Problem with RSS feed

Get help with installation and running phpBB 3.2.x here. Please do not post bug reports, feature requests, or extension related questions here.
Post Reply
RadioBoard
Registered User
Posts: 64
Joined: Sat Jun 27, 2015 5:06 pm

Problem with RSS feed

Post by RadioBoard » Fri Sep 29, 2017 6:28 pm

My board is in a subdomain, http://theradioboard.com/rb

RSS feeds work. I'm reading them in FossaMail. In the FossaMail header is a link to the post contained in the RSS feed. That link works. The problem appears when the content of the feed contains a quote. If I click on the upward arrow that should link to the quoted post, the link is missing the 'rb' subdomain part of the URL. In other words, instead of http:// theradioboard.com/rb/somepost.php, it's http:// the radioboard.com/somepost.php

I went into ACP General | Board settings | Main website URL: and entered the full URL, including /rb, but that hasn't fixed it.

This is a minor problem, as RSS users aren't likely to click on links to quoted posts from within an RSS feed, but I'd like to fix it. I suspect I need to edit feed.php but I'd like to know more. Thanks.

The URL for RSS feeds is http://theradioboard.com/rb/feed.php if you want to check it out. You'll have to look for a feed that contains a quoted post.

Jim

User avatar
Brf
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 51868
Joined: Tue May 10, 2005 7:47 pm
Location: {postrow.POSTER_FROM}
Contact:

Re: Problem with RSS feed

Post by Brf » Fri Sep 29, 2017 6:37 pm

The "Main website url" is only for the breadcrumb link on your forum pages.
The setting you are looking for is the "Script Path" on the Server Settings page.

RadioBoard
Registered User
Posts: 64
Joined: Sat Jun 27, 2015 5:06 pm

Re: Problem with RSS feed

Post by RadioBoard » Fri Sep 29, 2017 6:54 pm

Brf wrote:
Fri Sep 29, 2017 6:37 pm
The "Main website url" is only for the breadcrumb link on your forum pages.
The setting you are looking for is the "Script Path" on the Server Settings page.
Thanks. Script path is set to /rb. Domain name is set to theradioboard.com/

Edit: Within posts on the board itself, those links work. Example:

http://theradioboard.com/rb/viewtopic.p ... 139#p76139

If you click on the up arrow at the beginning of the quoted text, it will take you to the quoted post. That same arrow in an RSS feed misses the /rb subdomain.

Jim

User avatar
janus_zonstraal
Registered User
Posts: 3645
Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2014 1:30 pm

Re: Problem with RSS feed

Post by janus_zonstraal » Fri Sep 29, 2017 7:33 pm

/rb is just a folder not a subdomain

rb.yourdomain.com is a subdomain
Sorry! My English is bat ;) !!!

RadioBoard
Registered User
Posts: 64
Joined: Sat Jun 27, 2015 5:06 pm

Re: Problem with RSS feed

Post by RadioBoard » Fri Sep 29, 2017 8:36 pm

janus_zonstraal wrote:
Fri Sep 29, 2017 7:33 pm
/rb is just a folder not a subdomain

rb.yourdomain.com is a subdomain
Okay, but the path to scripts is in /rb. All phpBB code is in the /rb folder. What do I change to get the links to quoted posts within RSS feeds to recognize that the post URLs are within the /rb folder? Links within posts on the board are correct; it's only links to quoted posts within RSS feeds that are broken.

Jim

User avatar
Brf
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 51868
Joined: Tue May 10, 2005 7:47 pm
Location: {postrow.POSTER_FROM}
Contact:

Re: Problem with RSS feed

Post by Brf » Sat Sep 30, 2017 5:59 pm

If you are using an extension for RSS feeds, you should be asking in the support area for that extension.

RadioBoard
Registered User
Posts: 64
Joined: Sat Jun 27, 2015 5:06 pm

Re: Problem with RSS feed

Post by RadioBoard » Sat Sep 30, 2017 6:13 pm

Brf wrote:
Sat Sep 30, 2017 5:59 pm
If you are using an extension for RSS feeds, you should be asking in the support area for that extension.
OMG, I'm not using an extension! It's built into the phpBB 3.2.1 code.

ACP | General | BOARD CONFIGURATION | Feed settings

I assume this is an unreported bug in 3.2.1, which is why no one understands it.

Jim

User avatar
Mick
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 21593
Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2008 9:49 am
Location: Caerdydd

Re: Problem with RSS feed

Post by Mick » Sat Sep 30, 2017 7:18 pm

RadioBoard wrote:
Sat Sep 30, 2017 6:13 pm
It's built into the phpBB 3.2.1 code.
No it’s not, phpBB uses Atom feed by default. The point is, if you’re using RSS then it must be an extension.

