Upgraded 3.2.0 to 3.2.1, ACP Extension tab gone

Get help with installation and running phpBB 3.2.x here. Please do not post bug reports, feature requests, or extension related questions here.
Post Reply
User avatar
craig.constantine
Registered User
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat May 27, 2017 1:47 am

Upgraded 3.2.0 to 3.2.1, ACP Extension tab gone

Post by craig.constantine » Sun Sep 24, 2017 2:38 pm

I wanted to ask before I start messing things up...

I followed these steps *exactly*
https://www.phpbb.com/support/docs/en/3 ... ating-32x/

and everything went well. Board is up, etc.

I went into the ACP to, and clickedd on my Extensions tab, and I get the screen shown in the attachment.

Any tips on where I should start looking?
Attachments
Screen Shot 2017-09-24 at 10.37.09 AM.png
Last edited by craig.constantine on Mon Sep 25, 2017 1:47 pm, edited 3 times in total.

User avatar
KevC
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 67108
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2004 10:44 am
Location: Oxford, UK
Contact:

Re: Upgraded to 3.2.2, now missing an extension...

Post by KevC » Sun Sep 24, 2017 2:49 pm

Those are the instructions for going from 3.2.x to 3.2.y
You look like you're going from 3.0 > 3.2


By default, you shouldn't have an extensions tab. It only shows if you have installed an extension that need it.

What you're seeing there is a left over from 3.0 because you didn't remove all of the old MODs you had, specifically the board announcements one.
-:|:- Support Request Template -:|:-
Image
Cheap UK Hosting
"In the land of the blind the little green bloke with no pupils is king - init!"

User avatar
craig.constantine
Registered User
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat May 27, 2017 1:47 am

Re: Upgraded to 3.2.2, now missing an extension...

Post by craig.constantine » Sun Sep 24, 2017 2:53 pm

I thought I was going from 3.2.1 to 3.2.2
I was definitely at 3.2.x though

My forum install is relatively recent, meaning I def fresh installed a 3.2... now I'm doubting my memory of being at 3.2.1 before attempting this upgrade :/

User avatar
KevC
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 67108
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2004 10:44 am
Location: Oxford, UK
Contact:

Re: Upgraded to 3.2.2, now missing an extension...

Post by KevC » Sun Sep 24, 2017 3:07 pm

3.2.2 isn't even out yet.
-:|:- Support Request Template -:|:-
Image
Cheap UK Hosting
"In the land of the blind the little green bloke with no pupils is king - init!"

User avatar
craig.constantine
Registered User
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat May 27, 2017 1:47 am

Re: Upgraded to 3.2.2, now missing an extension...

Post by craig.constantine » Sun Sep 24, 2017 3:30 pm

hehe, yeah. Then clearly I was updating 3.2.0 to 3.2.1

...is there a way I can tell for sure what I updated FROM. I saved the few directories that the instrux said to delete from the server.

User avatar
KevC
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 67108
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2004 10:44 am
Location: Oxford, UK
Contact:

Re: Upgraded to 3.2.2, now missing an extension...

Post by KevC » Sun Sep 24, 2017 3:36 pm

You can look at the style.cfg file in the prosilver folder.

You could just disable all extensions with this and then try and reinstall a correct 3.2.x version of that extension.
Knowledge Base - Disabling all extensions at once
-:|:- Support Request Template -:|:-
Image
Cheap UK Hosting
"In the land of the blind the little green bloke with no pupils is king - init!"

User avatar
craig.constantine
Registered User
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat May 27, 2017 1:47 am

Re: Upgraded to 3.2.2, now missing an extension...

Post by craig.constantine » Sun Sep 24, 2017 3:50 pm

oh, wait I see you linked docs... duh craig

I don't understand what you mean by " just disable all extensions with this "
edit that file in certain way?

my php/programming/webhosting skills are strong, for phpbb... i can pretty much spell "phpbb" (and I'm good at reading manuals)

User avatar
craig.constantine
Registered User
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat May 27, 2017 1:47 am

Re: Upgraded to 3.2.2, now missing an extension...

Post by craig.constantine » Mon Sep 25, 2017 10:10 am

What were you suggesting I could accomplish with "You can look at the style.cfg file in the prosilver folder." Here's the style.cfg file...

