Captcha method reset with upgrade

Get help with installation and running phpBB 3.2.x here. Please do not post bug reports, feature requests, or extension related questions here.
Post Reply
rinu
Registered User
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Feb 15, 2018 1:19 pm

Captcha method reset with upgrade

Post by rinu » Tue Mar 13, 2018 4:14 pm

There is a massive bug in the upgrade scripts somewhere. I recently upgraded from 3.0 to 3.1 and to 3.2. The captcha method reset itself to an image but it was set to Q&A before.
As a result there are ~150k spam posts in my forum now. No backup, no obvious way to delete all the spam.

User avatar
KevC
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 68471
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2004 10:44 am
Location: Oxford, UK
Contact:

Re: Captcha method reset with upgrade

Post by KevC » Tue Mar 13, 2018 4:21 pm

See How to clean up a board hit by spam for some suggestions on getting rid of the spam.

Q&A was only added after 3.0.6 so if you were updating from a version before that your MOD to add it would have been lost.
I haven't heard of it not being carried over before though on older versions. If you think it's a bug you can report it in the tracker
-:|:- Support Request Template -:|:-
Image
Cheap UK Hosting
"In the land of the blind the little green bloke with no pupils is king - init!"

rinu
Registered User
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Feb 15, 2018 1:19 pm

Re: Captcha method reset with upgrade

Post by rinu » Tue Mar 13, 2018 4:25 pm

It must have been at least 3.0.6 then. The data (questions and answers) is all there still, just the method select was wrong.

rinu
Registered User
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Feb 15, 2018 1:19 pm

Re: Captcha method reset with upgrade

Post by rinu » Tue Mar 13, 2018 4:31 pm

It's definitely a bug. The same thing happened twice, with different forums.

https://tracker.phpbb.com/browse/PHPBB3-15588

User avatar
KevC
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 68471
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2004 10:44 am
Location: Oxford, UK
Contact:

Re: Captcha method reset with upgrade

Post by KevC » Tue Mar 13, 2018 4:48 pm

I can't find any other posts about it but if it is a bug they'll address it from the bug report.
How did you not notice all the posts going in before it got to 150,000?
-:|:- Support Request Template -:|:-
Image
Cheap UK Hosting
"In the land of the blind the little green bloke with no pupils is king - init!"

User avatar
Mick
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 20358
Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2008 9:49 am
Location: Cardiff

Re: Captcha method reset with upgrade

Post by Mick » Tue Mar 13, 2018 4:51 pm

I’ve certainly done this many times without seeing this issue. Generally it’s always been an upgrade using file replacement. So, was it going from 3.0 to 3.1 or 3.1 to 3.2?
"The more connected we get the more alone we become" - Kyle Broflovski

There are no ‘threads’ in phpBB, they are topics.

User avatar
warmweer
Registered User
Posts: 1450
Joined: Fri Jul 04, 2003 6:34 am
Location: Van Allen Belt ... well actually Belgium

Re: Captcha method reset with upgrade

Post by warmweer » Tue Mar 13, 2018 7:04 pm

Isn't it recommended to set the Captcha to the phpBB default when upgrading , and then set it back to Q&A (if wanted) after the upgrade? I vaguely recall reading that somewhere but I won't bet my life on it.
I've upgraded 12 forums (from 3.0 and from 3.1, not all mine) to 3.2 and never experienced any problems with the Captcha.
A bug is a feature that hasn't made it to the manual (yet)

rinu
Registered User
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Feb 15, 2018 1:19 pm

Re: Captcha method reset with upgrade

Post by rinu » Tue Mar 27, 2018 2:29 pm

warmweer wrote:
Tue Mar 13, 2018 7:04 pm
Isn't it recommended to set the Captcha to the phpBB default when upgrading , and then set it back to Q&A (if wanted) after the upgrade? I vaguely recall reading that somewhere but I won't bet my life on it.
I've upgraded 12 forums (from 3.0 and from 3.1, not all mine) to 3.2 and never experienced any problems with the Captcha.
I followed the upgrade guides closely and don't recall this point.
https://www.phpbb.com/support/docs/en/3 ... /upgrade3/
https://www.phpbb.com/support/docs/en/3 ... /upgrade3/
https://www.phpbb.com/support/docs/en/3 ... upgrade31/

The forum that got massive spam is not very popular. I didn't check it myself for a while and a user only reported the issue on my Facebook page, which I don't read very often. It might not be popular but it's still important to me and it's users.

I did a simulation run for the upgrade on a copied database. Going from 3.0 straight to 3.2 corrupted the database. So I chose to go to 3.1 first and then to 3.2. In both upgrades I used the newest files, pointed these to a copy of the database and started the data migration.

User avatar
Mick
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 20358
Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2008 9:49 am
Location: Cardiff

Re: Captcha method reset with upgrade

Post by Mick » Tue Mar 27, 2018 2:35 pm

Q&A is a default captcha.
"The more connected we get the more alone we become" - Kyle Broflovski

There are no ‘threads’ in phpBB, they are topics.

Post Reply

Return to “[3.2.x] Support Forum”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Ghostwolf308, Google [Bot], thecoalman, twinspin and 20 guests