Edit: For some reason I had a search and found viewtopic.php?f=456&t=2411596
"The more connected we get the more alone we become" - Kyle Broflovski

RadioBoard
Registered User
Posts: 64
Joined: Sat Jun 27, 2015 5:06 pm

Re: Problem with RSS feed

Post by RadioBoard » Sat Sep 30, 2017 11:05 pm

Mick wrote:
Sat Sep 30, 2017 7:18 pm
RadioBoard wrote:
Sat Sep 30, 2017 6:13 pm
It's built into the phpBB 3.2.1 code.
No it’s not, phpBB uses Atom feed by default. The point is, if you’re using RSS then it must be an extension.

Edit: For some reason I had a search and found viewtopic.php?f=456&t=2411596
I'm not reading feeds into the board, I'm reading them from the board. Please read OP.

Here's an example of the XML generated by feed.php.
<category term="Forum Issues and Administration" scheme="http://theradioboard.com/rb/viewforum.php?f=6" label="Forum Issues and Administration"/>

<content type="html" xml:base="http://theradioboard.com/rb/viewtopic.p ... 162#p76162"><![CDATA[
<blockquote><div><cite><a href="./../memberlist.php?mode=viewprofile&amp;u=866">N3PM</a> wrote: <a href="./../viewtopic.php?p=46273#p46273" data-post-id="46273" >↑</a><div class="responsive-hide">Sat Nov 23, 2013 9:03 am</div></cite>Is it possible to change my user name?<br>Mike N3PM</div></blockquote>Test. Please ignore.<br><br>Jim<p>Statistics: Posted by <a href="http://theradioboard.com/rb/memberlist. ... 2">KR1S</a> — Sat Sep 30, 2017 3:38 pm</p><hr />
Here's a section of the actual post on phpBB, via View Source in my browser:
<p class="author">
<a class="unread" href="./viewtopic.php?p=46273#p46273" title="Post">
<i class="icon fa-file fa-fw icon-lightgray icon-md" aria-hidden="true"></i><span class="sr-only">Post</span>
<div class="content">Is it possible to change my user name?<br>
Do you see the difference? In the post, the link is given as ./viewtopic.php?....

In the XML file, it's ./../viewtopic.php?....

My contention is that the link to the quoted post (bold) is not correctly parsed and instead of generating theradioboard.com/rb... it's missing the /rb part and trying to find the post in the main directory, theradioboard.com.

The link is working correctly in posts on the board; it's only the XML file that is broken. This XML file is presumably generated by feed.php. Atom or RSS are irrelevant; the XML file is busted.

I just downloaded a new Zip file of phpBB 3.2.1. feed.php is in the package, so this is not an extension. I am not trying to read RSS into phpBB. I am using feed.php to generate an XML file, which contains an incorrect link when parsing quoted text in a post.

You may read the XML file here: http://theradioboard.com/rb/app.php/feed and you may view the post in question here: http://theradioboard.com/rb/viewtopic.p ... 162#p76162

Jim

RadioBoard
Registered User
Posts: 64
Joined: Sat Jun 27, 2015 5:06 pm

Re: Problem with RSS feed

Post by RadioBoard » Sun Oct 01, 2017 4:37 am

Maybe if I rename this Problem with Atom feed it will get a useful reply?

Code: Select all

* This file is part of the phpBB Forum Software package.
Jim

Paul
Infrastructure Team Leader
Infrastructure Team Leader
Posts: 25388
Joined: Sat Dec 04, 2004 3:44 pm
Location: The netherlands.
Name: Paul Sohier
Contact:

Re: Problem with RSS feed

Post by Paul » Sun Oct 01, 2017 6:50 am

This seems to be a bug. Can you please report it to https://tracker.phpbb.com/ ? It is a problem specific with quotes in the feed.
Knock knock
Race condition
Who's there?

My BlogMy Photosmy phpBB Extensionscustom phpBB work & Development

RadioBoard
Registered User
Posts: 64
Joined: Sat Jun 27, 2015 5:06 pm

Re: Problem with RSS feed

Post by RadioBoard » Sun Oct 01, 2017 6:09 pm

Paul wrote:
Sun Oct 01, 2017 6:50 am
This seems to be a bug. Can you please report it to https://tracker.phpbb.com/ ? It is a problem specific with quotes in the feed.
Done. Thanks, Paul!

https://tracker.phpbb.com/browse/PHPBB3-15383

Jim

Post Reply

Return to “[3.2.x] Support Forum”