Manage Extensions Menu not visible

Get help with installation and running phpBB 3.2.x here. Please do not post bug reports, feature requests, or extension related questions here.
kenmoody
Registered User
Posts: 42
Joined: Tue May 16, 2006 4:47 pm

Re: Manage Extensions Menu not visible

Post by kenmoody » Wed Mar 22, 2017 4:20 am

Not sure what you mean by a permissions issue? I am logged in as the admin.

Thanks

KM

User avatar
P_I
Registered User
Posts: 927
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2011 8:35 pm
Location: Calgary
Contact:

Re: Manage Extensions Menu not visible

Post by P_I » Wed Mar 22, 2017 4:49 am

I've seen instances where an admin doesn't have the necessary permissions to manage extensions, although I don't know how it happened.

You can check yourself in ACP->PERMISSIONS. In the Permissions masks section, select View administrative permissions and then Lookup your username and click View Permissions.

Now look at the Misc tab
admin - Administrative permissions.JPG
Click on icon in front of 'Can manage extensions' to trace the setting.

Here's an example where an admin didn't have the necessary permission.
admin2 trace.PNG
Normal people… believe that if it ain’t broke, don’t fix it. Engineers believe that if it ain’t broke, it doesn’t have enough features yet. – Scott Adams

kenmoody
Registered User
Posts: 42
Joined: Tue May 16, 2006 4:47 pm

Re: Manage Extensions Menu not visible

Post by kenmoody » Wed Mar 22, 2017 6:11 pm

Thank you PI!

So is it weird that that item does not even appear on the list of options?
Capture4.PNG

User avatar
P_I
Registered User
Posts: 927
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2011 8:35 pm
Location: Calgary
Contact:

Re: Manage Extensions Menu not visible

Post by P_I » Wed Mar 22, 2017 6:20 pm

Next thing to check then. ACP->SYSTEM TAB then click 'Administration Control Panel' under Module Management.

Is the Extensions module showing and enabled? The following is a screenshot from a vanilla phpBB 3.2 board.
ACP - system tab.JPG
Normal people… believe that if it ain’t broke, don’t fix it. Engineers believe that if it ain’t broke, it doesn’t have enough features yet. – Scott Adams

kenmoody
Registered User
Posts: 42
Joined: Tue May 16, 2006 4:47 pm

Re: Manage Extensions Menu not visible

Post by kenmoody » Wed Mar 22, 2017 11:03 pm

It does appear there and does appear to be enabled.
Capture5.PNG
Capture6.PNG
Thank you again for your assistance P_I, much appreciated!

User avatar
P_I
Registered User
Posts: 927
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2011 8:35 pm
Location: Calgary
Contact:

Re: Manage Extensions Menu not visible

Post by P_I » Wed Mar 22, 2017 11:07 pm

I don't have any idea if it will help (or hurt) but what happens if you disable, then enable the Extensions module. Still trying to figure out why it doesn't even show up in the permissions.
Normal people… believe that if it ain’t broke, don’t fix it. Engineers believe that if it ain’t broke, it doesn’t have enough features yet. – Scott Adams

kenmoody
Registered User
Posts: 42
Joined: Tue May 16, 2006 4:47 pm

Re: Manage Extensions Menu not visible

Post by kenmoody » Thu Mar 23, 2017 5:02 am

Just tried that, disabled Extensions and Extensions Management, re-enabled both. No change. Still not visible under permissions. Hmm, kind of weird. Thank you again! :(

User avatar
P_I
Registered User
Posts: 927
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2011 8:35 pm
Location: Calgary
Contact:

Re: Manage Extensions Menu not visible

Post by P_I » Fri Mar 24, 2017 5:42 pm

One more thing you might check, in ACP->PERMISSIONS look at the Admin roles. Specifically for the Full Admin, under the Misc tab, does 'Can manage extensions' appear? On my vanilla 3.2 test board it looks like:
ACP - Full Admin Role.JPG
Normal people… believe that if it ain’t broke, don’t fix it. Engineers believe that if it ain’t broke, it doesn’t have enough features yet. – Scott Adams

kenmoody
Registered User
Posts: 42
Joined: Tue May 16, 2006 4:47 pm

Re: Manage Extensions Menu not visible

Post by kenmoody » Mon Mar 27, 2017 5:54 pm

Thanks again P_I. It looks like all of the necessary permissions are there.
Capture7.PNG
Something else I noticed, after disabling and re-enabling some things, the Extensions category is enabled and located under Customise, but thee is now an Extension Management category located at the bottom of the Module Management list that I am unable to move under any other parent directory. Is this normal?
Capture8.PNG
I'm wondering if the whole extension management set of modules is irreparably screwed up and if I am able to completely uninstall them and reinstall them. Is that possible?

