ACP Quick Reply Option Not Working

Get help with installation and running phpBB 3.2.x here. Please do not post bug reports, feature requests, or extension related questions here.
User avatar
Leinad4Mind
Translator
Posts: 804
Joined: Sun Jun 01, 2008 11:08 pm
Contact:

ACP Quick Reply Option Not Working

Post by Leinad4Mind » Sun Sep 10, 2017 5:58 pm

Hi there, I'm having the same issue as this user had: viewtopic.php?f=46&t=1866045&start=15#p13200669

I dont know how to check what the button is doing in the background after clicking on it. I would love to test and know what SQL code is being sent. But I presume that its not the correct one, and I would appreciate to have some tips so I can discover why it doesnt work.

I guess its a bug on phpBB since the bug has begin on 3.1.6? I guess. On 3.1.9+ I've been testing release by release, but the problem still remains on 3.2.1.

On 3.2.0 and 3.2.1 what I did was:
I've gone to ACP - Forums - Your first category - Your first forum
There I've confirmed that the option "Enable quick reply" is marked as No
Then I go to ACP - Posting - Messages - Post Settings and click on "Submit and enable quick reply in all forums".
After that I go again to the your first forum to check the "Enable quick reply" and its still as No.
So that submit is not working anymore as it should.

Cheers
Last edited by Leinad4Mind on Fri Sep 15, 2017 12:15 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Want to access all my portuguese MOD and Extension translations?
Become my Patreon!
phpBB Portugal Translator and Moderator

User avatar
Mick
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 17990
Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2008 9:49 am
Location: Cardiff

Re: ACP Quick Reply Option Not Working

Post by Mick » Sun Sep 10, 2017 6:15 pm

Sorry, but there's no support for boards with illegal content.

Closing.
"The more connected we get the more alone we become" - Kyle Broflovski

There are no ‘threads’ in phpBB, they are topics.
Forza Garibaldi

User avatar
JimA
Community Team Leader
Community Team Leader
Posts: 7040
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2008 5:54 am
Location: The Netherlands
Name: Jim Mossing Holsteyn
Contact:

Re: ACP Quick Reply Option Not Working

Post by JimA » Mon Sep 11, 2017 10:00 am

Topic re-opened after contact with the author.
Image Jim Mossing Holsteyn - Community Team Leader
Knowledge Base | Documentation | Board rules

If you're having any questions about the rules/customs of this website, feel free to drop me a PM.

User avatar
Leinad4Mind
Translator
Posts: 804
Joined: Sun Jun 01, 2008 11:08 pm
Contact:

Re: ACP Quick Reply Option Not Working

Post by Leinad4Mind » Thu Sep 14, 2017 10:23 am

Can anyone test this on a fresh 3.1.11 or 3.2.1 forum?
Want to access all my portuguese MOD and Extension translations?
Become my Patreon!
phpBB Portugal Translator and Moderator

User avatar
Mick
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 17990
Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2008 9:49 am
Location: Cardiff

Re: ACP Quick Reply Option Not Working

Post by Mick » Thu Sep 14, 2017 10:51 am

What version of phpBB are you having the issue with?
"The more connected we get the more alone we become" - Kyle Broflovski

There are no ‘threads’ in phpBB, they are topics.
Forza Garibaldi

User avatar
Leinad4Mind
Translator
Posts: 804
Joined: Sun Jun 01, 2008 11:08 pm
Contact:

Re: ACP Quick Reply Option Not Working

Post by Leinad4Mind » Thu Sep 14, 2017 11:24 am

Leinad4Mind wrote:
Sun Sep 10, 2017 5:58 pm
On 3.1.9+ I've been testing release by release, but the problem still remains on 3.2.1.

Cheers
Right now I have 2 fresh foruns (test purpose) one with 3.2.0 and other with 3.2.1. But as I said this begun happening in a lot of releases. I guess since 3.1.6
Want to access all my portuguese MOD and Extension translations?
Become my Patreon!
phpBB Portugal Translator and Moderator

User avatar
RMcGirr83
Recognised Extension Developer
Posts: 20360
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2005 4:33 pm
Location: Your display
Name: Rich McGirr
Contact:

Re: ACP Quick Reply Option Not Working

Post by RMcGirr83 » Fri Sep 15, 2017 12:49 am

It works fine for me in 3.2.1.
In times of change, learners inherit the earth, while the learned find themselves beautifully equipped to deal with a world that no longer exists - Eric Hoffer
Former Modifications/Extensions Team Member | My extensions
Appreciate the extensions/mods/support then buy me a beer
All requests for support via PM will be ignored

User avatar
Leinad4Mind
Translator
Posts: 804
Joined: Sun Jun 01, 2008 11:08 pm
Contact:

Re: ACP Quick Reply Option Not Working

Post by Leinad4Mind » Fri Sep 15, 2017 9:28 am

How can I know which sql query is being sent to the server? Can I output that? So when I click on the ACP button I'll know if something is wrong. Maybe the query that is created via php is grabbing wrong information.
Want to access all my portuguese MOD and Extension translations?
Become my Patreon!
phpBB Portugal Translator and Moderator

User avatar
david63
Jr. Extension Validator
Posts: 12940
Joined: Thu Dec 19, 2002 8:08 am
Location: Lancashire, UK
Name: David Wood
Contact:

Re: ACP Quick Reply Option Not Working

Post by david63 » Fri Sep 15, 2017 9:52 am

Leinad4Mind wrote:
Fri Sep 15, 2017 9:28 am
How can I know which sql query is being sent to the server?
Search through the core code like the rest of us have to do when we want to debug something.
David
Remember: You only know what you know and - you don't know what you don't know!
My CDB Contributions | How to install an extension
I will not be accepting translations for any of my extensions in Github - please post any translations in the appropriate topic.
No support requests via PM or email or as they will be ignored

User avatar
Leinad4Mind
Translator
Posts: 804
Joined: Sun Jun 01, 2008 11:08 pm
Contact:

Re: ACP Quick Reply Option Not Working

Post by Leinad4Mind » Fri Sep 15, 2017 10:10 am

I already did that :P

In /includes/constants.php I've check for the line:

Code: Select all

define('FORUM_FLAG_QUICK_REPLY', 64);
And it's all OK. I've the 64 value.

