Problem with update 3.1.x to 3.2.1

Get help with installation and running phpBB 3.2.x here. Please do not post bug reports, feature requests, or extension related questions here.
User avatar
tamarin
Registered User
Posts: 110
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2015 9:02 pm
Location: Germany
Name: Ed

Problem with update 3.1.x to 3.2.1

Post by tamarin » Wed Nov 22, 2017 3:15 pm

Hello.
When updating my forum from 3.1.x to 3.2.1, the following message appeared:
The installer detected a timeout
The installer has detected a timeout, you may try to refresh the page, which may lead to data corruption. We suggest that you either increase your timeout settings or try to use the CLI.


What could that mean?
Can you help me, please?
Thank you in advance.

User avatar
warmweer
Registered User
Posts: 502
Joined: Fri Jul 04, 2003 6:34 am
Location: Van Allen Belt ... well actually Belgium

Re: Problem with update 3.1.x to 3.2.1

Post by warmweer » Wed Nov 22, 2017 7:12 pm

perhaps this post will help you: viewtopic.php?f=556&t=2446596&start=15#p14870111
You might want to read the whole topic through.
A bug is a feature that didn't make it to the manual (yet)

User avatar
tamarin
Registered User
Posts: 110
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2015 9:02 pm
Location: Germany
Name: Ed

Re: Problem with update 3.1.x to 3.2.1

Post by tamarin » Thu Nov 23, 2017 8:28 am

warmweer wrote:
Wed Nov 22, 2017 7:12 pm
perhaps this post will help you: viewtopic.php?f=556&t=2446596&start=15#p14870111
You might want to read the whole topic through.
- Thank you warmweer for your help.
I removed the cache and config folder and reuploaded it - and without results.
I have deleted the io_lock file in store. But I did not find the install_config file.
:cry:
What else can I do?

janus_zonstraal
Registered User
Posts: 1809
Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2014 1:30 pm

Re: Problem with update 3.1.x to 3.2.1

Post by janus_zonstraal » Thu Nov 23, 2017 8:36 am

We suggest that you either increase your timeout settings
What is the time-out setting now?
See php info or ask your host.
Sorry! My English is bat ;) !!!

User avatar
tamarin
Registered User
Posts: 110
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2015 9:02 pm
Location: Germany
Name: Ed

Re: Problem with update 3.1.x to 3.2.1

Post by tamarin » Thu Nov 23, 2017 8:41 am

janus_zonstraal wrote:
Thu Nov 23, 2017 8:36 am
We suggest that you either increase your timeout settings
What is the time-out setting now?
See php info or ask your host.
- Where can I see the timeout setting?
I wrote in support of the server.
Here's what they said to me:
With this, we cannot increase the time out time for php, you would need to try it via CLI, which means using SSH.

janus_zonstraal
Registered User
Posts: 1809
Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2014 1:30 pm

Re: Problem with update 3.1.x to 3.2.1

Post by janus_zonstraal » Thu Nov 23, 2017 8:45 am

ACP => php info

Did you also upload the new .htaccess file?
Sorry! My English is bat ;) !!!

User avatar
tamarin
Registered User
Posts: 110
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2015 9:02 pm
Location: Germany
Name: Ed

Re: Problem with update 3.1.x to 3.2.1

Post by tamarin » Thu Nov 23, 2017 8:54 am

janus_zonstraal wrote:
Thu Nov 23, 2017 8:45 am
ACP => php info
- Unfortunately, I can not enter the admin section. :roll:
Can I somehow look through the server or ftp?
janus_zonstraal wrote:
Thu Nov 23, 2017 8:45 am
Did you also upload the new .htaccess file?

- No.
In store folder or in the root?

janus_zonstraal
Registered User
Posts: 1809
Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2014 1:30 pm

Re: Problem with update 3.1.x to 3.2.1

Post by janus_zonstraal » Thu Nov 23, 2017 9:16 am

So you didn't follow the instructions?

https://www.phpbb.com/support/docs/en/3 ... ating-32x/
Sorry! My English is bat ;) !!!

User avatar
tamarin
Registered User
Posts: 110
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2015 9:02 pm
Location: Germany
Name: Ed

Re: Problem with update 3.1.x to 3.2.1

Post by tamarin » Thu Nov 23, 2017 9:20 am

janus_zonstraal wrote:
Thu Nov 23, 2017 9:16 am
So you didn't follow the instructions?

https://www.phpbb.com/support/docs/en/3 ... ating-32x/
- Of course, I did everything according to the instructions.

janus_zonstraal
Registered User
Posts: 1809
Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2014 1:30 pm

Re: Problem with update 3.1.x to 3.2.1

Post by janus_zonstraal » Thu Nov 23, 2017 9:30 am

Did you also upload the new .htaccess file?


- No.
You said no the first time I ask you.
I know that the update fails when you use a modified .htaccess therefore my question.
Sorry! My English is bat ;) !!!

User avatar
tamarin
Registered User
Posts: 110
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2015 9:02 pm
Location: Germany
Name: Ed

Re: Problem with update 3.1.x to 3.2.1

Post by tamarin » Thu Nov 23, 2017 9:39 am

janus_zonstraal wrote:
Thu Nov 23, 2017 9:30 am
Did you also upload the new .htaccess file?


- No.
You said no the first time I ask you.
I know that the update fails when you use a modified .htaccess therefore my question.
- At first I thought, when I did it:
tamarin wrote:
Thu Nov 23, 2017 8:28 am
...
I removed the cache and config folder and reuploaded it - and without results.
I have deleted the io_lock file in store. But I did not find the install_config file.
...


Then I realized that you are asking if I updated the .htaccess file when I did the instructions.

janus_zonstraal
Registered User
Posts: 1809
Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2014 1:30 pm

Re: Problem with update 3.1.x to 3.2.1

Post by janus_zonstraal » Thu Nov 23, 2017 10:32 am

Can I somehow look through the server or ftp?
In cPanel or

https://mediatemple.net/community/produ ... o.php-page
Sorry! My English is bat ;) !!!

User avatar
tamarin
Registered User
Posts: 110
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2015 9:02 pm
Location: Germany
Name: Ed

Re: Problem with update 3.1.x to 3.2.1

Post by tamarin » Thu Nov 23, 2017 11:00 am

janus_zonstraal wrote:
Thu Nov 23, 2017 10:32 am
Can I somehow look through the server or ftp?
In cPanel or

https://mediatemple.net/community/produ ... o.php-page
- The php-version is 7.0.
But where can I see the timeout setting?

janus_zonstraal
Registered User
Posts: 1809
Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2014 1:30 pm

Re: Problem with update 3.1.x to 3.2.1

Post by janus_zonstraal » Thu Nov 23, 2017 11:10 am

max_execution_time
standard = 30
Sorry! My English is bat ;) !!!

User avatar
tamarin
Registered User
Posts: 110
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2015 9:02 pm
Location: Germany
Name: Ed

Re: Problem with update 3.1.x to 3.2.1

Post by tamarin » Thu Nov 23, 2017 11:13 am

janus_zonstraal wrote:
Thu Nov 23, 2017 11:10 am
max_execution_time
standard = 30
- I have max_execution_time 30 too.

Local Value: 30
Master Value: 30

Post Reply

Return to “[3.2.x] Support Forum”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: hewmac06, PELP and 146 guests

cron