Update to 3.2.0 using Automatic Update

Get help with installation and running phpBB 3.2.x here. Please do not post bug reports, feature requests, or extension related questions here.
User avatar
jumborex
Registered User
Posts: 142
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 3:18 pm
Name: Franco Giambalvo
Contact:

Update to 3.2.0 using Automatic Update

Post by jumborex » Fri Jan 20, 2017 1:15 pm

Starting from version 3.1.10, I download the "Automatic Update Package", Uncompress it, FTP load everything on the root dir of my forum (http://www.cantodellasfinge.net/phpBB3/), and point my link to the install directory, using the link reported in the admin page. But it fails immediately:
The site is in Italian:
Cancella, sposta o rinomina la cartella di installazione prima di continuare. Se questa cartella è ancora presente sarà solo possibile accedere all’amministrazione.
Which means something like:
Delete, move or rename the Install directory before going on. If this directory will be present you may only access from administration.
Ok! I return in administration, digiting manually the link: http://www.cantodellasfinge.net/phpBB3/install/
This works a little: I see a page showing three tabs: OVERVIEW UPDATE CONVERT
But, each tab (except the useless OVERVIEW) gives the following: "No input file specified."
Apparently I cannot work the update from version 3.1.10, to 3.2.0 using the Automatic Update. And the site is heavily customized, so it would be a big trouble to make a full install.

I made a huge number of updates up to now: I'm with phpBB from 2003!
Any idea?
Thank you.
I have not failed. I've just found 10,000 ways that won't work.
(Thomas Alva Edison)

User avatar
Marc
Development Team Leader
Development Team Leader
Posts: 5387
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 10:57 pm
Location: Munich, Germany
Name: Marc
Contact:

Re: Update to 3.2.0 using Automatic Update

Post by Marc » Fri Jan 20, 2017 2:02 pm

Please fill out the Support Request Template and post it back here to enable us to assist you better.

Make sure to also mention what OS you are on and what web server you are using.

User avatar
jumborex
Registered User
Posts: 142
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 3:18 pm
Name: Franco Giambalvo
Contact:

Re: Update to 3.2.0 using Automatic Update

Post by jumborex » Fri Jan 20, 2017 2:43 pm

Support Request Template
What version of phpBB are you using? phpBB 3.1.10
What is your board's URL? http://www.cantodellasfinge.net/phpBB3/
Who do you host your board with? Aruba Italy
How did you install your board? I used the download package from phpBB.com
What is the most recent action performed on your board? Update from a previous version of phpBB3
Is registration required to reproduce this issue? Yes
Do you have any MODs installed? No
Do you have any extensions installed? No
What version of phpBB3 did you update from? phpBB 3.1.10
What MODs do you have installed? no MOD
What styles do you currently have installed? prosilver Special Edition
What language(s) is your board currently using? Italian
Which database type/version are you using? MySQL 5
What is your level of experience? Comfortable with PHP and phpBB
What username can be used to view this issue?Canto della Sfinge
What password can be used to view this issue? support_2016
What actions did you take (updating your board; installing a MOD, style or extension; etc.) prior to this problem becoming noticeable? updating the board
Please describe your problem. Downloading and unzipping the Automatic Update from 3.1.10, to 3.2 and eventually loading it to the root, the "install" operation does not start.
Generated by SRT Generator
The OS used is Linux.
I have not failed. I've just found 10,000 ways that won't work.
(Thomas Alva Edison)

User avatar
warmweer
Registered User
Posts: 2160
Joined: Fri Jul 04, 2003 6:34 am
Location: Van Allen Belt ... well actually Belgium

Re: Update to 3.2.0 using Automatic Update

Post by warmweer » Fri Jan 20, 2017 3:06 pm

jumborex wrote:
Fri Jan 20, 2017 1:15 pm
...
And the site is heavily customized, so it would be a big trouble to make a full install.
jumborex wrote:
Fri Jan 20, 2017 2:43 pm
...
Do you have any MODs installed? No
Do you have any extensions installed? No
What version of phpBB3 did you update from? phpBB 3.1.10
What MODs do you have installed? no MOD
What styles do you currently have installed? prosilver Special Edition
1) You say no mods but it's heavily customised? Yet no extensions, then what? core changes?
2) You tried to update but default proSilver should be the default style.
3) You tried to update with Italian as default language?