Code: Select all

#
# phpBB Style Configuration File
#
# This file is part of the phpBB Forum Software package.
#
# @copyright (c) phpBB Limited <https://www.phpbb.com>
# @license GNU General Public License, version 2 (GPL-2.0)
#
# For full copyright and license information, please see
# the docs/CREDITS.txt file.
#
# At the left is the name, please do not change this
# At the right the value is entered
#
# Values get trimmed, if you want to add a space in front or at the end of
# the value, then enclose the value with single or double quotes.
# Single and double quotes do not need to be escaped.
#
#

# General Information about this style
name = prosilver
copyright = © phpBB Limited, 2007
style_version = 3.2.1
phpbb_version = 3.2.1

# Defining a different template bitfield
# template_bitfield = lNg=

# Parent style
# Set value to empty or to this style's name if this style does not have a parent style
parent = prosilver
As for disabling extensions, I read that knowledge base item. It has a section on "Manually, via Command Line Interface (CLI) where, again, you disable your extensions one at a time." Which explains pros/cons and has a link to how to *use* the CLI (I'm familiar with work in a shell) The "how to use CLI" lnk in that section just points to Area51 So that section doesn't have any instructions on how to actually disable extensions. What am I missing here?

User avatar
craig.constantine
Registered User
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat May 27, 2017 1:47 am

Re: Upgraded to 3.2.2, now missing an extension...

Post by craig.constantine » Mon Sep 25, 2017 1:07 pm

update on versions: I definitely was running 3.2/Rhea when I started this upgrade.

I created the board in May, and the PDF manual for phpBB that I downloaded (and read) at that time is the 3.2/Rhea manual. So despite my unfortunate error of writing 3.2._2_ in this thread title, I was running 3.2.0 and upgrading to 3.2.1.

So now I'm more hopeful that if I can just disable the current extensions (its only a few supported ones; google translate feature, board rules and board announcements), then I can re-/install them.

User avatar
stevemaury
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 47786
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2006 12:21 am
Location: The U.P.
Name: Steve
Contact:

Re: Upgraded 3.2.0 to 3.2.1, ACP Extension tab gone

Post by stevemaury » Mon Sep 25, 2017 1:50 pm

I am not sure why it is you cannot disable the current extensions. Did you not make a backup? So restore the backup and remove the extensions and then upgrade.
For REALLY good and VERY inexpensive hosting CLICK HERE

All unsolicited PMs will be ignored.

User avatar
KevC
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 67108
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2004 10:44 am
Location: Oxford, UK
Contact:

Re: Upgraded 3.2.0 to 3.2.1, ACP Extension tab gone

Post by KevC » Mon Sep 25, 2017 2:28 pm

craig.constantine wrote:
Mon Sep 25, 2017 10:10 am
What were you suggesting I could accomplish with "You can look at the style.cfg file in the prosilver folder." Here's the style.cfg file...
You said you had all the files from the old version that you replaced. There is a line in the prosilver style.cfg file that says phpbb_version =
which would tell you which one you had.

As for disabling the extensions, I would go for one of the bottom 2 options in that article I linked, depending on which bit of the admin panel you can access.
-:|:- Support Request Template -:|:-
Image
Cheap UK Hosting
"In the land of the blind the little green bloke with no pupils is king - init!"

User avatar
craig.constantine
Registered User
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat May 27, 2017 1:47 am

Re: Upgraded 3.2.0 to 3.2.1, ACP Extension tab gone

Post by craig.constantine » Mon Sep 25, 2017 6:16 pm

I have this all sorted out now...

I installed the 'Disable All Extensions' extension, enabled it.
I then had a short list of warnings in the Customize tab, where the extension manager listed my extensions as missing.
Once I installed each, those errors went away. I disabled, and enabled, them one by one, and everything is back to normal (obv all the setting and data were still in the db.)

Root cause?

I believe my FTP client cleared out the ext/ directory. All my extensions were gone from there, all I had was the ext/phpbb/viglink/ extension.

Post Reply

Return to “[3.2.x] Support Forum”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Binano, brainfix, Crizzo, elonturing, Froddelaar, Mick, nhseacoast and 23 guests