Page 1 of 1

[HELP]increase in CPU Usage

Posted: Thu Mar 08, 2018 8:41 pm
by androidcribs
What versions of PHP are supported? #
>= PHP Version 7.0.22-0ubuntu0.16.04.1

>Board 3.2.2


Hi I would like to ask why my website increase in CPU usage. Yesterday it peak up to 200% causing my website to down but can access in the server vps. Checking in my server htop log show "mysql" causing increase in CPU usage.
Then I tried to update my board to 3.2.1 to 3.2.2)latest) and change my database and create new one then CPU usage was decline up to 70% but still very slow. Then I tried to add index.html to put "website is undergoing maintenance" and CPU usage decline up to 3%, but can access in index.php? It's weird because if someone is ddosing me I can't access in the server or website right?. How does the index.php causing me increase in CPU usage? Is other security issue experienced this too? Please help. Thanks

Re: [HELP]increase in CPU Usage

Posted: Thu Mar 08, 2018 10:59 pm
by stevemaury
Is this on your own server?

Re: [HELP]increase in CPU Usage

Posted: Fri Mar 09, 2018 3:20 am
by androidcribs
stevemaury wrote:
Thu Mar 08, 2018 10:59 pm
Is this on your own server?
Yes Sir. I doubt it spambot attack or malware that subject to increase in cpu usage. Any idea?

Re: [HELP]increase in CPU Usage

Posted: Fri Mar 09, 2018 9:30 am
by Mick
androidcribs wrote:
Thu Mar 08, 2018 8:41 pm
Checking in my server htop log show "mysql" causing increase in CPU usage
Does the error actually say mysql? Check your config.php, the entry should be mysqli, if it’s not edit it with a proper editor then try again.

Re: [HELP]increase in CPU Usage

Posted: Fri Mar 09, 2018 3:28 pm
by androidcribs
Mick wrote:
Fri Mar 09, 2018 9:30 am
androidcribs wrote:
Thu Mar 08, 2018 8:41 pm
Checking in my server htop log show "mysql" causing increase in CPU usage
Does the error actually say mysql? Check your config.php, the entry should be mysqli, if it’s not edit it with a proper editor then try again.
Yes check this screenshot
Image
there's nothing wrong with my config.php
here is my config.php XXXX is my sample

Code: Select all

<?php
// phpBB 3.1.x auto-generated configuration file
// Do not change anything in this file!
$dbms = 'phpbb\\db\\driver\\mysqli';
$dbhost = 'localhost';
$dbport = '';
$dbname = 'XXXXX';
$dbuser = 'XXXXX';
$dbpasswd = 'XXXXX';
$table_prefix = 'phpbb_';
$phpbb_adm_relative_path = 'adm/';
$acm_type = 'phpbb\\cache\\driver\\file';

@define('PHPBB_INSTALLED', true);
// @define('PHPBB_DISPLAY_LOAD_TIME', true);
// @define('DEBUG', true);
// @define('DEBUG_CONTAINER', true);