Thanks so much for your assistance!

User avatar
P_I
Registered User
Posts: 927
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2011 8:35 pm
Location: Calgary
Contact:

Re: Manage Extensions Menu not visible

Post by P_I » Mon Mar 27, 2017 6:10 pm

Looking at your Administrative permissions screenshot, I don't see an item 'Can manage extensions'. It is between 'Can send mass email' and 'Can manage language packs' in my screenshot.

Therefore I don't think you have the necessary permission, which would explain what you've been seeing.

The fact that you also have Settings showing as ACL_A_ADD_USER and ACL_A_MODS rather than text indicates something is amiss with your permissions setup. Off the top of my head I don't know what to suggest to fix it, I've never encountered that case. Perhaps someone else (support team member) has experience resolving this issue.
Normal people… believe that if it ain’t broke, don’t fix it. Engineers believe that if it ain’t broke, it doesn’t have enough features yet. – Scott Adams

User avatar
RMcGirr83
Recognised Extension Developer
Posts: 21034
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2005 4:33 pm
Location: Your display
Name: Rich McGirr
Contact:

Re: Manage Extensions Menu not visible

Post by RMcGirr83 » Mon Mar 27, 2017 6:36 pm

The missing lang strings are from updating from 3.0 to 3.1/3.2 without uninstalling all mods first.
In times of change, learners inherit the earth, while the learned find themselves beautifully equipped to deal with a world that no longer exists - Eric Hoffer
Former Modifications/Extensions Team Member | My extensions
Appreciate the extensions/mods/support then buy me a beer
All requests for support via PM will be ignored

kenmoody
Registered User
Posts: 42
Joined: Tue May 16, 2006 4:47 pm

Re: Manage Extensions Menu not visible

Post by kenmoody » Mon Mar 27, 2017 7:22 pm

Thank you RM, that probably was the case. How do I fix that after the fact?

Thanks all!

KM

User avatar
RMcGirr83
Recognised Extension Developer
Posts: 21034
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2005 4:33 pm
Location: Your display
Name: Rich McGirr
Contact:

Re: Manage Extensions Menu not visible

Post by RMcGirr83 » Mon Mar 27, 2017 7:56 pm

Go into your administrative module management and delete them one by one. This may even fix your missing extensions tab and permissions...maybe.
In times of change, learners inherit the earth, while the learned find themselves beautifully equipped to deal with a world that no longer exists - Eric Hoffer
Former Modifications/Extensions Team Member | My extensions
Appreciate the extensions/mods/support then buy me a beer
All requests for support via PM will be ignored

kenmoody
Registered User
Posts: 42
Joined: Tue May 16, 2006 4:47 pm

Re: Manage Extensions Menu not visible

Post by kenmoody » Mon Mar 27, 2017 8:08 pm

Thanks Rm! Where in there will I find the mods to be deleted and how will I know which ones should and should not be deleted?

User avatar
RMcGirr83
Recognised Extension Developer
Posts: 21034
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2005 4:33 pm
Location: Your display
Name: Rich McGirr
Contact:

Re: Manage Extensions Menu not visible

Post by RMcGirr83 » Tue Mar 28, 2017 10:39 am

Those with missing language strings should be removed.
In times of change, learners inherit the earth, while the learned find themselves beautifully equipped to deal with a world that no longer exists - Eric Hoffer
Former Modifications/Extensions Team Member | My extensions
Appreciate the extensions/mods/support then buy me a beer
All requests for support via PM will be ignored

Post Reply

Return to “[3.2.x] Support Forum”