And on /includes/acp/acp_board.php

Code: Select all

$config->set($config_name, $config_value);
				if ($config_name == 'allow_quick_reply' && isset($_POST['allow_quick_reply_enable']))
				{
					enable_bitfield_column_flag(FORUMS_TABLE, 'forum_flags', log(FORUM_FLAG_QUICK_REPLY, 2));
				}
This enable bit field function is what will create the sql code. But I don't know how can I output that sql code that this function is creating. It would help me debugging.

And in includes/functions_admin.php we've:

Code: Select all

/**
 * Enables a particular flag in a bitfield column of a given table.
 *
 * @param string	$table_name		The table to update
 * @param string	$column_name	The column containing a bitfield to update
 * @param int		$flag			The binary flag which is OR-ed with the current column value
 * @param string	$sql_more		This string is attached to the sql query generated to update the table.
 *
 * @return null
 */
function enable_bitfield_column_flag($table_name, $column_name, $flag, $sql_more = '')
{
	global $db;
	$sql = 'UPDATE ' . $table_name . '
		SET ' . $column_name . ' = ' . $db->sql_bit_or($column_name, $flag) . '
		' . $sql_more;
	$db->sql_query($sql);
}
We can see here the sql code is created by php code. And maybe the values on the sql bit or are not the correct ones. Maybe instead of 64 I've 32 for some odd reason.
Want to access all my portuguese MOD and Extension translations?
Become my Patreon!
phpBB Portugal Translator and Moderator

User avatar
david63
Jr. Extension Validator
Posts: 12940
Joined: Thu Dec 19, 2002 8:08 am
Location: Lancashire, UK
Name: David Wood
Contact:

Re: ACP Quick Reply Option Not Working

Post by david63 » Fri Sep 15, 2017 10:15 am

Leinad4Mind wrote:
Fri Sep 15, 2017 10:10 am
But I don't know how can I output that sql code
print($sql);
David
Remember: You only know what you know and - you don't know what you don't know!
My CDB Contributions | How to install an extension
I will not be accepting translations for any of my extensions in Github - please post any translations in the appropriate topic.
No support requests via PM or email or as they will be ignored

User avatar
Leinad4Mind
Translator
Posts: 804
Joined: Sun Jun 01, 2008 11:08 pm
Contact:

Re: ACP Quick Reply Option Not Working

Post by Leinad4Mind » Fri Sep 15, 2017 10:23 am

:lol: that would be easy. But I've already try that. I've tried to apply that inside the enable_bitfield_column_flag function, after/before the $db->sql_query($sql); but I get an error when submiting the button: ERR_CONTENT_DECODING_FAILED
Want to access all my portuguese MOD and Extension translations?
Become my Patreon!
phpBB Portugal Translator and Moderator

User avatar
RMcGirr83
Recognised Extension Developer
Posts: 20360
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2005 4:33 pm
Location: Your display
Name: Rich McGirr
Contact:

Re: ACP Quick Reply Option Not Working

Post by RMcGirr83 » Fri Sep 15, 2017 10:30 am

Turn off gzip in the ACP.
In times of change, learners inherit the earth, while the learned find themselves beautifully equipped to deal with a world that no longer exists - Eric Hoffer
Former Modifications/Extensions Team Member | My extensions
Appreciate the extensions/mods/support then buy me a beer
All requests for support via PM will be ignored

User avatar
Leinad4Mind
Translator
Posts: 804
Joined: Sun Jun 01, 2008 11:08 pm
Contact:

Re: ACP Quick Reply Option Not Working

Post by Leinad4Mind » Fri Sep 15, 2017 10:38 am

Great! Thks!

After submitting Im getting this sql: "UPDATE lei32_forums SET forum_flags = forum_flags | 32"

It should be 64, but it appears 32 as I thought. :|
Want to access all my portuguese MOD and Extension translations?
Become my Patreon!
phpBB Portugal Translator and Moderator

User avatar
Leinad4Mind
Translator
Posts: 804
Joined: Sun Jun 01, 2008 11:08 pm
Contact:

Re: ACP Quick Reply Option Not Working

Post by Leinad4Mind » Fri Sep 15, 2017 10:49 am

I've found that on /phpbb/db/driver/driver.php

If I change:

Code: Select all

return $column_name . ' | ' . (1 << $bit) . (($compare) ? ' ' . $compare : '');
to

Code: Select all

return $column_name . ' | ' . (2 << $bit) . (($compare) ? ' ' . $compare : '');
It solves my problem. It sends 64 instead of 32. (And my $bit value aka $flag was 6)

The strange thing is why it happens just with some of us? (I'm not the only one with this bug)

best regards
Last edited by Leinad4Mind on Fri Sep 15, 2017 10:55 am, edited 1 time in total.
Want to access all my portuguese MOD and Extension translations?
Become my Patreon!
phpBB Portugal Translator and Moderator

Post Reply

Return to “[3.2.x] Support Forum”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: cisco007, marius93 and 22 guests

cron