Spaces in Usernames - surely there is a registration bug

Get help with installation and running phpBB 3.2.x here. Please do not post bug reports, feature requests, or extension related questions here.
User avatar
KevC
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 68326
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2004 10:44 am
Location: Oxford, UK
Contact:

Re: Spaces in Usernames - surely there is a registration bug

Post by KevC » Wed Jan 17, 2018 3:33 pm

What does that custom memberships extension do? That might be one to try turning off first.

Can do and ask them to upgrade it in the same way. What ever is causing it, it's not standard behaviour for a new installation which suggests it's something that's been added, changed or updated.
-:|:- Support Request Template -:|:-
Image
Cheap UK Hosting
"In the land of the blind the little green bloke with no pupils is king - init!"

phil_h
Registered User
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2006 5:48 pm
Name: phil harris

Re: Spaces in Usernames - surely there is a registration bug

Post by phil_h » Wed Jan 17, 2018 3:46 pm

we had the problem before jonas (kasimi) started working on the custom extension

User avatar
KevC
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 68326
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2004 10:44 am
Location: Oxford, UK
Contact:

Re: Spaces in Usernames - surely there is a registration bug

Post by KevC » Wed Jan 17, 2018 4:24 pm

I'm leaning towards it being whatever your friend used to install it in the first place or whatever your hosts have done to update it then.
-:|:- Support Request Template -:|:-
Image
Cheap UK Hosting
"In the land of the blind the little green bloke with no pupils is king - init!"

phil_h
Registered User
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2006 5:48 pm
Name: phil harris

Re: Spaces in Usernames - surely there is a registration bug

Post by phil_h » Wed Jan 17, 2018 4:39 pm

just updated it to 3.2.2 - space prob still present.

just installed a test board from the 1-click and it doesnt have the space prob

User avatar
KevC
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 68326
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2004 10:44 am
Location: Oxford, UK
Contact:

Re: Spaces in Usernames - surely there is a registration bug

Post by KevC » Wed Jan 17, 2018 5:05 pm

I've just done a brand new test installation of 3.2.2 and it works fine with a space.
-:|:- Support Request Template -:|:-
Image
Cheap UK Hosting
"In the land of the blind the little green bloke with no pupils is king - init!"

phil_h
Registered User
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2006 5:48 pm
Name: phil harris

Re: Spaces in Usernames - surely there is a registration bug

Post by phil_h » Thu Jan 18, 2018 1:58 pm

Just disabled all extensions, testing after each, and spaces still rejected.
The error message is:
'The username you entered has been disallowed or contains a disallowed word. Please choose a different name.'
which is 'USERNAME_DISALLOWED_USERNAME' and is only in language\en\ucp.php in the phpBB-3.2.0.zip install fileset !

So I'm extracting a full backup onto my hard drive to do a full file search as I cant search on the server.

And that has got me stumped - the token does not show up in any other files.
I used a 'full backup' and notepad++ 'find in files' with a *.* filter and the only results I got were copies of ucp.php (I modify the user agreement)
Last edited by phil_h on Thu Jan 18, 2018 2:31 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
KevC
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 68326
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2004 10:44 am
Location: Oxford, UK
Contact:

Re: Spaces in Usernames - surely there is a registration bug

Post by KevC » Thu Jan 18, 2018 2:29 pm

KevC wrote:
Wed Jan 17, 2018 3:09 pm
Can you also post screenshots of the ban option windows. Especially the username one.
-:|:- Support Request Template -:|:-
Image
Cheap UK Hosting
"In the land of the blind the little green bloke with no pupils is king - init!"

phil_h
Registered User
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2006 5:48 pm
Name: phil harris

Re: Spaces in Usernames - surely there is a registration bug

Post by phil_h » Thu Jan 18, 2018 2:32 pm

KevC wrote:
Thu Jan 18, 2018 2:29 pm
KevC wrote:
Wed Jan 17, 2018 3:09 pm
Can you also post screenshots of the ban option windows. Especially the username one.
There is nothing in any ban options or disallowed usernames

User avatar
kasimi
Extension Customisations
Extension Customisations
Posts: 3233
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2011 7:12 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Spaces in Usernames - surely there is a registration bug

Post by kasimi » Thu Jan 18, 2018 2:39 pm

phil_h wrote:
Thu Jan 18, 2018 1:58 pm
And that has got me stumped - the token does not show up in any other files.
The language key is concatenated. Search for USERNAME_DISALLOWED. You should find it twice, in the language file and in root/includes/functions_user.php.

phil_h
Registered User
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2006 5:48 pm
Name: phil harris

Re: Spaces in Usernames - surely there is a registration bug

Post by phil_h » Thu Jan 18, 2018 2:43 pm

Er... well I said there was nothing in the disallowed usernames... because I though what was there was an artefact of nothing being set up - but there was an asterisk in the disallowed list ?
Anyway - I removed it and bingo, space accepted.

Sorry for the fuss and many thanks for your time.

Post Reply

Return to “[3.2.x] Support Forum”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: EA117, janus_zonstraal, menz01, Paul and 52 guests