Questions on moving from hosted forum to own domain/phpBB forum.

Get help with installation and running phpBB 3.2.x here. Please do not post bug reports, feature requests, or extension related questions here.
shakeninsane

Questions on moving from hosted forum to own domain/phpBB forum.

Post by shakeninsane » Wed Jul 19, 2017 9:47 am

Hi people!
Ok, so we have a bit of an odd problem here. As you might have heard, Tapatalk has been taking over a few hosted forum places. (Yuku, Zetaboards, maybe someone else?)

I was an an admin at a forum over at Yuku. We got moved to what is called the Tapatalk Group, which uses an admin CP with phpBB. But the forum itself is so crummy, I am tearing my hair out.

Now, luckily, we are a small group on our forum, just IRL friends hanging out on a forum. Two of the members are quite good at everything web-related, (coding, hosting, etc), so we are looking into just getting our own domain and making our own phpBB forum.

But I am wondering, is there a way to download the forum's posts from Tapatalk Groups (admin CP) and migrating evertyhing over to our own forum? I see there's a list of how-to's using and FTP and such, which looks like it's doable, but I can't seem to find out where or if it's even possible to download the forum as such from the ACP in the Tapatalk Groups.

We don't care about the layout/theme etc (Currently we don't even have our theme anyway since Tapatalk Group nuked it). We just want our posts.

Is this somehow possible?

Mick
Support Team Member
Support Team Member

Re: Questions on moving from hosted forum to own domain/phpBB forum.

Post by Mick » Wed Jul 19, 2017 9:53 am

First and foremost you need a copy of the phpBB database which has all the users and posts etc. If you can get that we can help you set up your new board. Do you have FTP and phpMyAdmin access?
"The more connected we get the more alone we become" - Kyle Broflovski

shakeninsane

Post by shakeninsane » Wed Jul 19, 2017 10:09 am