Is this normal?
Lumpy Burgertushie wrote:
Mon Feb 27, 2017 4:05 am
yes, you have to create a blank database first, otherwise, how would you know what to put in the blanks during the install with it asks for database name/username/password?

also, the error very well could mean that you did not upload all of the files properly.



robert

User avatar
Lumpy Burgertushie
Registered User
Posts: 63196
Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 3:11 am
Contact:

Re: No Input File Specified - Install Tab

Post by Lumpy Burgertushie » Mon Feb 27, 2017 4:57 pm

yes, I see the install folder is there and when you click on the install tab, you get the error about no input file.

godaddy is known for having very strange problems. you should probably contact them about this error.

did a little research on the error. it seems that it is most often a server problem with either htaccess files or php version/settings or both.

first, you must have php version of at least 5.4 to run phpbb 3.2
check that, if you have a good version of php then contact godaddy support about the error.


robert

looking further at your site, you do have some redirect issues going on that are probably caused by some strange setting in your htaccess files at the site root.

check that.
I am available for custom work on a donation basis. Please send me a PM with your needs.
Premium phpBB 3.2 Styles by PlanetStyles.net

New phpbb 3.0 support site

red5standinby
Registered User
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2017 1:32 am

Re: No Input File Specified - Install Tab

Post by red5standinby » Tue Feb 28, 2017 5:09 am

Gonna admit, I'm an uber novice with this stuff. The only .htaccess file I could find is on my webroot. The file doesn't seem to involved... only 7 lines of Rewwrite___ code? What specifically might I be looking for?

Last steps, tore the specific website all the way down to its root. Uploaded a single page to get to that sites root. Re-uploaded phpbb to /phpBB3. Still having same issue.

User avatar
Lumpy Burgertushie
Registered User
Posts: 63196
Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 3:11 am
Contact:

Re: No Input File Specified - Install Tab

Post by Lumpy Burgertushie » Tue Feb 28, 2017 5:15 am

the error message is most likely something wrong at the server level. contact godaddy support, ask for level two support and show them how to get to the error.


robert
I am available for custom work on a donation basis. Please send me a PM with your needs.
Premium phpBB 3.2 Styles by PlanetStyles.net

New phpbb 3.0 support site

red5standinby
Registered User
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2017 1:32 am

Re: No Input File Specified - Install Tab

Post by red5standinby » Sun Mar 12, 2017 2:22 am

solved - kind of

So, after multiple attempts, I was instructed to use Godaddy's phpbb installer.... who knew? It put me on 3.0.11, but it's up and running. This is done under your hosting management applications for any one else that has the issue.

User avatar
stevemaury
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 47974
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2006 12:21 am
Location: The U.P.
Name: Steve
Contact:

Re: No Input File Specified - Install Tab

Post by stevemaury » Sun Mar 12, 2017 1:29 pm

Be advised that we do not support installations done with a host installer, and in any event, support for version 3.0.x has expired.
For REALLY good and VERY inexpensive hosting CLICK HERE

All unsolicited PMs will be ignored.

roverlife
Registered User
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2017 2:50 pm

Re: No Input File Specified - Install Tab

Post by roverlife » Tue Nov 21, 2017 5:31 am

Was the solution ever discovered for this problem?

I am getting the same issue and also have GoDaddy hosting. Initially I tried to install v3.2, but ran into the same "No Input File Specified" issue, so I checked to see if v3.1 would install, and it did without issue. I then tried to update from v3.1 to 3.2, hoping that I could work around the problem, but am getting the same error when trying to update the database.

Anything I can try? Another work-around to update my database? Or is this telling me to ditch GoDaddy hosting?

User avatar
Mick
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 18102
Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2008 9:49 am
Location: Cardiff

Re: No Input File Specified - Install Tab

Post by Mick » Tue Nov 21, 2017 8:22 am

The lowest common denominator seems to be GoDaddy. They’re known for their excellent domain registration but not so hot with hosting, we see many issues here with them, have a search and you’ll see.
"The more connected we get the more alone we become" - Kyle Broflovski

There are no ‘threads’ in phpBB, they are topics.
Forza Garibaldi

Post Reply

Return to “[3.2.x] Support Forum”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: bonelifer, david63, JoshyPHP, Noxwizard, thecoalman and 181 guests

cron