Updating customised boards is not recommended.
My board's not broken, it just went peculiar

User avatar
jumborex
Registered User
Posts: 142
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 3:18 pm
Name: Franco Giambalvo
Contact:

Re: Update to 3.2.0 using Automatic Update

Post by jumborex » Fri Jan 20, 2017 3:22 pm

Maybe so, but this has never been a problem before. I made only minor changes in the prosilver Special Edition, essentially in the css.
Now the update doesn't work, and I do not think it would be a problem due to the css!
For example, the update from 3.1.9 and 3.1.10 was simple, and perfect, as usual.
3) You tried to update with Italian as default language?
No, I didn't know it was possible. I will see better...
I have not failed. I've just found 10,000 ways that won't work.
(Thomas Alva Edison)

User avatar
jumborex
Registered User
Posts: 142
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 3:18 pm
Name: Franco Giambalvo
Contact:

Re: Update to 3.2.0 using Automatic Update

Post by jumborex » Fri Jan 20, 2017 3:34 pm

Well, I cannot understand what's the meaning of "update with Italian as default language". Sorry, but Italian "is" the default language all within the board, admin pages included. It's not the language in the updating operation itself, but this (I suppose), cannot be changed.
But, more, the update operation never starts in this request!
So again, what can we do?
Thank you.
I have not failed. I've just found 10,000 ways that won't work.
(Thomas Alva Edison)

User avatar
Marc
Development Team Leader
Development Team Leader
Posts: 5387
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 10:57 pm
Location: Munich, Germany
Name: Marc
Contact:

Re: Update to 3.2.0 using Automatic Update

Post by Marc » Fri Jan 20, 2017 7:54 pm

What webserver are you using? If you are using nginx you might need to modify your nginx configuration to support the installer and not redirect to the boards app.php. Take a look at the nginx sample config for 3.2:
https://github.com/phpbb/phpbb/blob/3.2 ... ample.conf

User avatar
Volksdevil
Registered User
Posts: 2414
Joined: Sun Oct 03, 2010 2:03 pm
Location: Lancashire, UK
Name: Neil
Contact:

Re: Update to 3.2.0 using Automatic Update

Post by Volksdevil » Fri Jan 20, 2017 8:28 pm

My phpBB Extensions
Finally found great Website Hosting from Image KUALO!
Do NOT use 123-reg.co.uk - Incapable of running phpBB!
:ugeek: TekNeil - Streamer on Mixer | My Volkswagen Corrado G60

User avatar
jumborex
Registered User
Posts: 142
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 3:18 pm
Name: Franco Giambalvo
Contact:

Re: Update to 3.2.0 using Automatic Update

Post by jumborex » Sat Jan 21, 2017 8:37 am

Well, ok: I have no idea if the server is nginx! :? To say the truth is the first time I hear this name. So the answer is "I don't know". Aruba Italy uses Linux, Apache I think...
About the post/article https://tracker.phpbb.com/browse/PHPBB3-14998 it's exactly my situation, but in the writing is not said "how" to start the correct operation.
I have not failed. I've just found 10,000 ways that won't work.
(Thomas Alva Edison)

User avatar
Mick
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 21156
Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2008 9:49 am
Location: Watching cricket - definitely

Re: Update to 3.2.0 using Automatic Update

Post by Mick » Sat Jan 21, 2017 11:01 am

It's Apache.

You have a cookie issue which won't help, your Cookie domain shows lnx.cantodellasfinge.net and it should be .cantodellasfinge.net, note the leading dot, see: Knowledge Base - Fixing incorrect cookie settings. If you have to use the 'Special file' because you can't get in to the ACP use this version instead:

Code: Select all

<?php
/**
*
* @package Cookie and server settings tool
* @copyright (c) 2008 ktuk.net
* @copyright (c) 2011 phpbb.com
* @license GPL
*
*/

// Standard definitions/includes
$page_title = 'phpBB3 Cookies';
define('IN_PHPBB', true);
$phpbb_root_path = (defined('PHPBB_ROOT_PATH')) ? PHPBB_ROOT_PATH : './';
$phpEx = substr(strrchr(__FILE__, '.'), 1);
include($phpbb_root_path . 'common.' . $phpEx);

$script_name = (isset($request) && ($request instanceof \phpbb\request\request_interface)) ? $request->server('SCRIPT_NAME', '') : $_SERVER['SCRIPT_NAME'];

$cookie_data = array();
$server_data = array();
$sent = request_var('sent', '');

// Gather cookie settings from config array
$cookie_data[] = $config['cookie_domain'];
$cookie_data[] = $config['cookie_name'];
$cookie_data[] = $config['cookie_path'];
$cookie_data[] = $config['cookie_secure'];

$server_data[] = $config['force_server_vars'];
$server_data[] = $config['script_path'];
$server_data[] = $config['server_name'];
$server_data[] = $config['server_port'];
$server_data[] = $config['server_protocol'];

