Can't do Admin Login with Different IP?

Get help with installation and running phpBB 3.2.x here. Please do not post bug reports, feature requests, or extension related questions here.
Post Reply
marvin-miller
Registered User
Posts: 56
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2014 1:52 am

Can't do Admin Login with Different IP?

Post by marvin-miller » Sun Dec 17, 2017 3:42 am

I just did an install over a VPN. I can log-in to the admin account when I'm on the VPN. As soon as I disconnect from the VPN I can't log-in. My guess is that it's doing IP address validation. HOw can I change this?

User avatar
stevemaury
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 49457
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2006 12:21 am
Location: The U.P.
Name: Steve
Contact:

Re: Can't do Admin Login with Different IP?

Post by stevemaury » Sun Dec 17, 2017 4:10 am

phpBB does not validate a login request by IP validation. Otherwise, how could you log in from different locations?

Please fill out the Support Request Template and post it back here to enable us to assist you better.
For REALLY good and VERY inexpensive hosting CLICK HERE

I can stop all your spam. PM or email me.

All unsolicited PMs will be ignored.

marvin-miller
Registered User
Posts: 56
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2014 1:52 am

Re: Can't do Admin Login with Different IP?

Post by marvin-miller » Sun Dec 17, 2017 4:18 am

Here you go....

Support Request Template
What version of phpBB are you using? phpBB 3.2.1
What is your board's URL? http://www.millerbike.com/forum
Who do you host your board with? Self
How did you install your board? I used the download package from phpBB.com
What is the most recent action performed on your board? Fresh Install
Is registration required to reproduce this issue? Yes
Do you have any MODs installed? No
Do you have any extensions installed? No
What styles do you currently have installed? prosilver
What language(s) is your board currently using? British
Which database type/version are you using? MySQL 5
What is your level of experience? Comfortable with PHP and phpBB
What username can be used to view this issue? No answer given
What password can be used to view this issue? No answer given
What actions did you take (updating your board; installing a MOD, style or extension; etc.) prior to this problem becoming noticeable? None
Please describe your problem. Logged in to network via VPN, installed forum. Able to access admin no issue. Disconnect from VPN and can't access admin. Log-in doesn't appear to do anything
Generated by SRT Generator

User avatar
stevemaury
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 49457
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2006 12:21 am
Location: The U.P.
Name: Steve
Contact:

Re: Can't do Admin Login with Different IP?

Post by stevemaury » Sun Dec 17, 2017 6:11 pm

Let me start by saying you will soon have a ton of spam because the GD CAPTCHA you are using was broken years ago. See How to configure Q&A
  1. Administration Control Panel (ACP) > Spambot countermeasures> Installed plugins > click the dropdown box and select Q&A (it will be greyed out)
  2. Click the configure button then click add
  3. Add your question and answer (you need a Q&A for each language you have installed) click submit
  4. Click "back to previous page" then click "back"
  5. Select Q&A from the dropdown box (again)
  6. Click submit at the bottom of the page.
  7. Done.
AND

Please visit Preventing Spam in phpBB3 for various options for fighting spam in phpBB.

What happens if you just log in like anyone else, not using the VPN? I was able to register and login, no issue.
For REALLY good and VERY inexpensive hosting CLICK HERE

I can stop all your spam. PM or email me.

All unsolicited PMs will be ignored.

marvin-miller
Registered User
Posts: 56
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2014 1:52 am

Re: Can't do Admin Login with Different IP?

Post by marvin-miller » Sun Dec 17, 2017 7:34 pm

HI Steve - thanks for the help and for the tips. Clearly I need to do a bit of work on the GD Library on that server. It has not been in production use for a few years - thanks for catching that :)

I was just able to log-in! Here's what I did, I closed off Chrome, started up a new instance (from the WAN side) and then logged in. I haven't checked to confirm it but I'm thinking re-using the same Chrome browser session might have been the cause?

User avatar
stevemaury
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 49457
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2006 12:21 am
Location: The U.P.
Name: Steve
Contact:

Re: Can't do Admin Login with Different IP?

Post by stevemaury » Sun Dec 17, 2017 10:43 pm

Don't know. Your server setup and VPN are outside the scope of support here.
For REALLY good and VERY inexpensive hosting CLICK HERE

I can stop all your spam. PM or email me.

All unsolicited PMs will be ignored.

marvin-miller
Registered User
Posts: 56
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2014 1:52 am

Re: Can't do Admin Login with Different IP?

Post by marvin-miller » Sun Dec 17, 2017 10:45 pm

No worries. I used that Google Captcha - is that one OK? It seems to be new (to me, anyway) so I figured it would probably be up to date?

User avatar
stevemaury
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 49457
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2006 12:21 am
Location: The U.P.
Name: Steve
Contact:

Re: Can't do Admin Login with Different IP?

Post by stevemaury » Sun Dec 17, 2017 10:56 pm

I would use Q&A, but see how it goes.
For REALLY good and VERY inexpensive hosting CLICK HERE

I can stop all your spam. PM or email me.

All unsolicited PMs will be ignored.

Post Reply

Return to “[3.2.x] Support Forum”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider], david63, Lumpy Burgertushie and 44 guests