Upgrade to 3.2 question

Get help with installation and running phpBB 3.2.x here. Please do not post bug reports, feature requests, or extension related questions here.
Post Reply
MoundTown
Registered User
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Jul 18, 2006 5:00 pm
Contact:

Upgrade to 3.2 question

Post by MoundTown » Fri Jun 23, 2017 8:09 am

I tried to upgrade from 3.1.3 to 3.2 using the automatic upgrade and FTP. After finally getting past timeout errors the upgrade "said" it was successful. The problem is that now all I get is HTTP ERROR 500 when I try to access the forum. I had some mods installed which may be what caused this.

Anyway, what I want to do now is use the full install of 3.2 to see if that fixes things. I have a backup of the 3.1.3 database. The thing is that the upgrade instructions say to "Deactivate all styles except for prosilver" which I can't do because I can't access the forum. I also can't deactivate any extensions or set British English as the only language pack for the same reason. So what is going to happen if I follow the rest of the instructions except for these?

User avatar
Toxyy
Registered User
Posts: 699
Joined: Mon Oct 24, 2016 3:22 pm
Location: Namek
Contact:

Re: Upgrade to 3.2 question

Post by Toxyy » Fri Jun 23, 2017 2:31 pm

https://github.com/AlexSheer/phpbb3.1-STK

This STK works with 3.1, you can change your default style with it and clean your database as well.
I am a web developer/administrator, specializing in forums. If you have work you need done or are too lazy to do, pm me!

My extensions:
[3.2][BETA] Anonymous Posts || [3.2][BETA] Sticky Ad || [3.2][RC] Show User Activity ||
[3.2][DEV] User Delete Topics

User avatar
stevemaury
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 50812
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2006 12:21 am
Location: The U.P.
Name: Steve
Contact:

Re: Upgrade to 3.2 question

Post by stevemaury » Fri Jun 23, 2017 2:35 pm

For starters, the automatic update was the wrong way to go, because this is an upGRADE, not an update. The proper instructions are here - https://www.phpbb.com/support/docs/en/3 ... upgrade31/

You can use SQL to reset the style and language in the database - Executing SQL Queries in phpMyAdmin

Here is the query to run:

Code: Select all

UPDATE phpbb_config SET config_value = 'en' WHERE config_name = 'default_lang';
UPDATE phpbb_config SET config_value = 1 WHERE config_name = 'default_style';
UPDATE phpbb_config SET config_value = 1 WHERE config_name = 'override_user_style';
If your table prefix is not phpbb_, change accordingly.

After running the queries, using FTP, delete every file and folder in the /cache folder, except index.htn and .htaccess.
For REALLY good and VERY inexpensive hosting CLICK HERE

I can stop all your spam. I can upgrade or update your Board. PM or email me. (Paid support)

abcEzy
Registered User
Posts: 232
Joined: Mon May 09, 2005 6:48 pm

Re: Upgrade to 3.2 question

Post by abcEzy » Wed Jul 12, 2017 3:29 am

This didnt work for me, any other ideas, i mean, it updated the database, but i still get HTTP ERROR 500 :(

Thanks
stevemaury wrote:
Fri Jun 23, 2017 2:35 pm
For starters, the automatic update was the wrong way to go, because this is an upGRADE, not an update. The proper instructions are here - https://www.phpbb.com/support/docs/en/3 ... upgrade31/

You can use SQL to reset the style and language in the database - Executing SQL Queries in phpMyAdmin

Here is the query to run:

Code: Select all

UPDATE phpbb_config SET config_value = 'en' WHERE config_name = 'default_lang';
UPDATE phpbb_config SET config_value = 1 WHERE config_name = 'default_style';
UPDATE phpbb_config SET config_value = 1 WHERE config_name = 'override_user_style';
If your table prefix is not phpbb_, change accordingly.

After running the queries, using FTP, delete every file and folder in the /cache folder, except index.htn and .htaccess.

User avatar
janus_zonstraal
Registered User
Posts: 3631
Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2014 1:30 pm

Re: Upgrade to 3.2 question

Post by janus_zonstraal » Wed Jul 12, 2017 6:33 am

I see your board, so try a other browser, or empty the browser cache.
Sorry! My English is bat ;) !!!

abcEzy
Registered User
Posts: 232
Joined: Mon May 09, 2005 6:48 pm

Re: Upgrade to 3.2 question

Post by abcEzy » Mon Jul 17, 2017 4:42 am

anyone?

infinitiv
Registered User
Posts: 166
Joined: Sat Nov 15, 2014 3:47 pm
Location: PL
Name: Ficjusz

Re: Upgrade to 3.2 question

Post by infinitiv » Mon Jul 17, 2017 8:19 am

Did you tried aforementioned STK package?

abcEzy
Registered User
Posts: 232
Joined: Mon May 09, 2005 6:48 pm

Re: Upgrade to 3.2 question

Post by abcEzy » Thu Jul 20, 2017 1:13 am

infinitiv wrote:
Mon Jul 17, 2017 8:19 am
Did you tried aforementioned STK package?
whats that?

I just followed the instructions that was given, and i just get the 500 error.

rxu
Extensions Development Team
Posts: 2972
Joined: Wed Oct 25, 2006 12:46 pm
Location: Siberia, Russian Federation
Name: Ruslan
Contact:

Re: Upgrade to 3.2 question

Post by rxu » Thu Jul 20, 2017 5:35 am

Try checking the webserver's error log for the possible error details.

User avatar
janus_zonstraal
Registered User
Posts: 3631
Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2014 1:30 pm

Re: Upgrade to 3.2 question

Post by janus_zonstraal » Thu Jul 20, 2017 5:36 am

But your board is here:
http://www.karaoke-tutor.com/forum/ and I see no error 500
So can you describe your problem better?
Sorry! My English is bat ;) !!!

rxu
Extensions Development Team
Posts: 2972
Joined: Wed Oct 25, 2006 12:46 pm
Location: Siberia, Russian Federation
Name: Ruslan
Contact:

Re: Upgrade to 3.2 question

Post by rxu » Thu Jul 20, 2017 5:38 am

For me it gives HTTP403 btw.

Post Reply

Return to “[3.2.x] Support Forum”