$cookie_checked = ($cookie_data[3]) ? "checked = \"checked\"" : '';
$force_checked = ($server_data[0]) ? "checked = \"checked\"" : '';


if (!$sent)
{
   print "<html>
   <head><title>$page_title</title></head>
   <body>
   
   <form action=\"" . $script_name . "\" method=\"post\"
   <fieldset>
   <table>
      <tr><h2>Cookie Settings</h2></tr>
      <tr><td>Cookie Domain:</td><td><input type=\"text\" name=\"cookie_domain\" value=\"" . $cookie_data[0] . "\"></td></tr>
      <tr><td>Cookie Name:</td><td><input type=\"text\" name=\"cookie_name\" value=\"" . $cookie_data[1] . "\"></td></tr>
      <tr><td>Cookie Path:</td><td><input type=\"text\" name=\"cookie_path\" value=\"" . $cookie_data[2] . "\"></td></tr>
      <tr><td>Cookie Secure:</td><td><input type=\"checkbox\" name=\"cookie_secure\" value=\"1\" $cookie_checked ></td></tr>
   </table>

   <table>
      <tr><h2>Server Settings</h2></tr>
      <tr><td>Force Server Vars:</td><td><input type=\"checkbox\" name=\"force_server_vars\" value=\"1\"  $force_checked ></td></tr>
      <tr><td>Script Path:</td><td><input type=\"text\" name=\"script_path\" value=\"" . $server_data[1] . "\"></td></tr>
      <tr><td>Server Name:</td><td><input type=\"text\" name=\"server_name\" value=\"" . $server_data[2] . "\"></td></tr>
      <tr><td>Server Port:</td><td><input type=\"text\" name=\"server_port\" value=\"" . $server_data[3] . "\"></td></tr>
      <tr><td>Server Protocol:</td><td><input type=\"text\" name=\"server_protocol\" value=\"" . $server_data[4] . "\"></td></tr>
      <tr><td>Submit:</td><td><input type=\"submit\" name=\"sent\" value=\"submit\"></td></tr>
   </table>
   </fieldset>
   </body>
   <html>
   ";
}

if ($sent)
{
   $cookie_domain      = request_var('cookie_domain', '');
   $cookie_name      = request_var('cookie_name', '');
   $cookie_path      = request_var('cookie_path', '');
   $cookie_secure      = request_var('cookie_secure', 0);
   $force_server_vars   = request_var('force_server_vars', 0);
   $script_path      = request_var('script_path', '');
   $server_name      = request_var('server_name', '');
   $server_port      = request_var('server_port', 80);
   $server_protocol   = request_var('server_protocol', 'http://');

   $sql_ary = array(
       'cookie_domain'      => $cookie_domain,
       'cookie_name'      => $cookie_name,
       'cookie_path'      => $cookie_path,
       'cookie_secure'      => $cookie_secure,
       'force_server_vars'   => $force_server_vars,
       'script_path'      => $script_path,
       'server_name'      => $server_name,
       'server_port'      => $server_port,
       'server_protocol'   => $server_protocol
   );

   foreach ($sql_ary as $config_name => $config_value)
   {
      set_config($config_name, $config_value);
   }

   print "Settings are updated!";
   print "<meta http-equiv=\"refresh\" content=\"4;./cookie.php\">";
} 
Once you've corrected the cookie issue change the last letter of the cookie name to make sure everyone gets the new cookie, then open the board’s /cache folder on the server and delete everything except index.htm and .htaccess. Log out then log back in.
"The more connected we get the more alone we become" - Kyle Broflovski

User avatar
jumborex
Registered User
Posts: 142
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 3:18 pm
Name: Franco Giambalvo
Contact:

