Problem with word censor feature

Get help with installation and running phpBB 3.2.x here. Please do not post bug reports, feature requests, or extension related questions here.
terf
Registered User
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon May 05, 2003 3:58 pm

Problem with word censor feature

Post by terf »

I recently updated our forum to 3.2. Since then it's not possible for users to disable the word censor feature in their settings anymore. The setting is there, but the words still get censored. The user and forum permissions seem to be right. Anyone else having this problem? Thanks!
User avatar
Lumpy Burgertushie
Registered User
Posts: 67931
Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 3:11 am
Contact:

Re: Problem with word censor feature

Post by Lumpy Burgertushie »

I don't believe it was ever a setting available to users to override the word censor. that would sort of defeat the whole purpose of it.

if you had that, It must have been a extension or a 3.0 MOD etc.
and if you had that it must have been removed in the upgrade.

robert
I'm baaaaaccckkkk. still doing work on donation basis. PM your needs.

Premium phpBB 3.3 Styles by PlanetStyles.net

If nobody is in the forest, does a tree really fall?
User avatar
WelshPaul
Registered User
Posts: 385
Joined: Tue Aug 19, 2014 2:09 pm

Re: Problem with word censor feature

Post by WelshPaul »

It's a feature of phpBB...

Make sure that Allow disabling of word censoring: has been set to yes in the ACP.

You can find it by navigating to Posting > Post settings
terf
Registered User
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon May 05, 2003 3:58 pm

Re: Problem with word censor feature

Post by terf »

Thanks, WelshPaul, but this setting is (and was) activated. It worked before 3.2.
User avatar
Lumpy Burgertushie
Registered User
Posts: 67931
Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 3:11 am
Contact:

Re: Problem with word censor feature

Post by Lumpy Burgertushie »

sorry, I was looking in the users control panel. I stand corrected.


robert
I'm baaaaaccckkkk. still doing work on donation basis. PM your needs.

Premium phpBB 3.3 Styles by PlanetStyles.net

If nobody is in the forest, does a tree really fall?
User avatar
RMcGirr83
Recognised Extension Developer
Posts: 21168
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2005 4:33 pm
Location: Your display
Name: Rich McGirr

Re: Problem with word censor feature

Post by RMcGirr83 »

Lumpy Burgertushie wrote:
Tue Jan 31, 2017 5:18 pm
I don't believe it was ever a setting available to users to override the word censor. that would sort of defeat the whole purpose of it.
Noname.jpg
In times of change, learners inherit the earth, while the learned find themselves beautifully equipped to deal with a world that no longer exists - Eric Hoffer
Former Modifications/Extensions Team Member | My extensions | My extensions are updated regularly on github
Appreciate the extensions/mods/support then buy me a beer
All requests for support via PM will be ignored
User avatar
Lumpy Burgertushie
Registered User
Posts: 67931
Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 3:11 am
Contact:

Re: Problem with word censor feature

Post by Lumpy Burgertushie »

yep, just tested this and I can confirm that it does not work in 3.2

robert
I'm baaaaaccckkkk. still doing work on donation basis. PM your needs.

Premium phpBB 3.3 Styles by PlanetStyles.net

If nobody is in the forest, does a tree really fall?
terf
Registered User
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon May 05, 2003 3:58 pm

Re: Problem with word censor feature

Post by terf »

Thanks for testing. So I should probably open a bug report.
User avatar
stevemaury
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 51404
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2006 12:21 am
Location: The U.P.
Name: Steve
Contact:

Re: Problem with word censor feature

Post by stevemaury »

I can reproduce this. It appears to be a bug. I will report it.

https://tracker.phpbb.com/browse/PHPBB3-15061
For REALLY good and VERY inexpensive hosting CLICK HERE

I can stop all your spam. I can upgrade or update your Board. PM or email me. (Paid support)
SteStory
Registered User
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Apr 08, 2015 6:21 pm

Re: Problem with word censor feature

Post by SteStory »

Is there any movement on this? I've upgraded to 3.2 and have the same issue.
rxu
Extensions Development Team
Posts: 3318
Joined: Wed Oct 25, 2006 12:46 pm
Location: Siberia, Russian Federation
Name: Ruslan
Contact:

Re: Problem with word censor feature

Post by rxu »

rxu
Extensions Development Team
Posts: 3318
Joined: Wed Oct 25, 2006 12:46 pm
Location: Siberia, Russian Federation
Name: Ruslan
Contact:

Re: Problem with word censor feature

Post by rxu »

bzozoo
Registered User
Posts: 40
Joined: Mon Feb 11, 2019 6:33 am

Re: Problem with word censor feature

Post by bzozoo »

I have same problem. This topic is from 2017. Why hasn't it been improved since then? Can I apply the linked fix in 3.2.7?
User avatar
thecoalman
Community Team Member
Community Team Member
Posts: 3796
Joined: Wed Dec 22, 2004 3:52 am
Location: Pennsylvania, U.S.A.
Contact:

Re: Problem with word censor feature

Post by thecoalman »

bzozoo wrote:
Sat Jul 06, 2019 8:04 pm
I have same problem. This topic is from 2017. Why hasn't it been improved since then? Can I apply the linked fix in 3.2.7?
This should be fixed in version 3.2.7 and a few versions back.
“Results! Why, man, I have gotten a lot of results! I have found several thousand things that won’t work.”

Attributed - Thomas Edison
brisbanexxx
Registered User
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Jul 05, 2019 2:25 am

Re: Problem with word censor feature

Post by brisbanexxx »

can confirm the same issue still exists on a 3.2.7 build that was downloaded and set up about 10 days ago.
Post Reply

Return to “[3.2.x] Support Forum”