Re: Update to 3.2.0 using Automatic Update

Post by jumborex » Sat Jan 21, 2017 12:54 pm

Interesting. Now I'm working on a parallel site, (just in case...)
the site is the following (identical to the main site, but for test only)
http://www.cantodellasfinge.net/phpBB_3/
  • From ACP I changed the cookie and now it's .cantodellasfinge.net
  • Then I logged off
  • then I removed from cache dir everything but index.html and .htaccess.
  • Now I logged in, restored the install dir, pointed to install/index.html and obtained this:
Fatal error: Uncaught exception 'Twig_Error_Syntax' with message 'Unknown "path" function in "overall_header.html" at line 11.' in /web/htdocs/www.cantodellasfinge.net/home/phpBB_3/v ... er.php:574 Stack trace: #0 /web/htdocs/www.cantodellasfinge.net/home/phpBB_3/v ... r.php(351): Twig_ExpressionParser->getFunctionNodeClass('path', 11) #1 /web/htdocs/www.cantodellasfinge.net/home/phpBB_3/v ... r.php(144): Twig_ExpressionParser->getFunctionNode('path', 11) #2 /web/htdocs/www.cantodellasfinge.net/home/phpBB_3/v ... er.php(84): Twig_ExpressionParser->parsePrimaryExpression() #3 /web/htdocs/www.cantodellasfinge.net/home/phpBB_3/v ... er.php(41): Twig_ExpressionParser->getPrimary() #4 /web/htdocs/www.cantodellasfinge.net/home/phpBB_3/v ... r.php(144): Twig_ExpressionParser->parseExpression() #5 /web/htdocs/www.cantodellasfinge.net/ho in /web/htdocs/www.cantodellasfinge.net/home/phpBB_3/v ... Parser.php on line 574
I have not failed. I've just found 10,000 ways that won't work.
(Thomas Alva Edison)

User avatar
jumborex
Registered User
Posts: 142
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 3:18 pm
Name: Franco Giambalvo
Contact:

Re: Update to 3.2.0 using Automatic Update

Post by jumborex » Sat Jan 21, 2017 1:45 pm

No! It was a problem due to prosilver_se, not in the right version!
Now I put prosilver_se in version 3.1.10, but when I try to install, nothing is changed: it definitely doesn't work!
Same message: "Remove the install directory..."
http://www.cantodellasfinge.net/phpBB_3/
In this moment the "install" directory is "renamed".
I have not failed. I've just found 10,000 ways that won't work.
(Thomas Alva Edison)

User avatar
jumborex
Registered User
Posts: 142
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 3:18 pm
Name: Franco Giambalvo
Contact:

Re: Update to 3.2.0 using Automatic Update

Post by jumborex » Tue Jan 24, 2017 8:42 am

Hey guys, i have news (not good) for you (and especially for me :shock: ).
This is a fully new board I prepared for testing: www.cantodellasfinge.net/phpBB32/
I installed it in version 3.1.10 (the same as my working forum now).
As you may see it's really "basic," just installed.
When you try to install the release 3.2, it doesn't work at all.
In this case I can gladly give to you the access of an admin user.
ID: Support
PW: Support_2017

As reported in this new Support Template.

Support Request Template
What version of phpBB are you using? phpBB 3.1.10
What is your board's URL? http://www.cantodellasfinge.net/phpBB32/
Who do you host your board with? Aruba Italy
How did you install your board? I used the download package from phpBB.com
What is the most recent action performed on your board? Fresh Install
Is registration required to reproduce this issue? Yes
Do you have any MODs installed? No
Do you have any extensions installed? No
What styles do you currently have installed? prosilver Special Edition
What language(s) is your board currently using? Italian
Which database type/version are you using? MySQL 5
What is your level of experience? Comfortable with PHP and phpBB
What username can be used to view this issue? Support
What password can be used to view this issue? Support_2017
What actions did you take (updating your board; installing a MOD, style or extension; etc.) prior to this problem becoming noticeable? Downloaded from phpBB the update to 3.2 and I started installing the upgrade to 3.2.
Please describe your problem. Entering the Admin and pointing to the "install" directory, I get the following message: "Please delete, move or rename the install directory before you use your board. If this directory is still present, only the Administration Control Panel (ACP) will be accessible." Impossible to go on!
Generated by SRT Generator

This is a "blocking" bug!
I would say this is not a "bug", but a "Super bug".
Please make me known about the next step: I may help as requested, but the alternative is to stop using phpBB!
I have not failed. I've just found 10,000 ways that won't work.
(Thomas Alva Edison)

User avatar
stevemaury
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 50510
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2006 12:21 am
Location: The U.P.
Name: Steve
Contact:

Re: Update to 3.2.0 using Automatic Update

Post by stevemaury » Tue Jan 24, 2017 9:12 am

Your /install directory is still present. Delete it.
For REALLY good and VERY inexpensive hosting CLICK HERE

I can stop all your spam. I can upgrade or update your Board. PM or email me. (Paid support)

User avatar
jumborex
Registered User
Posts: 142
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 3:18 pm
Name: Franco Giambalvo
Contact:

Re: Update to 3.2.0 using Automatic Update

Post by jumborex » Tue Jan 24, 2017 9:16 am

Ok! Sorry for this.
Now it should be ok.
I have not failed. I've just found 10,000 ways that won't work.
(Thomas Alva Edison)

Post Reply

Return to “[3.2.x] Support Forum”